We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
GMVN Garhwal Terrace
Ranked #46 of 97 Mussoorie B&B and Inns
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Hi, I stayed at this property of GMVN on Nov'2012 with my Wife. We love trekking so after a long, exhausted trak at Garhwal region we visited this property just for taking rest and relaxing for 2 days. We stayed at the super dlx room ( was on off-season discount) and the view from the room window is spellbound. The window panes are single glass panes and opens wide open giving you the feel of standing somewhere at the top of any hill.
The food served adjacent to the hotel restaurant was good.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank srvsinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    36
    18
    0
    4
See reviews for
38
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

The view from every room of the hotel is wonderful... The entire Doon Valley is visible from the room. Night view is excellent. Deluxe room are well decorated & well maintained but need more attention on maintenance as well as housekeeping. Foods available at restaurant are also very good. Staff are very helpful and sober.

Room Tip: Deluxe Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandyvelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We were there for a short trip in June this year, just before the torrential rains played havoc in the state.
It is a good place to stay for a family. If you are expecting 4-5 star facilities then it is not a place for you. The best thing about this hotel is its location, it is on the mall road and you get an excellent view of the mountains and dehradun on a clear day or night.
Like any government owned property it has that shabby look. Cleanliness is not excellent but not bad also. The rooms/toilets were cleaned everyday by the housekeeping staff. The room service was excellent. The food is good, we liked the chilly chicken and my 4 year old also liked the food and had no stomach issues.
The deluxe rooms will give you the opportunity of going out on the parking place to sit and enjoy the views from there.
It is absolutely value for money, you will not repent it.
There restaurant also has excellent view.
Will post some photos of our stay.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Indranil_74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kolkata
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Good words should come first. The view from the hotel, from every room, is wonderful. The entire Doon valley can be seen illuminated from the rooms. Has a very good and large terrace for both the elderly and the children. Now, let's come to the problems. The maintenance of the hotel is not at all good. Doors, windows, curtains need immediate change. Not at all good to look from outside too. One should not get fooled by the pictures posted by GMVN. And the food....! Less said is better. Just intolerable. And one has to walk a lot to reach the hotel from the place where the cars move. At least 2 kilometers walk or rickshaw-ride is a must.

Room Tip: Always ask for the top floor rooms to get good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank basudevKolkata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Secunderabad, India
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

It's located at the Mall road of Mussoorie, very spacious and clean rooms and average food! Very reasonably priced. People are very courteous and polite and ready to help you any time. Great view of the Doon valley at night comes at no extra cost. Overall it was a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Premjeeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Over the years, I have stayed in quite a number of government-run hotels in the mountains. Particularly those run by KMVN and GMVN. They were always great places for a college-kid given their low prices and fantastic locations. Then, a few years back, they raised their prices. I am past that college age, and I can afford a bit more than I used to. Naturally, I also expect a better experince. Sadly, for the price I paid for the Garhwal Terrace, I have returned disappointed. Horribly disappointed. To begin with, the price quoted on their website is exclusive of taxes. So you have to pay that at the counter, in cash. To be fair, they mention that when you are booking. And when I realised how much I would have to pay in all, I knew it was more than what I’d have to pay for the very popular Padmini Niwas Hotel (sadly booked to the brim). And it was almost twice what I paid 5 months ago for the Mussoorie Gateway Resort in April 2012 (but too far from the Mall Road).

It seems the prices have risen, and quality has crashed. I took the Deluxe Room that looked it had been stripped of its furnishings (and a few light fixtures; they had provided towels though, with a few holes). Not to mention that the room itself was right next to the car park - not just this room; all deluxe rooms are on the lowest floor next to the car park. It’s pretty annoying to have people peep in when you’re trying to take a nap, and they don’t reply when you wish them ‘Good Morning’. The hallway was unequally lighted, because quite a few tubelights weren’t working. It reminded me of one of those mental asylums I’ve seen in the movies - long, strangely lit, snaking, corridors with locked doors and a constant sound of water dripping somewhere inside.

Bed tea and breakfast was included in the price. Which meant there was no tea/coffee maker in the room. (I paid Rs. 1100.00 - per day - at Mussoorie Gateway Resort, and they had a tea/coffee maker in the room, which smelled strongly of burnt milk, and had to be replaced.) I ordered egg curry with rice for lunch at their rather delightful and spacious restaurant. I get double the rice at the same price in Delhi; and I don’t get plastic wrappers in the egg curry, ever. And never order the poorie-sabzi for breakfast unless you like your boiled potatoes floating in a watery gravy of red-chillies. (And a tawa roti for Rs. 10.00!)

The people at the desk however are nice. Really nice, and helpful. I have never been to a government-run hotel and come across grumpy receptionists, waiters, or attendents. And they are the sole redeeming feature of these establishments. They are locals, and know the places (and especially the distances) of interest, and can advise you properly.

Sadly though, even with such great people at the deak, and an amazing location, the Garhwal Terrace falls far short of the current standard set by private hotels at its price point. It is not cheap, not for the average middle class. And they have better options to choose from. I have always believed that hotel rooms are only places we got at night to sleep in, but it should not be one you don’t want to go back to at all.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Sayanhya_Roy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mussoorie hotels

New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

This July, 2012 I stayed at Garhwal Terrace for 4 days with my family. For all practical purposes, the location was good, food average, service all right and price moderate. Overall it is good at a moderate price.

Yes, those who are looking for value for their money, the Garhwal Terrace will not let you down.

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sukhindu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mussoorie hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Himalayan Club
Hotel Himalayan Club
#22 of 74 in Mussoorie
254 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Padmini Nivas
Hotel Padmini Nivas
#4 of 74 in Mussoorie
560 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel SunGrace
Hotel SunGrace
#6 of 74 in Mussoorie
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Vishnu Palace
Hotel Vishnu Palace
#11 of 74 in Mussoorie
450 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Pearl -  A Royal Residency
The Pearl - A Royal Residency
#57 of 74 in Mussoorie
59 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Oak Bush
Hotel Oak Bush
#33 of 97 in Mussoorie
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GMVN Garhwal Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GMVN Garhwal Terrace

Property: GMVN Garhwal Terrace
Address: Mall Road, Mussoorie, India
Region: India > Uttarakhand > Dehradun District > Mussoorie
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Mussoorie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your GMVN Garhwal Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing