We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat Heritage Property”
Review of Ilbert Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ilbert Manor
Ranked #18 of 77 Hotels in Mussoorie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I booked this Hotel on TA reviews. On reaching Mussoorie, you will be picked up in a hotel car from the main road. The approach to the hotel is through a small narrow lane and it scares you. You will definitely think that you have taken a wrong decision of choosing this hotel. But do not fear, the hotel is good and worth experiencing their hospitality, and located on the Mall. Book the Imperial rooms which are on the first floor. Service is good and the breakfast is sumptuous with a good variety. Laze around and enjoy the sit out area. A little on the expensive side, especially IN SEASON.

Room Tip: Book Imperial Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AggyDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilbert M, General Manager at Ilbert Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Ilbert Manor Mussoorie!

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay and giving us your honest feedback. We are glad that you thoroughly enjoyed your holiday at the Ilbert Manor.It will be our pleasure to continue providing you with our personalized services in the future.

Looking forward to welcome you back at the Ilbert Manor Mussoorie.

Thank you
Kind Regards
Ilbert Manor Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

5 stars: for the food, the very efficient staff, the rooms, the shuttle service and the overall great service.

3 stars: for the management who own the Manor. Hers why:
A) the staff are very loud when they talk amongst themselves, they should be trained to speak softly. It's not their fault. Needs training.
B) the extreme corner room has a view of the garbage dump in the hills. Either shut the room down or then put a facade/ plant a tree to make the view better. Small input will give a great output.
C) I don't know why all the lights are shut off (corridors, library room, dining room etc) when not in use, it's a beautiful manor but if the lights are switched off it looks dark and gloomy. Guests are paying 10k a night, surely the lights can be switched on to give the Manor a bright and cheerful look?
D) coming to the tariff, we paid 10k a night and we found that a huge, beautiful heritage hotel such as the Savoy also charges 10k a night, we picked this up in a chat while having lunch at the Savoy (weekday). The two are not comparable. Why the high prices for the manor? And what will a customer think when he finds a better deal for a 5 star property such as the Savoy?

Think...

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank samshri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilbert M, General Manager at Ilbert Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Ilbert Manor Mussoorie!

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay and giving us your honest feedback. We are glad that you thoroughly enjoyed your holiday at the Ilbert Manor.
We have noted your feedback seriously and have executed the points that will make the guest experience more worthwhile.

It will be our pleasure to continue providing you with our personalized services in the future.

Looking forward to welcome you back at the Ilbert Manor Mussoorie.

Thank you
Kind Regards
Ilbert Manor Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

It was an amazingly good easter weekend spent at this property. We where very well taken care off by the staff of Ilbert Manor and a very special mention of Mr. Pyar Singh who probably did every bit to make our stay very comfortable. Would surely recommend a must visit to this property. The rooms are very spacious overlooking the snow covered mountains and excellent food. The service staff is very friendly and very prompt.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mohit75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilbert M, General Manager at Ilbert Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Ilbert Manor Mussoorie!

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay and giving us your honest feedback. We are glad that you thoroughly enjoyed your holiday at the Ilbert Manor.It will be our pleasure to continue providing you with our personalized services in the future.

Looking forward to welcome you back at the Ilbert Manor Mussoorie.

Thank you
Kind Regards
Ilbert Manor Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Hi,I recently visited mussourie for our 2nd anniversary...extremely helpful and courteous staff..at your service all the time...I totally loved staying at Ilbert Manor and would love to visit and stay there again..keep up the good work....!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sakshi_luthra_me11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilbert M, General Manager at Ilbert Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Ilbert Manor Mussoorie!

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay and giving us your honest feedback. We are glad that you thoroughly enjoyed your holiday at the Ilbert Manor.It will be our pleasure to continue providing you with our personalized services in the future.

Looking forward to welcome you back at the Ilbert Manor Mussoorie.

Thank you
Kind Regards
Ilbert Manor Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Mind-Blowing is the right word to explain my experience with this hotel. I would like to appreciate the people behind the scene and actual staff in the hotel. It just feels so wuuusshyy and warmmm and you feel like lazying in the room the whole day. view was fabulous from my room no. 204. I got a early bird discount. price is good compared to their service. Great Location, great people, great food. Love you guys, keep up the good woe.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shweta J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilbert M, General Manager at Ilbert Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Ilbert Manor Mussoorie!

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay and giving us your honest feedback. We are glad that you thoroughly enjoyed your holiday at the Ilbert Manor.It will be our pleasure to continue providing you with our personalized services in the future.

Looking forward to welcome you back at the Ilbert Manor Mussoorie.

Thank you
Kind Regards
Ilbert Manor Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I went to ilbert manor with my family. I had a very warm and beautiful experience of my life there . As we reached mussoorie the hotel provide us shuttle service and this service charges were given by hotel not chargeble to us.The check in process is so fast.Mr. shailendra and Reshma on reception welcome us in a very warm way .food and beverage staff offered us welcome drinks . then we went in our rooms .The room was perfectly decorated as per our requirement. Tthe property is too good that i have never seen any heritage property like "Ilbert manor".The food was extremely delicious .A lots of new variety in food menu .One of the best thing i liked the service given by surat singh, Vikas dabral while serving food .Manager pyar singh and vineet were very cooperative .The stay at ilbert manor gives a feel like staying at home.While staying at ilbert manor we got a call from head office of ilbert manor by Seema .She asked whether our stay was perfect .I really appreciate this that they look after on every guest requirement .While checking out from hotel ilbert manor team gave us a gift of a cup with logo of ilbert manor .i think this is the best gift as it always remember me of staying at ilbert manor .In last i can only say that the people who wants to spend there holidays in a very pleasant and joyfull way please visit ilbert manor ................................

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nehabhatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilbert M, General Manager at Ilbert Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Ilbert Manor Mussoorie!

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay and giving us your honest feedback. We are glad that you thoroughly enjoyed your holiday at the Ilbert Manor.It will be our pleasure to continue providing you with our personalized services in the future.

Looking forward to welcome you back at the Ilbert Manor Mussoorie.

Thank you
Kind Regards
Ilbert Manor Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

If this hotel was 50% the cost ... then it would start getting to a reasonable range ...
the location is good ... next to the mall road but still has a nice view of the mountains.
But the property is worn down, dingy and does not give a clean feeling ... definitely not worth the price !!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnchitGupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilbert M, General Manager at Ilbert Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Ilbert Manor Mussoorie!

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay and giving us your honest feedback.

We understand from your verbal, written and trip advisor feedback that you were expecting a 5 star business hotel stay. However, we can guarantee a complete heritage experience but not a 5 star business hotel stay. We tried our best humanly possible to give you an unforgettable experience with our services. We got assurance from you that our services were at its best.

However, we have taken your feedback seriously and will consult with our management for the same.

It will be our pleasure to continue providing you with our personalized services in the future.

Looking forward to welcome you back at the Ilbert Manor Mussoorie.

Thank you
Kind Regards
Ilbert Manor Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mussoorie hotels
0.2 mi away
WelcomHotel The Savoy
WelcomHotel The Savoy
#2 of 77 in Mussoorie
856 reviews
1 mi away
The Amber - Vermont Estate
The Amber - Vermont Estate
#5 of 77 in Mussoorie
434 reviews
1.8 mi away
JW Marriott Mussoorie Walnut Grove Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Rokeby Manor
Rokeby Manor
#9 of 77 in Mussoorie
367 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sterling Mussoorie
Sterling Mussoorie
#4 of 77 in Mussoorie
638 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Claridges Nabha Residence, Mussoorie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilbert Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilbert Manor

Address: Library End Duggal Villa Road, Mussoorie 248179, India
Region: India > Uttarakhand > Dehradun District > Mussoorie
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 77 Hotels in Mussoorie
Price Range: £72 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ilbert Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ilbert Manor is a 180 year old unique heritage boutique hotel nestled amidst oak trees and semi wild forest. The Manor has been painstakingly restored over a period of seven years and offers 14 well appointed and elegant rooms. Each guest room has been named to reflect the original history capturing the nostalgia of the pioneers who discovered the magical hills of Mussoorie. Rudyard Kipling, General Frederick Young and Jim Corbett are a few such names. The Ilbert Manor team focuses to offer personalized services to its guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ilbert Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing