We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“yippie Rokeby”
Review of Rokeby Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rokeby Manor
Ranked #8 of 76 Hotels in Mussoorie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I was in Mussourie a couple of weeks ago and had the opportunity to visit a fantastic hotel property by the name of Rokeby Manor built in 1840 and today it is one of the landmarks of Landour. The property is situated near Lal Tibba, the highest point in Mussourie to the east of St. Paul's Church and the old cantonment parade ground, which is now popularly known as Char Dukan. The Property actually gets its name from the original Rokeby Castle in England.

The property went from various hands and ended in the hands of Woman's Foreign Missionary Society of the Methodist Episcopal Church in 1930 and they continued to operate the property as a guest house throughout the rest of the 20th century. Today, this heritage building Rokeby has been converted into a beautiful hotel property ever since 2010. The property speaks a lot about its rich culture, history through its British architecture and its elaborate brick, stone and wood work including walls, wood floors and beams, and even fireplaces.

The hotel also offers splendid views of greenery and Himalayan peaks in Mussourie. The property is located at a distance of 35 km from the Dehradun railway station and only 7km from the Jolly Grant airport. The perfect place to vacation this property has the most comfortable rooms for customer stay, and one of the most beautiful valley views. You can go on long walks, or simply keep staring at the beautiful valley, or take a dip in the terrace Jacuzzi. I recommend a long stay at the property to feel the beauty and the freshness in the air that this place has.
I was in this property for a dinner, and regretted not staying here. I went to its specialty restaurant Emily’s. As soon as I entered the property, I was amazed at its beauty and its architecture. For some vague reason I felt a connection with this place, and felt I could stay here forever, I was enamored by its beauty and I felt a connection.

I have separately reviewed Emily's and I swear by its food and service, and I swear by the Rocking Rokeby Manor too. Do enjoy the beautiful pictures of this awesome property and if you ever get a chance to stay here don't miss it

Now I know why Ruskin Bond is in love with Mussourie, and this place just makes this love stronger, and this holds true for me as well.

Room Tip: Any room is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SGK1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM - Rokeby M, General Manager at Rokeby Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Thank you for a wonderful review. We are glad that you found us and enjoyed your meal at Emily's and look forward to you staying with us on your next visit.
All the best from the entire team.

P.S. There is a small typo in the review - actually, the distance from Jolly Grant airport to Rokeby is approximately 65 Kms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (357)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

252 - 258 of 357 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

One of the great places to stay and also get get good food, away from the over influxed touristy town of Mussoorie, tucked away in Landour.
Very carefully and beautifully crafted hotel, with a great selection in the menu while ever let you think of going out anywhere else for a meal, besides the view and serenity around.
Great place for morning walks without any traffic and evening strolls around the Landour circuit, walk through the church and the famous 'char Dukan' and sisters bazaar.
A place that can recharge your lungs,m and mind.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM - Rokeby M, General Manager at Rokeby Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for a wonderful review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again.
Warm regards from all of us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay here and the staff were friendly, helpful and polite. This place has the quality and excellent service of a big hotel with the intimacy and friendliness of the small guest house. We would recommend Emily's restaurant - the fresh baked breads served with evening meal - all the food was very good quality and inexpensive by English standards. Our room was quite small but very comfortable.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank CarMarChar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM - Rokeby M, General Manager at Rokeby Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thanks for the review and recommendation. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having you with us again in the near future.
Warm regards from all of us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

the drive to Rokeby is just beautiful. you encounter so many twists and turns and steep slope. the journey from mussorie to Rokeby is very thrilling.. the exterior is superbly done and so is the interior. the restaurant is elegantly done with lot of humourly quotes. meal for 2 costed us only Rs. 1500. highly recommended to enjoy delicious and super food . good team and always ready to service you

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amg1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM - Rokeby M, General Manager at Rokeby Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Thank you for your review and visit. We are glad that you enjoyed your meal at Emily's.
We look forward to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This was a great place to visit. For once a place where the photos on the web do not do it justice. My wife and I went for a quick summer getaway and it was exactly what we needed. There were a few tiny hick-ups - they 1st upgraded us to the rose suite, when we had originally booked a rustic room, as the A/C in our room was not working. This was a larger room but right next to the drive way. So felt a dire lack of privacy. We were shifted to rustic room #8 the next day, which was really nice and cosy. The service and people are great. The food is quite nice - interesting choices on the menu, but leave you wanting just a bit more from the dishes. They do not serve alcohol, but you can take your own. They also own a restaurant a little further away, called clock tower cafe, which serves excellent pizza's. The only real issue we had was getting there late in the evening. We used Google maps and it sent us a route meant for walking or small vehicles, while we had a sedan. It was quite a frightening experience, but not really anything to do with the hotel. The best part about the property is the lovely tea garden and it is really peaceful since this place is a little above Mussoorie. All in all a charming place but not sure if it's really worth the high tariff.

Room Tip: The rose suite is right on the driveway. Most of the rooms lack a little privacy, as you can hear pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 5haleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM - Rokeby M, General Manager at Rokeby Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

We appreciate your review and are happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We shall continue to search for ways to improve and provide more value to our guests. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

There isn't a single aspect of Rokeby that I can fault. We ended up there after a disastrous stay at Devdar Woods, one of the foulest places I've ever encountered anywhere in the world. But Rokeby make up for that mistake in spades. It's an exquisitely restored property, done with charm, whimsy, intelligence and utter guest comfort in mind. The beds are big and soft, the linen crisp and clean. The common room is warm and cozy and the restaurant is superb. There's even a jacuzzi (Rs 1500) at the top of the hill which I highly recommend. And the small beauty parlor is excellent. I had a facial using top end Thalgo products which cost a very reasonable Rs 850. Plus it's quiet, fun and exceptionally well run. I ditto the vote of confidence in the guest relations manager, who is sweet man. We'd definitely go back!!

Room Tip: The Rose Suite is large with a double bed and couches (useful too if you're taking along small c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank friedgreenchillies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM - Rokeby M, General Manager at Rokeby Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Thank you for your review. We are glad that we didn't disappoint you and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to having you with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Excellent service by the team members , fantastic location , away from the hustle bustle of Mussorie , amazing dishes at Emily the restaurant . The hotel guest relations manager Mr. Monish John is a true asset to the property. Cant thank him enough !!!

Room Tip: back facing rooms are quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kido26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM - Rokeby M, General Manager at Rokeby Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Thank you for a wonderful review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again.
Warm regards from the entire team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mussoorie hotels
2.0 mi away
WelcomHotel The Savoy
WelcomHotel The Savoy
#1 of 76 in Mussoorie
700 reviews
3.3 mi away
JW Marriott Mussoorie Walnut Grove Resort & Spa
2.9 mi away
The Amber - Vermont Estate
The Amber - Vermont Estate
#3 of 76 in Mussoorie
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Jaypee Residency Manor
Jaypee Residency Manor
#9 of 76 in Mussoorie
821 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Claridges Nabha Residence, Mussoorie
2.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Mussoorie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rokeby Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rokeby Manor

Address: Landour Cantonment, Mussoorie 248179, India
Region: India > Uttarakhand > Dehradun District > Mussoorie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 76 Hotels in Mussoorie
Price Range: £105 - £463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rokeby Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rokeby was built in 1840 by Captain G.N. Cauthy and is one of the landmarks of Landour. The house and two acre estate are situated slightly above and to the east of St. Paul's Church and the old cantonment parade ground, which is now Char Dukan. Like many houses in Mussoorie, its name is taken from the writings of Sir Walter Scott, whose book-length poem describes heroic battles near the original Rokeby Castle in England. Methodist missionaries continued to operate the property as a guest house throughout the rest of the 20th century. Today, Rokeby has been carefully restored to its original glory. This heritage building is resplendent with character in its elaborate brick arches and niches, intricate stone walls, real wood floors and beams, and cosy fireplaces. Nestled in the foothills of the Himalayas, the traditions of bygone years – where colonial officers, renegade soldiers of fortune and pious miss saibs lived under one roof – can still be felt. An air of mystery beckons visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rokeby Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing