We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Carlton Plaisance: The Magic and the Mystique” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carltons Plaisance

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mussoorie
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Carltons Plaisance
Ranked #44 of 74 Hotels in Mussoorie
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Carlton Plaisance: The Magic and the Mystique”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

You can hardly see it, even though it stands bang on the road to the IAS Training Academy, one-and-half km from the now tumbled down town of the once fabled Mussoorie. The tall trees, none less than 150 years old, stand guard and cloak the 120 year old heritage bungalow in a mystique that carries the aroma of aristocracy and class.

I have stayed in many places but none like this. There are many rooms, both at the garden level and on the main floor... but my favourite is Room 10, essentially a suite, with old-world furniture and a... fireplace. But the best part of this room is the coloured glass panel on the door looking out to the garden, from where the first ray of sun at dawn creates a rainbow on the opposite wall.

The next best place is a crescent-shaped corridor, with old pictures on the wall, and you can still see the photographs of the wedding of the original couple who owned this place, Mrs Sham Singh and Late SJ Singh, with guess who? Jawaharlal Nehru and Sardar Patel blessing the couple! The floor of the crescent corridor is covered with skins of tigers and a bear rug. The place is best for a quiet drink in the evening, looking at the stars at night.

Outside there is a wonderful garden with a quaint old swing. Birds galore, songs galore... nonstop whiff of plant fragrance. Hmmmm…

Food is excellent... whether you want continental or Indian. And the Indian food is much less oily than any in the many restaurants in town.

And if you happen to meet Mrs Sham Singh, or her son Ajit and daughter-in-law Anu, you will be charmed. But chances are, you will not have to look for them... they'll come to see how you are doing. For them it is all about love.

Clichés about Home Away From Home? Shah! This IS HOME, when you are here, and when you leave, it will be ‘memories of home! Believe me, I have been to that home of mine many times…

My only warning... do not plan to stay for two nights, chances are you would want to stay back... so book for at least three or four nights, or else you'd have to come away unfulfilled .. space at Plaisance is always in demand.

Room Tip: As I said, Room 10 is the best... it will give you a rainbow on your wall due to light at dawn refra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sujitsikkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    34
    11
    5
    21
See reviews for
61
30
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

we had booked a suite at the Carlton Plaisance hotel in Febuary, thought of canceling our booking, but thank God better sense prevailed. we loved every minute of our stay there. right from the time we entered the hotel, the driveway so beautiful huge trees on both sides , the garden and open spaces , the heritage building, the interiors, and then the room . huge room, with a huge bathroom.looking out the garden and the white mountains beyond . just loved it.had breakfast everyday outside, listening to the birds chirping, relaxing. couldn't imagine it would be so peaceful . thank you Mr. & Mrs. Singh and the staff for making our stay so comfortable, making our wedding anniversary so special. very romantic, peaceful surroundings.

Room Tip: the suites are very good, but if you are on a budget then the deluxe rooms are good and big, airy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Arhar J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

Hands down, this hotel is the number 1 for any couple. I'm sure you would enjoy it with your kids too, but my perspective is of a couple's vacation :-)
This is the most romantically located hotel, with no noise, amazing views, beautiful flowers and gardens, multiple sitting rooms and private places.
The food and staff are great.
Finally, unlike most Mussoorie hotels, parking is very easy, no hassles!

Room Tip: Room 10 is the largest, but rooms 7 or 8 are the most charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Varun B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

We went there hoping to have a holiday Of a Life Time . WE were promised by Mam Anu That the area was full of fragrant flowers as shown in the Pictures in the Website , but it was not To be .,. In The rooms which were tried to be secured by ancient Locks put on the Room Doors with difficult to work with keys which would work and not work at Will .. THE KABADI WALA WOULD NOT BUY SUCH A LOCK even for free , . The Shampoo Bottle ( about 2 Centimetre length ) seems to have been sourced from a Yateem Khana . I Visited in March 2013 , but the Last Guest Entry was dated some time in Year 2012 . It means the Hotel does not keep Guest Records . The bath Room of Room No: One becomes flooded with water if you dare to use the Wash Basin , which has some leeking plumbing and which turns the bath room into a swimming or water wading Pool in which you can easily break a bone or two if you enter the bath room .. It was the fear of being made to pay for the swimming Pool Charges which prevented me from reporting this Pool of water amidst the bath room ..( Extra Charge for the Swimming pool Bath room , Sir . ) The Main Doors to the is less than Most Flimsy & the entry is from the Jungle which the management calls Garden & finally when after a harrowing evening of repentance . WE turned of the TV & turned of its Music there was still Music Emanating from The Spiders insects & other unknown Hill Varieties which started singing inside the bed room , some crawling on our bodies . Only three Rooms were occupied in the whole Hotel , though I could see only two , ourselves & one more family ; but the Lady of the House said that the whole house was booked & that she had returned many Guests due to Too Many in the waiting list & no rooms available . The cost of one 1/3 kettle tea ( two cups of mixed tea was Rs 55 plus Tax
And landing on our beds .I Left because I do not think one should stay where RECORDS of Guests are Not Kept or are manipulated.. Geyser in my Room did not work so I had to be content with a cold Bath & Leave . To Sum Up nothing works at Carston Except the the very Itchy Palms of its denizens

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alfa2NW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anuajit, Owner at Carltons Plaisance, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Dear Guest,
Thankyou for your review, I do not know what to say to your comments about the hotel because most of it contradicts the property and its facilites available.

We have a heritage hotel so most things are from the Bri era. doors and windows included, with the passage of time the wear and tear due to climatic conditions, we are replacing all that is getting spoilt or causes inconvenience to our guests,so when you talk of ancient locks, it fails to impress upon me, whether you were at the right place, only our godowns are locked with old locks and all the other rooms have modern day, new locks fitted on them.

We replenish the toiletries on the request of the guests and if you found the shampoo to be insufficient, you should have asked for more and we would have gladly given you the same,Our visitors book is given to every guest and we politely ask them to fill in their details so saying that that the last entry is of a year ago, is an incorrect statement.

Regarding having a water problem in your room, we have a serviceman proving plumbing services on campus and you should have told the staff of your grievance and they would have come to help you out.

Mussoorie is a hill station and we have large gardens and orchards on the property, so having sounds of nature is but obvious and that is something that people in the cities miss out on, from chirping birds to the swaying of pine trees are rare sounds that our guests absorb during their holiday at Plaisance, it is a pity that our esteemed guests could not appreciate the same. The rooms are vacuumed and the beds are dusted regularly, so insects crawling on ones body is difficult to believe.

The geysers are also regularly checked and serviced and if there was a problem the same could have been solved by the electrician on campus. We check every room before the guests arrive to ensure that the electricity and the plumbing is in order. It is a strange coincidence that the lock, doors , the water and the geyser did not work only for our dear guest.

We let our guests have their privacy and when the rooms are booked, whether they are in the hotel lawns or the restaurant or at the Mall Road, we do not check so while our dear guest thought the rooms to be empty, our guests were out shopping or for a walk in the bounties of nature.

The menu is given to every guest and the price is clearly mentioned of each item. To say that he was over charged for tea or other items is something that needs no justification, for the menu was provided beforehand.

We make it a point to entertain all our guests to the best of our efforts and also ask them if they are comfortable, it would have been a better holiday for our guest, had he told us of the troubles he was facing at Plaisance and we would have helped make it better for him and his family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Japan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

Carlton is by far the most unique hotel experience I have ever had. It has a true homely feel with Anu and the hotel staff providing the best hospitality imaginable. The big garden outside is very relaxing to simply rest on the sun-loungers or meditate. Their menu offers a variety of choices, including both Indian and Continental, with their specialties being bruschetta and fried chicken. And if you wanted to go to a restaurant instead, this is also very feasible as it is just a 5-10 minute journey to the library bazaar by rickshaw.

Room Tip: The two suite rooms at the back have direct access to a veranda and the garden. They have a joint di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mayakJapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

I took my parents to this place hoping they can relax in peace after a long time. All we got was a pathetic, unclean room with spiders. There was construction going on. All the promising pictures these guys have put up are a scam. They spoke to us in such a bad manner to clear payments. Also, this place has no view of the scenic beauty of Mussoorie. Its better to not go on a vacation than to be stuck at this place! Terrible!

Room Tip: No use! The place is not worth visiting
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 20VB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anuajit, Owner at Carltons Plaisance, responded to this review, 21 April 2013
As we understood it, the main complaints against us were :
1. You did not want to pay in advance.
2. You expected to be located downtown.

May we inform you that you get a clear view of the Himalayas from our property and no where in Mussoorie are there such large open spaces like ours. We have over 500 sycamore, chir, oak, and deodar trees on our property. The gardens and the flowers are actual photographs and photographs don't lie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

Staying at Carlton's Plaisance is like staying in the Bhoot Bangla. this place has no ambience and is in very bad condition. Even our driver refused to stay there. The gardens were mess...it was like staying in a jungle. The food was even not up too the mark. It was not Rs 4000 living place. Mrs Anu Singh told us on the phone that the hotel is beautiful and the rooms are neat n clean....the garden will be having different flowers etc....but all these were lies made by her....we had a very bad experience there...

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Avneetanand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anuajit, Owner at Carltons Plaisance, responded to this review, 21 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Heritage properties from the Raj Era may look like Bhoot Banglas to some but to the seasoned traveller who has had enough of concrete, Carltons Plaisance offers a very unique holiday expierance. We are famous for our flowers, gardens and orchards and actual photographs taken by our guests are a proof of the same.

We apologise for the leaves in our garden, but that was the season for the shedding of Oak leaves,which is a beautiful experience for people coming from, concrete jungles of the NCR. If Sir Edmund Hilary and Mr. Inder Gujaral wrote very positive reviews for our hotel, it is difficult for us to understand your negative review.

As far as your driver was concerned, he did not want to pay for his stay nor did he want to pay for his meals.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mussoorie hotels
0.2 mi away
The High Walls
The High Walls
#32 of 74 in Mussoorie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.3 mi away
Avalon Holiday Resorts
Avalon Holiday Resorts
#29 of 74 in Mussoorie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Padmini Nivas
Hotel Padmini Nivas
#3 of 74 in Mussoorie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Amber - Vermont Estate
The Amber - Vermont Estate
#8 of 74 in Mussoorie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Shilton By Royal Collection Hotels
0.7 mi away
Ilbert Manor
Ilbert Manor
#11 of 74 in Mussoorie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carltons Plaisance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carltons Plaisance

Property: Carltons Plaisance
Address: Near the L.B.S.N.A Academy | Happy Valley Road, Mussoorie 248179, India
Region: India > Uttarakhand > Mussoorie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 74 Hotels in Mussoorie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Carltons Plaisance 2*
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing