We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place to Unwind”
Review of Tabor Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tabor Cottage
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This property was booked by our son to join us and give us all a nice break from the humdrum of life.
We were impressed that though the entire stay was paid whilst online booked,Tabor cottage staff called us to inquire what time we expect to arrive.
When our vehicle broke down enroute 2-3kms from the property, & we called to inform our delay, we were sent a vehicle to pick us up and the driver offered to get the vehicle repaired or pick it up later.
The accommodation was simple and comfortable. We stayed in the Blue Room.
The support staff was good, quiet and non intrusive.
The lounge has a decent collection of books and magazines to help one enjoy the solitutude.
I loved the window ledge where one could curl up with a good book and watch the sunset.
The kitchen facilities are basic. Not much choice for breakfast or snacks in case one feels like munching while relaxing.
Remember to make your mobile calls as the network is really really bad and you are lucky if you can talk to somebody. [Maybe this is a good way of unwinding}
Would I like to go back??? Yes. with a camera, a bagful of books and my tablet to catch up on reading and writing.
Thank you to the staff for their hospitality.

Room Tip: Best room-Blue room. Step out and you get a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank rekharakesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM - Rokeby M, General Manager at Tabor Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Thank you for your wonderful and elaborate review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to serve you again. We would like to apologize for the telephone / mobile networks which are a little erratic in the hills despite our best efforts to keep them operational.
Best regards from the entire team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (8)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 8 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2013

Amazing location and very creatively done up to retain all the cottage bits that is the USP of the whole place.....along with this was Gautamji dishing out delightful wonders from his little kitchen and that too with effortless grace. We really enjoyed the hospitality of each and everyone who made the stay for all 16 of us aged between 1.5 -----70 years not easy to achieve i must say.............

Room Tip: all the rooms are great we had the whole cottage to ourselves so we could snore, chat, argue and lau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank antarasendave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM - Rokeby M, General Manager at Tabor Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you so much for your wonderful review.
Our aim is to make Tabor Cottage 'a home away from home'.
Best regards from all of us here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

I stayed at Tabor Cottage after being at Rokeby Manor for one week for a wedding. I wanted to stay in Landour rather than being in the city chaos of Mussoorie. I am so glad I did! Tabor Cottage is NOT a luxury experience, yet it is a comfortable stay with nice amenities and an incredible view of Mussoorie. Nothing in the area was remotely wheelchair accessible (except Rokeby Manor which was booked and over my budget). But the staff was willing to help me up and down the hill and the steps (about 7 steps into the cottage, then four more on the inside). The roads in the area are well-paved and pushing is do-able, although quite hilly. I also want to mention the wonderful cook. He is so kind and is there for breakfast (included with room) and "snacks" throughout the day (which easily sufficed as meals) and are very affordable. Emily's, the restaurant at Rokeby Manor, also delivers to Tabor Cottage, which was convenient when we wanted something a little less "snacky." Overall, I highly recommend Tabor Cottage. Only exception is if you need it to be wheelchair accessible, then you should stay at Rokeby Manor, or simply don't go to India. But you'll be missing out on a beautiful part of this world. Two recommendations: 1) The hill entrance needs to be re-paved. It is in bad shape, even for those who walk. 2) A shared phone for placing local calls would be great.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenonwheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM - Rokeby M, General Manager at Tabor Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

We appreciate your lovely review very much and we shall work on making Tabor more wheelchair friendly as much as possible.
We are already in the process of repairing the driveway and we shall look into your telephone usage suggestion.
Take care and hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Its confusing what to like more the view at Landour or the fantastic Hospitality of the Tabor Cottage team.

The Rokeby Manor property owned by Sanjay Narang has two beautiful properties in Landour...the lavish Hotel Rokeby Manor (5 star Suits) and the Tabor Cottage for those who dont want to pay too much (like me) but wont compromise on quality & quantity.

This beautiful property is a 20 mins drive from Mussorrie and is home to some famous faces such as Ruskin Bond, Pranoy Roy and Vishal & Rekha Bhardwaj. The place is pestfree from the regular Shimla, Mussorie crowd and homes a language school with foreigners staying for weeks and months

Tabor Cottage wont be the same without Mohnish and Nicholas the caretakers of the property ensuring great hospitality and tasty food. The food menu is lavish...Spaghetti Bolognaise to thin crust pizzas to some fish & Chips and not to miss the indian menu...prices of food and residence are both reasonable.

Good thing is that Tabor cottage has recently been renovated and you can even smell the fresh paint...every thing is tastefully kept. incase you dont want to eat at the hotel you can hand out at the Nearby 4 DUkan (4 shops) for some tasty waffles and pancakes to Maggie.

Carry warm clothing as the temperature of the place is 3to4 deg below Mussorie. Landour has a fantastic walking area...cycles are available on rent

Room Tip: All rooms are good...even if the room dosent have a window it has a ceiling window
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ManishDhankher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM - Rokeby M, General Manager at Tabor Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

What a wonderful review - thank you and we are glad that you were comfortable and had a good time while up here.
Think of Tabor as your second home and see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Tabor Cottage is a charming, newly renovated historic cottage in one of the most spectacular settings imaginable. It is run by a larger, more expensive hotel called Rokeby Manor within a few minutes walking distance. Although the cook at Tabor Cottage can provide breakfast (included) and some light snacks, Rokeby Manor has a lovely restaurant called Emily's that you will want to visit for more substantial meals.

Tabor is especially set up to accommodate students from the 100-year-old Landour Language School, a few minutes walk up the road. They have three single beds in each room and the rooms are priced per bed. (A discount is offered for students of the Landour School of Language.)

The decor is rustic, but fresh and charming - natural slate floors (must be pretty chilly in winter!), pine beds, etc. Each room has a different colour scheme: Blue, Pink, Lilac, Yellow, and Green. The only drawbacks are that many of the rooms do not have windows, except in the bathroom or high up (a sort of skylight), and like many cottages the walls are damp. There is a cozy living room area for the guests, and natural wood desks with a spectacular view for studying.

The staff is abundant, helpful, and friendly. Rooms are cleaned and made up daily - not the usual dormitory. The Rokeby Manor nearby has not only a restaurant, but also a gift shop, business center, and beauty parlour. We loved our stay here and felt fortunate to be one of the first guests in the newly redecorated cottage.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mahessori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM - Rokeby M, General Manager at Tabor Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Thank you so much for your detailed review and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Tabor is a very old building built in the old fashioned way with skylights in rooms for fresh air and light since these rooms have only interior walls.
We look forward to see you again soon. Best regards from the Tabor team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mussoorie hotels
0.6 mi away
Rokeby Manor
Rokeby Manor
#8 of 75 in Mussoorie
357 reviews
3.8 mi away
JW Marriott Mussoorie Walnut Grove Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Jaypee Residency Manor
Jaypee Residency Manor
#10 of 75 in Mussoorie
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
WelcomHotel The Savoy
WelcomHotel The Savoy
#1 of 75 in Mussoorie
696 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mussoorie - Dancing Leaves, A Sterling Holidays Resort
1.9 mi away
The Pearl -  A Royal Residency
The Pearl - A Royal Residency
#57 of 75 in Mussoorie
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tabor Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tabor Cottage

Address: Landour Cantt., Mussoorie 248179, India
Region: India > Uttarakhand > Dehradun District > Mussoorie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 114 Speciality Lodging in Mussoorie
Price Range: £980 - £1,108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tabor was built in the 1850s, our age old stone house is nestled in the quaint suburb of Landour, with 'picture postcard' views of the Doon valley below and the majestic snow capped Himalayan mountain ranges literally 'just around the corner'. Tabor Cottage has 5 cosy en-suite rooms with 15 single beds (rooms are also available on a sharing basis). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Tabor Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing