We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spiritual and serene place, MUST VISIT!!”

SOHAM Heritage & Art Centre
Ranked #5 of 37 things to do in Mussoorie
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: It showcases Himalayan culture and tradition through Paintings, Murals, Sculptures, Artifacts and other Art forms.
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spiritual and serene place, MUST VISIT!!”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

If you are looking for some quiet moments with yourself or your loved ones, a break taking view of the Doon valley, within the woods with an inspiring art centre, an amalgam of all that and a love filled family who has created this with their own hands... if you are missing those sparks of vitality and creativity in your life .....think again... this life has so much to offer and this place is a must visit in your life. I felt as if I had entered a dream land when I visited this place... :)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Aimy126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    17
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Culture at its creative best! :)”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I'm an Interior Designing student and had visited SOHAM Heritage And Art Centre with my Mum. The purpose of my visit was strictly academical, to study how an Art Centre works.
On our way to the place we were quite tensed as to what sort of a response are we going to receive. But when we went there, the whole thing turned out to be just the opposite! We were welcome with such sweet smiles, by the lovely couple who own as well as run the place. :)
They took time out to sit with me and help me throughout the course of my assignment!
and the place! Its was so MAGICAL in every sense of the word!

Each piece of art is so unique and with its own story behind it. The breath-taking paintings (done by Aunty), the wall art, the instruments, the ambience! All giving you a glimpse of a culture that not many people are aware of : The Himalayan Culture. The place also has a temple, set up by the couple. Which give you a sense of calm and peace when you visit. And the best aspect and my favourite, is that, within the Art Centre is something called "Shakti" a foundation to support and encourage education for the girl child of the backward classes in Mussoorie. Where the couple run a small school. :) On the whole, an absolutely very very lovely place that gives you a mind blowing experience and many wonderful memories to cherish! And take back home with you! :) And a must visit!! Looking forward to visiting this place again and meeting Aunty and Uncle, next time I'm in Mussoorie!

All the very best to Aunty and Uncle in all their future endeavours! Much love :)
Shariqa! :)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank ShariqaMaheen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DELHI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful and unique place”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Soham Heritage & Art Centre is a great place. It could even be called local museum. You should really have to visit it to get some insight into the local Himalayan culture. It shows you a collection of local art, paintings with Himalayan motives, handicraft, musical instrumentes throughout the history, and there is even a temple, which the couple built by their own. All is made by a couple, with a lot of commitment...So really a must. It can be accessed via the Karma Vilas Resort, about 1 km down from Mall Road

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DIETERDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This place is owned by a couple who dared to get out of corporate rut to pursue their love for arts.
Husband is a sculptor and the wife is a painter, they have a wonderful display of paintings, artifacts, sculptures etc.
Lots of thought and work has been put in designing each and every corner of the place. Its an excellent blend of art and spirituality and we were highly impressed with the owners and the place.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank sourabh187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gurgaon
1 review
“Very interesting setup”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Nice place with great local art..showcasing himalayan culture and traditions..1km before mall road..we visited in the evening slot and the overall experience was nice

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank neeravtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed SOHAM Heritage & Art Centre also viewed

Mussoorie, Dehradun District
Mussoorie, Dehradun District
 
Mussoorie, Dehradun District
Mussoorie, Dehradun District
 

Been to SOHAM Heritage & Art Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing