We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great property - green, clean, quiet; but pricey for its offerings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Claridges Nabha Residence, Mussoorie
Ranked #18 of 74 Hotels in Mussoorie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The good things: great location away from the city. very green with lush trees and landscaping. The overall structure may seem old but the rooms are fairly modern with all amenities. Spacious rooms actually. The staff are courteous and try to help. If you want a peaceful couple of days - this is a good option. Food was not bad either. My girlfriend got a massage at the spa and said it was good too!

The niggles: for the price you pay, it seems like a few corners are being cut. Like not having 24 hour in-room dining (starts at 7 AM or so). The rooms will not have quality tea / coffee (like green tea etc) and will only have standard tea bags which too were not packed. One would need to order anything but standard tea. Over lunch - we wanted to order Chinese, which was in the menu, but was told the Chinese chef was off duty. One day we encountered a number of young lads from Punjab playing cards in the garden with loud / colorful language. I suspect they were guests. Clearly - that was a little irritant in the whole trip.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arihantjain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaridgesNewDelhi, General Manager at The Claridges Nabha Residence, Mussoorie, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We are delighted to read that you had an enjoyable experience with us. We are however, equally disappointed to read about some of the issues you had. We have investigated into the concern about the tea bags and I assure you that specialty tea is always available upon request to all our guests. We are also looking into the issue you had with the Chinese chef and we sincerely apologise for the miscommunication from our side. Rest assured the matter has been corrected and we hope that you will visit us again as we would love to welcome you back and for you to give us another opportunity to serve you to the best of our abilities. Please get in touch with me directly for your next booking and I will ensure that your needs will be taken care of.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

Nabha is a great place to stay in Mussorie. If you want to stay away from the city in a quiet, calm and soothing place, this is the best suited place. Hotel staff is extremely courteous, and rooms well done. They also have a childrens play area which is very good and my little girl enjoyed it a lot. Only drawback is that there are no shops nearby, even for the smallest of thing a taxi is required which would cost Rs 400 both ways. Although hotel does have a complementary drop and pick-up service to mall-road but thats available only at specified times.

Room Tip: Do not choose the basement rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abhilash_JEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaridgesNewDelhi, General Manager at The Claridges Nabha Residence, Mussoorie, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Guest, it is a pleasure to know that you had a memorable stay with your family at The Claridges Nabha Residence, Mussoorie. We thank you for your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

An evening by fireplace followed by sumptuous buffet dinner in an amazing solitary ambiance.
The hotel takes you back to the times to maharajas of India. Rooms are well furnished, bathroom is best in class, staff is helpful.
It is particularly helpful if you have your own conveyance as the hotel is on a solitary hill close to Mussoorie. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants peace in the lap of nature and luxury, away from the hustle and bustle of cities.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank raghuvansh29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaridgesNewDelhi, General Manager at The Claridges Nabha Residence, Mussoorie, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Claridges Nabha Residence, Mussoorie! Guest satisfaction is our top priority and therefore, your review is very heartening for all of us here. We do hope we would get the opportunity to serve you again, soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This was the last stop of our Garwahl holiday and overall the hotel was disappointing. The rooms were comfortable and well done up with all the modern amenities. The food was pathetic with the usual standard unimaginative fare, but sweetened by a very good singer at dinner, who churned out old nostalgic songs on request. Sitting outside for meals was very nice, but they just didn't seem geared up to handle the service.The rooms around the driveway meant that using the sit-out risked dust clouds and exhaust fumes, while you read the paper. Outside our room, was a dumping ground for the kitchen crates and waste-not a pretty site. At checkout, the chap left in charge had no clue how to manage things and could not even use the credit card machine. We ultimately left a cheque and wasted a lot of time.
The highlight of our trip was a visit to Landaur and lunch at Emily's.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
5  Thank Arbee02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaridgesNewDelhi, General Manager at The Claridges Nabha Residence, Mussoorie, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We have taken into consideration your concerns and assure you that the issues you have raised will be looked into and rectified as a priority. We sincerely apologise that your stay was not up to your expectations. Should you decide to return again (which we hope you will), please do get in touch with me directly and I will ensure that your next stay with us will be a far more memorable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Nabha is a palace belonging to the King of Nabha and the family still stays in a small part of the palace. The property has been converted to a hotel and has an old world charm.
1. The booking: Mr Chug was very prompt, helpful, and accommodating and the booking process was a breeze.
2. The ambiance: The hotel is clean, spacious, surrounded with forests. The lawns go down the slope of a hill and have many quiet and beautiful sit outs.
3. The play area: a pleasant surprise for us was the play area that had been newly developed. It is quite modern, very well made, clean, and safe for children, It had spacious tennis courts, kiddy slides and swings, table tennis, X box, carrom boards, and a lovely room for toddlers that the kids just could not stay away from.
4. The rooms: We opted for a duplex room that had a mezzanine floor with 2 extra single beds , almost like a second room . The rooms were very spacious, comfortable and with beautiful picture windows overlooking the forest.
5. The service: We felt that the room service could have been better....the rooms are made as per five star standards but need better dusting and cleaning (that is the reason I have given 4 stars). We found chocolate wrappers under our bed, and a sheet of dust over the fan (we could see it clearly from the top floor of the room). The service was courteous but not prompt.
There was also a general lack of professional service (while cleaning our room, the house keeping left the door ajar and went away, so when we came back we found our room open with no one inside, anyone could have walked in and taken anything)! This is basic lack of security standards for house keeping.
Then another funny incident that we were witness to.... where a hotel employee working the reception who was not a trained driver took a car for parking, and rammed it while driving down the entry slope into a very expensive stationary car parked in the hotel premises. Both cars suffered extensive damage!They also had boards around the property saying "parking at owners risk" which made us quite uncomfortable.
5. Food: The dining area offers al fresco dining as well as an indoor option but there is no air conditioning in the indoor restaurant (probably not required for most part of the year but it was stifling in June). We opted for open air seating the next day and it was quite pleasant .
The breakfast buffet was adequate but we found the dinner buffet a bit spicy and oily.
One sour note during our stay was that two of our kids had bouts of vomiting after staying there for a day and when we requested the hotel to cook fresh bland khichdi for them, they obliged, but we later realized we were charged exorbitantly for every khichadi we got made for the kids...this when dinner was included in our package. This was a bit uncalled for as most hotels we have been to, would give the kids meal free especially when paid for in the package, and kids having been unwell while staying at the hotel...
6. There is no pool but a nice sit out area where one could relax in the evenings.
7. The hotel is a nice place stay in Mussoorie as it is outside the city and away from the crowds and filth of Mussoorie. They have a shuttle service to and fro to the mall road.
8. One thing we felt odd was that wi fi was only free for 2 hrs and only on one appliance per day per room. Seems a bit stingy in this day and age when wi fi is so cheap and free in most hotels.

9. While checking out we found that we were charged 500 rs driver accommodation per day where as we had no driver and were self driving our car....
A nice place to stay if one happens to be in Mussoorie . But there is not much in Musoorie to go back to ....it is quite a concrete jungle.

Room Tip: Go for duplex rooms if you have kids. They are at a lower level and overlook the forest on the hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank afshan78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaridgesNewDelhi, General Manager at The Claridges Nabha Residence, Mussoorie, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback and at the onset our sincere apologies for the series of unfortunate incidents your experienced during your recent stay with us. Rest assured we are committed to ensuring that our guests receive the best attention and service at all times, however we have noted, due to certain lapses in communication from our side, your overall Claridges Nabha experience has not been up to your expectations. As we are already in discussions with you directly, we will resolve your concerns as a priority – the refund of the driver charges being one that we have already cleared.

Once again, please accept our apologies for the inconveniences caused.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

But for food I would have given five star rating to this hotel.
Heritage property located away from tourist bustle of typical indian hill station. Located amidst few preserved natural surroundings in musoorie. Beautiful landscaped garden, with all modern amenities. Have many play activities for kids. Very courteous and helpful staff.
Only DOWNSIDE is food. Though simple and decent menu, it does not match the quality of other services on offer.

Room Tip: Avoid room no 106-next to kitchen. If you are outdoor person avoid duplex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank khanabdosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaridgesNewDelhi, General Manager at The Claridges Nabha Residence, Mussoorie, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback. We have taken note of your comments about the food and assure you that we will address the issues you have raised. Overall though, it is a pleasure to know that you had a great stay and we hope that you will return again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed here in May 2014 with my daughter while getting her school admission in Mussoorie.

The hotel set up and the location is lovely,close to nature, just the right place to open a book and unwind. The check in was smooth except for the fact that when I told them I would check out after 3 nights; the person at the from desk told me he would charge me for the extra night even if I checked out one night earlier than the number of nights I had booked for! That was a big downer!

The hotel itself is very well kept and clean, the rooms are lovely all with quality fittings including the bathrooms. The gym opens a tad late, it opens at 8am and closes at 7pm.

The food, though some of my friends spoke highly about it, is nothing to write home about.

Overall, a very pleasant and relaxing stay

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FranklinRalte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaridgesNewDelhi, General Manager at The Claridges Nabha Residence, Mussoorie, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. Upon investigation into the matter of the room charge for the last night, your booking was made through a travel portal, where payments are taken in advance, which was also the case with your booking. The bookers themselves do cancellation or amendments to these bookings, directly with the travel portals, to avoid any inconvenience, prior to their arrival at the hotel. The travel portals usually display the cancellation/amendment policies online, along with the room rates, at the time of booking. You will appreciate that since your booking was made through this channel, any amendment or cancellation of the same was not within our control and hence we were unable to assist you.

We are thrilled to know though that you had an enjoyable stay with us and hope that you will return soon, as we look forward to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mussoorie hotels
1.5 mi away
WelcomHotel The Savoy
WelcomHotel The Savoy
#1 of 74 in Mussoorie
666 reviews
3.2 mi away
JW Marriott Mussoorie Walnut Grove Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Jaypee Residency Manor
Jaypee Residency Manor
#9 of 74 in Mussoorie
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Rokeby Manor
Rokeby Manor
#8 of 74 in Mussoorie
349 reviews
1.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Mussoorie
2.3 mi away
The Amber - Vermont Estate
The Amber - Vermont Estate
#3 of 74 in Mussoorie
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Claridges Nabha Residence, Mussoorie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Claridges Nabha Residence, Mussoorie

Address: Airfield Barlowganj Road, Mussoorie 248179, India
Region: India > Uttarakhand > Dehradun District > Mussoorie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 74 Hotels in Mussoorie
Price Range: £102 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Claridges Nabha Residence, Mussoorie 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Claridges Nabha Residence, Mussoorie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing