We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad bad experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tulip Inn Green Castle
Ranked #51 of 74 Hotels in Mussoorie
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Bad bad experience!”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights in super deluxe room with family. Overall, the experience went from bad to worse. It started with check-in, when at 2 PM also, they were still cleaning the rooms, making the beds etc. We had to wait for around an hour before we could get our room. The hotel staff was discourteous and unhelpful. The ladies at the reception were more interested in yapping around than helping the guests.

The location is good, but what use is it when it is not worth the buck!

Few grievances:
No hot water supply (in Mussourie!)
Blanket was stinking
No hand towels were provided
The extra bad was so uncomfortable that it gave me a backache
No elevator
No one answers room service or calls to reception, even in the middle on night when it might be an emergency! When post mid night we walked down as we needed hot water for the baby with us, we were surprised to see the staff at reception sitting and watching television, ignoring the phone ringing in their ears!
Buffet breakfast was tasteless to say the least

All in all, extremely over-priced hotel and not worth the buck!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VidhiSinghal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Green_Castle, General Manager at Tulip Inn Green Castle, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Ms. Singhal,

We are extremely sorry for the inconveniences you had to face during your stay with us at Tulip Inn Green Castle.
However, your review has helped us improve on our week areas. There has been a lot of changes done in the management, staffing, refurbishment in the rooms, public areas & the restaurant.
We thank you for your patience and assure you our very special attention on your next visit.

Warm regards,
Ankit Goel
General Manager - Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    31
    25
    11
    19
See reviews for
64
28
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Delhi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 March 2013

i visited mussoorie jan last week with my wife and son i have booked one super deluxe room package directly from their Delhi booking office and i have been allotted room on 2nd floor. room was nicely decorated washroom was clean and hygiene, view from room was excellent we enjoyed buffet dinner at restaurant then we went to mall road did some shopping and return to the hotel then enjoyed discotheque
Very nice property recently tied up with Golden Tulip Hotels

Room Tip: Go for super deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anu1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

I first stayed in this hotel in 1998-1999 with my wife. I wanted to recollect memories so I approached again. Since it was off season, I requested even for loyalty discount. The management happily offered us good.

It is situated on the centre of mall road and has its parking place. But you have to have private car otherwise, local authority want permit you to take your car up to hotel.

This hotel was under renovation, still staff had taken care of us.

We enjoyed food. Food was just fabulous.

You can pass good time while sitting in common gallery. Clouds were just around us. You can see beautiful green valley.

For evening walk and to ease wife for shopping it’s the place.

The main marked as also mall market is just walking distance.

Overall we enjoyed monsoon season a lot.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chetankpandya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gangtok
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

This hotel is located on The Mall Road but not conveniently located if you have lots of luggage. Vehicles are not allowed to enter The Mall Road between 5pm to 10pm and apart from these timings also if you vehicle enters Mall Road you have to pay entry fees every time it wants to enter The Mall Road.
The hotel has recently been taken up by The Tulip Group and hence the facilities and room decor are not upto the mark in comparison to the price they demand for their rooms. Basic room amenities like toilet slippers, shaving and dental kit, etc are lacking. The room is also basically decorated and there are not ample charging points in the room. I stayed in room no. 314 and the bed was also not properly placed. The side table was in such a position that the almirah could not open.
The suite room is also not upto the mark and is very basic.
Despite promises on the hotel website and elsewhere the hotel surprisingly did not have wifi internet facility and this is one of the most basic facility a quality hotel provides to its guests.
The rope way starting point to gun hill is nearby.
Overall I feel if the room decor and quality is improved then only the price they demand is justified.

Room Tip: Take the valley view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrakashMundra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

We rented 3 superior rooms after being offered a discount of 50% on d room charges. All 3 rooms vastly differed from each other. In one of the room , the furniture was broken down , carpet was old, stained in the other. Quality of food was good but is a bit overpriced. Overall hotel was not value for money esp when no discount is offered.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sovitdomir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noida, India
Level Contributor
192 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

i stayed here for 3 nights and i was happy with many things of the hotel.Like the room,it was large,well-furnished.The hotel property was really good.The hotel had good ambience and facilities.The parking was big and well-organised.Indoor activities like the Table Tennis room were there.But,the hotel was a bit expensive.The view was pleasant.The room service was also good.The location is at the middle of the Mall Road.The sleep quality was also very good.

Room Tip: choose a room with a view of the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anantjain26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
212 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

I first went there on March 2011 with my wife, stayed there for 2 nights and it was wonderful. The rooms are cozy with a splendid view of the doon valley. Food is a little overpriced, and now when i stayed there recently again with my wifey, it felt a torn look of this nice hotel. The walls were seeping, the wooden support on stairs was shaky, the intercom not working and the staff looked a little rusty. There is an urgent need for renovation before this place looses it's status as a "good hotel for friends and family".. On a positive side, the sleep quality is one of the best I have ever experienced.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pratik_bhaumik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mussoorie hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Shilton By Royal Collection Hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Madhuban Highlands
Hotel Madhuban Highlands
#28 of 74 in Mussoorie
260 reviews
0.4 mi away
Honeymoon Inn Mussoorie
Honeymoon Inn Mussoorie
#13 of 74 in Mussoorie
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Mussoorie
1.4 mi away
Dunsvirk Court Mussoorie
Dunsvirk Court Mussoorie
#20 of 74 in Mussoorie
57 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ilbert Manor
Ilbert Manor
#10 of 74 in Mussoorie
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulip Inn Green Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulip Inn Green Castle

Property: Tulip Inn Green Castle
Address: The Mall Road | Near SDM Court, Mussoorie 248179, India (Formerly Hotel Green Castle)
Region: India > Uttarakhand > Mussoorie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 74 Hotels in Mussoorie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tulip Inn Green Castle 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tulip Inn Green Castle is a unique holiday experience blending modern design with a nod to history in typical Uttaranchal style. An intimate thirty-four guestrooms combine sleek style with luxurious comfort. Located on the mall, Green Castle Hotel Mussoorie is perfectly situated between the worlds of business and leisure. Green Castle hotel is located steps from the vibrant Gun Hill. Mall Road restaurants and shopping paradise is minutes from the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tulip Inn Green Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing