We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location!”
Review of Connaught Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Connaught Castle
Ranked #54 of 74 Hotels in Mussoorie
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Connaught Castle is located at the mid of Mall road yet its away from the noise and din. It has luxury of space - feels great on the onset. The rooms are neat and suitable sized. Some of the amenities are bit out of shape. We stayed there on 31st Dec - one night and we struggled with the services might be due to heavy rush. One thing odd to keep in mind - the rooms were extra cold, even blankets were unable to take the shiver out. Not sure if its architectural fault or something else. Otherwise having seen other properties in Mussoorie, I will recommend this place. Fits into budget, next to the market and good for family vacation.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paarkhee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelraaptor, Guest Relations Manager at Connaught Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2017

Dear Sir,

We are glad that your enjoyed your stay with us at Connaught Castle. We look forward to host you again for your next stay with us.

Thanks,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
There are newer reviews for Connaught Castle
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2014

Connaught Castle have proved to be our best hotel we stayed. Now we can undoubtedly say it as our family hotel as every-time we go to mussourie we are automatically get hypnotized with the mesmerizing beauty of lounge and easiness this hotel provides. It feels we are in our home yet far from home. Rooms are spacious, neat, with all amenities etc.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JITENDERhotelclassic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelraaptor, Guest Relations Manager at Connaught Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2017

Dear Sir,
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at Connaught Castle, thanks for taking out time and reviewing us on tripadvisor.
Thanks,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

The best thing about hotel is its location. No hotel in mussoorie can have better location than this. Less than a minute walk to mall road, 4 minutes walk to Gunn Hill, 5 minutes walk to Picture Palace, Hotel rooms are big and clean.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Mohit A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelraaptor, Guest Relations Manager at Connaught Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2017

Dear Mohit,

We are glad that your enjoyed your stay with us at Connaught Castle. We look forward to host you again for your next stay with us.

Thanks,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Hotel is at great location and it was good earlier. But it is not maintained upto the mark. It is overpriced hotel for the quality of room they give. They have lot of space and could renovate it easily. Rest I will think twice before going there again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Samiir_Kapoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelraaptor, Guest Relations Manager at Connaught Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2017

Dear Sir,

It seems we have failed to serve you the way you deserve. That is unacceptable.
Everyone in our organization is familiar with our mission statement which is focused on making certain our customers come first.
Our goal and commitment is to deliver 100% customer satisfaction. Nothing else will do.
We know apologies don't fix the past. Please give us a second opportunity to show you what we are truly made of.
Thanks again for your honest feedback,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Except the location everything was pathetic about the hotel........dirty bedsheets,dirty curtains and windows.........even the bathroom was very dirty......the towels had black stain marks.......and mrs sharma is a pathetic person to talk to.......overall experience was TERRIBLE........I would never recommend this hotel to anyone.......please don't go.......you can find a better hotel at the mall road!!

Room Tip: there aren't any good rooms...please don't go
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kartikey2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelraaptor, Guest Relations Manager at Connaught Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2017

Dear Sir,

We are extremely apologetic for not being able to live up to your expectations. We have taken note of your complaint and are trying to rectify it.

Thanks,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I chose Connaught Castle over Honeymoon Inn while visiting Mussoorie. The Honeymoon Inn rooms had a damp smell and Connaught castle was better located. What works in the hotel's favor is the location, walk for 2 mins and you are on the main mall road! Also, the exterior of the hotel is done up well but the standard rooms have been ignored. The window sills are stained with tea/ coffee marks and the upholstery leaves a lot to be desired (torn bed covers/ cushion covers). Also, the mattresses in the standard rooms are thin and of bad quality. The hotel, though is built on a good property and has a nice lawn for chilling in the mornings/ evenings.

The bad part though is the service - You have to constantly remind housekeeping for tea cups/ towels/ plates etc. While the service was poor, the worst part was the front office behavior. On the evening before check out we checked if we can pay using a credit card and were told yes. While checking out, the man on the front office told us that the card machine is not working and categorically told to "go and withdraw money to pay" and it was only after a lot of insisting that the
man switched on the machine and it worked like charm!

Connaught Castle has been a favorite amongst my parents and other old regular visitors of mussoorie. But this experience was not that great, am told that new constructions such as Tulip Inn are better. Given that Connaught Castle is one of the expensive hotels on the Mall road, they should pull up service and pay attention to the smaller details to retain customers!

Try out but make sure you discuss terms upfront.

Room Tip: The deluxe family room looked good when we checked it out but does not offer privacy. Standard rooms...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chirag1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelraaptor, Guest Relations Manager at Connaught Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2017

Dear Sir,

Thanks for writing such a detailed review about your trip, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sure any traveller reading your review will get an in depth idea of travelling to Mussoorie in general.

Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

Old construction but well maintained... Huge car park, huge garden.... By far the best place to be in mussorie !!!!! Kids loved it too... Will stay here again for sure....the property is almost on the mall road. So a stroll or the walk enthusiastic would love this hotel. The staff was very co operative and always had a smile and mr. and mrs. Sharma the care takers are a good host....

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chandmehra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelraaptor, Guest Relations Manager at Connaught Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2017

Dear Sir,

Thanks for taking your precious time out and writing about us on this platform, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Connaught Castle.

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mussoorie hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Brentwood
Hotel Brentwood
#28 of 74 in Mussoorie
131 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Drive Inn
Hotel Drive Inn
#43 of 74 in Mussoorie
41 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Golden Palms Hotel & Spa
The Golden Palms Hotel & Spa
#16 of 74 in Mussoorie
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Mussoorie
0.3 mi away
The Pearl -  A Royal Residency
The Pearl - A Royal Residency
#57 of 74 in Mussoorie
60 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rokeby Manor
Rokeby Manor
#9 of 74 in Mussoorie
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Connaught Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Connaught Castle

Address: The Mall Road | Near BSNL Office, Mussoorie 248179, India
Region: India > Uttarakhand > Dehradun District > Mussoorie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 74 Hotels in Mussoorie
Price Range: £658 - £748 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Connaught Castle 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Connaught Castle, the Victorian elegance- 7000 feet up in the Himalayas offering pure relaxation, bright sun, monsoon mist and white Christmas. Nestled among tall pine trees the hotel offers a unique blend of ease and lively action through the spectacular view of the Himalayas on one side and the Mussoorie township on the other. Being on the Mall, yet away from the hustle and bustle you may enjoy yourself listening to the wind whistling and the birds chirping sitting admist in the misty robes of the mountains. The spacious lobby with attached recreation room is just starting of the luxury and comfort that will envelope you throughout your stay in Connaught Castle. Furniture, Daily Newspaper. Complementary Breakfast includes • Egg to order • Aloo Poori or Paranthas or Chole Bhature or Cutlet • Cornflakes • Cut fruits • Beverages ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Connaught Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing