We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Best budget hotel in Town"”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Surya Kiran

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Surya Kiran
Ranked #62 of 74 Hotels in Mussoorie
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“"Best budget hotel in Town"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

After reading all the awful reviews, i was not comfortable for even a having a glance of surya kiran .As i was looking around other places there came a guy who asked me to have a look at surya kiran as well.So i thought why not just have a look as i had already seen around 10 other places in town and know the price as well.As i walked in and had a look at hotel exterior and interior , I was just amazed .Me and my partner both liked the place very much .
Strong points:-
perfect customer service
Perfect food
Staff is really co-operative available everytime for service
Clean rooms (cant expect more was just spot on)
Location of the hotel is really good as it is in the middle of two markets so can walk to either of them
Udupi place owned by surya kiran also serve best food in town
Really warming and cheerful environment created by the owner and staff.

Really enjoyed my stay for 6 days (18th nov-24th nov)with my partner .would definately stay at this place whenever i pay a visit to india again.

J.G

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayAus1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    12
    11
    5
    10
See reviews for
23
12
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Do not stay in this hotel even if they let you stay for free. The rooms are pathetic. Washrooms stink. The manager is a ridiculous person. The check out time of the hotel is 10 am and they charge you full day's room rent if you delay by 5 minutes. And if you question then the manager starts abusing. He does not know how to behave with the customers. He used abusive language without considering the fact that he was talking to females. So unfortunately we had to call the police as he behaved indecently. The security is also questionable. You would never want to be near to this place.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank isha9339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mussoorie hotels

jaitu
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

i stayed at the hotel Surya Kiran in 17 , 18June 2013..its a not good hotel the beds are not clean and comfortable, no water for bath. two time i ask to manager plz arrange the water . but he can't do.

Room Tip: i stayed at the hotel Surya Kiran in 17 , 18June 2013..its a not good hotel the beds are not clean...
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
2 Thank keematgoyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

The Hotel rooms are not nicely maintained. Room service is just about ok and price is high compared to the services and luxury offered.You can almost always see visitors complaining ta reception about one thing or the other

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ajay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013 via mobile

Location wise the hotel is very nice. View from my room's window was amazing. Food from (adjoining) udipi restaurant is ok.
The weather in mussoorie was quite cool in the month of april n we used blankets at night (hotel didn't provide quilts) which was disappointing.
Overall, suitable for its price but don't forget to bargain!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beingshubhamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
faridabad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012

i stayed at the hotel Surya Kiran in September 2012..its a good hotel with a great location ,it has spacious stellar rooms, the beds are clean and comfortable, food is delicious ,the staff is very gracious and cooperative..it was a luxurious experience for us..great value for money

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank shilp18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kolkata
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

We stayed at Hotel Surya Kiran for 3 days in October,2012
The rooms are spacious,exquisitely furnished and maintained immaculately.
The first floor rooms,in particular,with large balcony offer a fascinating view of vast expanse of Doon Valley.
We treated ourselves with the luxury of sipping tea amidst the warmth of morning sun-shine while gazing at Doon Valley and the peaks around from the balcony of the hotel room.
Added to this,the services of the hotel staff with a personal touch,made our stay very special.



Tarakeswar Banerjee

Room Tip: Choose first floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tarakeswarbanerjee09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mussoorie hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Hamers International
Hotel Hamers International
#49 of 74 in Mussoorie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Deep
Hotel Deep
#39 of 74 in Mussoorie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Crystal Palace
Hotel Crystal Palace
#53 of 74 in Mussoorie
3.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Prince Hotel
Prince Hotel
#60 of 74 in Mussoorie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Ratan
Hotel Ratan
#68 of 74 in Mussoorie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Himalayan Club
Hotel Himalayan Club
#24 of 74 in Mussoorie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Surya Kiran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Surya Kiran

Property: Hotel Surya Kiran
Address: The Mall Road, Mussoorie 248179, India
Region: India > Uttarakhand > Mussoorie
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 74 Hotels in Mussoorie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Surya Kiran 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Surya Kiran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing