We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Off season Indian guests avoid Ananda spa” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ananda in the Himalayas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ananda in the Himalayas
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Narendranagar
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Off season Indian guests avoid Ananda spa”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Nothing to rave about except for their F n B which is excellent.There are many more spa resorts which are better and cheaper in the rest of India. Found Ananda spa highly overrated . Most of the staff were clueless about most things or did not consider us important enough . Repeated queries were unanswered,only after a spate of complaints were we given good service, but it totally spoilt my holiday as the purpose of going to a spa resort is to unwind . It was a total failure!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nileema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikhil K, General Manager at Ananda in the Himalayas, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Namaskar!

Thank you very much for staying with us at Ananda and for taking the time to review your experience.

The team is keen to not only meet, but to exceed our guests expectations, we have obviously failed to do so during your visit. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you, may we humbly request you to treat this as an aberration and not the standard we aim to a achieve.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our Food & Beverage offering and shall pass on your kind words to the team.

Do allow us an opportunity to redeem ourselves and to be of service to you again, we will be truly grateful for the opportunity to showcase the service that we are truly capable of.

Thank you,
Warm regards,

Nikhil Kapur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    463
    94
    29
    11
    13
See reviews for
85
250
82
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

I recently spent 3 nights at this serene property. Location, palace, vistas are spectacular. The peace and serenity here were well earned after spending time in the craziness of the city. Yoga, abs classes, vedanta and spa treatments were all amazing. Staff were all fantastic and so accommodating. Shout outs to Seema (yoga), Lakhan (trainer) and Monica at the front desk. They went above and beyond to take great care of us.

Grounds were beautiful, serene and peaceful. Food was good, plenty of choices and variety.

After staying at a 5 star in Delhi, I do have to say I was a little disappointed with my room. There was nothing wrong with it, but for the cost of my stay, it was very basic. Certainly not a deal breaker as I spent very little time in the room. Also, the spa could use some updating and there was no whirlpool which I would have liked.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lainie731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikhil K, General Manager at Ananda in the Himalayas, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Namaskar!

Thank you for staying with us at Ananda and for taking the time to review your experience.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our services met with your expectations. We have passed on your compliments to the individual team members whose names you have mentioned in your review.

We are grateful for your feedback on the rooms and the whirlpool on the Spa and shall work upon it.

Look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thank you,
Warm regards,

Nikhil Kapur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, Maharashtra, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

This place is absolutely fabulous if u r looking to take a break from city's hectic and chaotic lifestyle. Nestled in the Himalayas, this palace turned hotel offers u a divine experience in wellness.
It is an hour's drive from Dehradun airport.once u reach there u r very well greeted and check in is smooth.You are given activity sheets for the daily activity schedule conducted free at the hotel.The spa is the best feature of this resort.But It is advisable to get in touch with the spa team and book ur treatments 2 weeks prior to ur arrival in order to avoid disappointment due to non availability of time slots.The spa team helps u choose the right treatment and makes you feel rejuvenated.There are various packages available also like detox or weight loss programs.The best season to visit is sept to nov or march to april. pl do try all the activities conducted by the resort to gain maximum advantage of your stay.The staff is very friendly and hospitable and make u feel right at home.It is also advisable that u choose a premium valley room on the higher floors to get a gud view of the ganges and the holy town of rishikesh. You can also visit the ganga aarti which is done everyday at rishikesh for which the resort makes arrangement on request.

All in All it is an amazing experience worth trying at least once...and i assure u .. that u will not regret it.

Room Tip: premium valley rooms on the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shruti36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikhil K, General Manager at Ananda in the Himalayas, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Namaskar!

Thank you for staying with us at Ananda and for taking the time to review your experience.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our services met with your expectations. Your tip to other guests to book Spa treatments in advance is very useful as the Spa does tend to get booked very fast.

Look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thank you,
Warm regards,

Nikhil Kapur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

My recent 4 day visit to the Ananda Spa was a much needed break after 7 months of busy routine life. And it was a perfect getaway for me and my wife. Had booked the Couples Package for our trip, which was quite balanced in terms of planning, therapy treatments, daily activities and most importantly Unwinding.
Best part of the property is that it is completely away from the busy life one has today. Most of the parts don't find good mobile range and specially being away from the mobile was an added relaxing point. Overall i got what i had envisaged, peaceful environs, well developed spa with good treatments and pleasant and soothing staff.
Food was the highlight for me. Excellent food with even better personalised attention made my trip a perfect gateway from the day to day life. From special requests to setting up specialised dinner on my wifes birthday, they made sure that the moments spend there are worth the price and experience.
Facilities in the resort are adequate, with sufficient options for one to relax, with a special focus on fitness and soul finding. Be it Yoga, Mediattion, Ayurvedic authentic treatments to State of Art Gym, they have all of it sorted for one to detox and rejuvenate.
Rooms i would say remain the moderate factor of the resort. I had booked the Garden Suite, which is very quite and well placed to find serenity and privacy. The interiors were also OK, but i felt that the rooms need an upgrade given that the same must have been furnished almost a decade or more before. There needs to be a refreshing of the interiors as some parts and furniture seems fading out.
Spa Treatments, i would say are 4 out of 5. though i had expected an 5 but still it dint disappoint. May be i have set my standards too high and was comparing it with Polynesian Spa of Rotorua, New Zealand, but overall well planned and nothing to be disappointed about.

Overall great place to unwind, relax, rejuvenate and the white Kurta Pajama still beacons me everyday, they were very soothing and comfortable and i think they made the entire resort feel like a themed resort, made to delivery peace of mind !!

Room Tip: i had chose the Garden Suite, which had a small private garden and was on the lower ground floor of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dhruv6373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikhil K, General Manager at Ananda in the Himalayas, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Namaskar!

Thank you for staying with us at Ananda and for taking the time to review your experience.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our services met with your expectations. We have also noted your feedback regarding the rooms and the spa treatments and shll work upon them so that we are able to provide our guests a better experience.

Look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thank you,
Warm regards,

Nikhil Kapur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajkot, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Just checked out of the hotel and writing this review at Dehradun airport. The stay at Ananda seems surreal. The place has indescribable vibes of serenity and calm. Perhaps the best hotel I've stayed in. The staff is incredibly courteous and can really spoil you and make your return to normal life that much harder.
The manager, Nitin, leads the way in setting extremely high standards in service quality. The front desk staff, the restaurant staff, spa and club car drivers are all extremely mannered.
There were some glitches in my room but the it was handled well and they made it up quite nicely. I always believe that any lapse in quality of service is an amazing opportunity to show the real character of the hotel values and Ananda just proved me right.
Highly recommended. Don't think twice.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank moh_pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikhil K, General Manager at Ananda in the Himalayas, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Namaskar!

Thank you for staying with us at Ananda and for taking the time to review your experience.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the team was able to react in a timely manner to your feedback on the room.

Look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thank you,
Warm regards,

Nikhil Kapur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandigarh, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Ananda was all that it promised and much more. We visited from 11-14th June 2014 and the place truly lived up to its name. We were a family of 4 and had taken 2 valley view rooms. The view of the Ganges and the town of Rishikesh below was truly enchanting by the night.
From the traditional welcome to the ride to our rooms in golf carts and all the interesting information about the property on the way was truly Charming. Mr. Rathore and Mr Rajesh were very helpful.
The rooms are cool , inviting & the housekeeping is top class. Loved the morning wake up with the ginger lemon tea.
Their Spa is top notch and very efficiently managed by Ms. Ritu. The massages and facials are worth every penny spent. Highly Recommended. There is a list of activities you can keep yourself busy with- Yoga Sessions,Talks on vedanta,golf sessions,cooking class, etc. All are very good.
Along with the soul, they take very good care of your tummy as well!
F&B manager Dev and his team manage the restaurant and the food is very good. Each and every dish we ordered was cooked to perfection.We tried almost every cuisine and were all praises. Good work Chef! Thanks Sumit,Vishal,Javi,Puii and the team at the restaurant.
Thanks also to Vipin, the golf instructor for our first golf session.
Highly recommend for all those wishing to reconnect with nature and our beautiful traditions.

Room Tip: Take the valley view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SonalSharma2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikhil K, General Manager at Ananda in the Himalayas, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Namaskar!

Thank you for staying with us at Ananda and for taking the time to review your experience.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our services met with your expectations. Your praise for the team members has been passed on to them and we are sure they will be motivated by it.

Look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thank you,
Warm regards,

Nikhil Kapur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Ananda was fantastic!!! Spent three wonderful days there where I really enjoyed everything...The staff, food, services along with the sense of being literally secluded, was what I was looking for. Everyone respects the usage of mobiles and you really get to relax at all times. Classes held here are for everyone's taste and time really flies when you want to meditate and devote some time to yourself. If you are looking for something different, unique and want to see what nature is all about, Ananda is the place to come!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikhil K, General Manager at Ananda in the Himalayas, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Namaskar!

Thank you for staying with us at Ananda and for taking the time to review your experience.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our services met with your expectations.

Look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thank you,
Warm regards,

Nikhil Kapur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Narendranagar
2.9 mi away
Aloha On The Ganges by Leisure Hotels
11.8 mi away
Atali
Atali
#1 of 2 in Singthali Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
2.9 mi away
Dewa Retreat - A Himalayan Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Ganga Kinare - A Riverside Boutique Hotel
2.8 mi away
Hotel Akash Continental
Hotel Akash Continental
#25 of 51 in Rishikesh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
3.9 mi away
EllBee Ganga View
EllBee Ganga View
#5 of 51 in Rishikesh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ananda in the Himalayas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ananda in the Himalayas

Property: Ananda in the Himalayas
Address: The Palace Estate, | Tehri - Garhwal,, Narendranagar 249175, India
Region: India > Uttarakhand > Narendranagar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Narendranagar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ananda in the Himalayas 5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ananda in the Himalayas is an award winning luxury destination spa located in the foothills of the Himalayas, the birthplace of India's ancient arts of yoga, meditation and Ayurveda. Dedicated to restoring balance and harmonizing energy through a holistic approach, Ananda incorporates the healing principles of the East and the West with a specific focus on Ayurveda and Yoga, along with contemporary International spa experiences. Set amongst 100 acres of virgin forest and opened in September 2000, Ananda in the Himalayas is built around a Maharaja's palace estate and located 260 kilometres north of New Delhi. The resort features a restored Viceroy's Palace, world-class Spa, 70 deluxe rooms, 5 suites and 3 villas. Two of these villas are 2 bedroom villas and one is a single bedroom villa, with breathtaking views of the Ganges River and the mountainside. With the highest standards of service, luxurious accommodations, innovative dining and breathtaking mountain views, Ananda is an internationally recognised oasis offering an enriching experience designed to restore, renew and revitalise. Ananda signature wellness programs include Detox, Ayurvedic Rejuvenation, Weight Management, Stress Management, Yogic Detox, Ananda Yoga, Ananda Renew and Ananda Active. Getaway Spa packages starting at 2 or 3 nights are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ananda in the Himalayas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ananda In The Himalayas Hotel Rishikesh
Ananda In The Himalayas Rishikesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing