We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible service by young crews”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
POP! Hotel Teuku Umar Denpasar
Ranked #66 of 143 Hotels in Denpasar
Reviewed 20 November 2012

The magnetic card been causing me a problem to unlock my door, the crew seems not much care about this.
The bath room looks fancy but leaking water
When I walk down to request a toilet paper to be replaced for day 2, I can only get it by the second time I ask for it. The front desk staff didn't double check the delivery
When ask for information if there is any nearest clinic or pharmacy, none of the frontdesk staff able to speak proper Malay and English
Too much noisy during day time even night, we keep hearing those door open and close.
All hotel staffs are look young and energetic, but none of them can speak english.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ralph_Ng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
POPHOTELS, Director of Operations at POP! Hotel Teuku Umar Denpasar, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments.
Your comments always be a great encouragement for us to improve our service.

We apologize for any inconvenience happened during your stay, and will ensure that it won't happen again in the future.
We really understand that training is the one of the important thing to be followed up in order to have good staff in the hotel.

Once again, thank you for your comments and inputs.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back to POP! Hotels.

Sincerely yours,

Irene Janti
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

128 - 134 of 280 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2012

Even though the location of this hotel is not the best in terms of sightseeing, etc. it is definitely good value for money. Where else in Denpasar do you get a spacious and very clean double room with aircon and LCD-TV for around 30 Dollars per night? The design may be extraordinary but hey, it is a POP-hotel! We can just recommend this place!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
POPHOTELS, Director of Operations at POP! Hotel Teuku Umar Denpasar, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2012

Dear Nicola,

Many thanks for your review.
It is always great to hear that our guest have good staying experience in POP! Hotels.

POP! Hotel Teuku Umar located in center of Denpasar, which is famous as one of the various Indonesian culinary area. So next time you can come back and try to get the experience of Indonesian food along this Teuku Umar Road.

Hopefully we will see you soon popping in POP! Hotels, Bali, Bandung, Yogyakarta and soon Jakarta.
Our POP! champs will always be happy to welcoming you back.

Sincerely yours,

Irene Janti
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

First step you step in, it will be very good decision. starts from the front office, until you come in the room, it's just a simple way. the room was small but cozy and clean. for those who just wanna have a good sleep at night, this is the right place! eco friendly!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BriliantFatryana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
POPHOTELS, Director of Operations at POP! Hotel Teuku Umar Denpasar, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2012

Dear Valued Guest in Bandung,

Many thanks for your review.
It is a pleasant to know that you enjoy staying in POP! Hotel Teuku Umar Denpasar Bali.

Hope you had a great trip in Bali and enjoyed the breeze of "Pulau Dewata"

We are looking forward welcoming you back to POP! Hotels, in Bali, Bandung, Yogyakarta and soon will be in Airport Jakarta and BSD city Tangerang.

Thank you

Sincerely yours,

Irene Janti
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

The hotel is nice, clean and modern. The reception staff is not very helpful however the travel desk staff arranged our transfer to the Gilis for us - no problem. Our room was nice but the sheets were dirty, the blind didn't work and the shower leaked all over the floor. If we had been staying here longer we would have moved room. This place is not exactly cheap so they should make an effort to get the basics right - like clean sheets. The AC was also very very loud so it was hard to sleep.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
POPHOTELS, Director of Operations at POP! Hotel Teuku Umar Denpasar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2012

Dear Alice,

Thank you for your comment.
We apologize for any inconvenience happen during your stay in POP! Hotel Teuku Umar Bali.

Our hotels are having dynamic pricing which come cheaper for earlier booking, and keep moving following to our booking on hand.
We will follow up the issues with cleanliness and AC to ensure it won't happen again in the future.

Thank you for your comments.
We are always glad to welcoming you back to POP! Hotels in Bali, Bandung, Yogyakarta and soon Jakarta & Tangerang.

Sincerely yours,

Irene Janti
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

This POP! Hotel was kindly mix between for business and vacation. It design not to spending for your long vacation, but only for short visit. The design was very compact and simple and nice enough for getting short rest. They have unique "Shower Drum" as a toilet; just time capsule and you can find shower and the closet. Behind those minim facilty (no refrigeretor, no telephone or intercom) they provide nice LCD TV and colorful room (I don't know this will helps or not...at least they try to made your day more colorful). For Internet facility, they have wi-fi and 2 PC but only applied at lobby.

Now, Breakfast. Also very compatible. With only few choice of package food, you will get those yellow or green rice with simple side dish wrapped traditionally on disposal banana leaf, enough to spend the day until lunch time.

Located on central Denpasar, the city itself apply for business...not vacation. So you will find several business center and busy road around. You need extra effort to reach the beach or art center. But it is very near from CANDRA, one of the famous suckling pig restaurant. You can reach there by 5 minutes walking. Across the street you can found Circle K Mini Market.

Price, the price was not so cheap but it's ok if you looking for compact facilty. At least they had air conditioner and nice bed to sleep.

Room Tip: You can complain to front desk if you get unclean room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank masalloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
POPHOTELS, Director of Operations at POP! Hotel Teuku Umar Denpasar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comment.
Your comments always be an encouragement for us to be better and stronger in the future.

POP! Hotel is a budget hotel that provide a good night sleep for our guest, completed with basic facilities such as free wifi, TV channel, free morning bite, safe deposit box and 100% cotton linen.
We are having dynamic pricing, earlier you book less price you will pay.

Once again, Thank you and we are looking forward welcoming you back to POP! Hotels.

Sincerely yours,

Irene Janti
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

stayed here for one night after arriving on a late night flight to bali before continuing journey to our villa the next morning. Its a great hotel. Very clean, room size is just right, very comfy bed, very clean bathroom, and all this for just RM80. Nothing much in the surrounding area, just great for a few days stay or for those who just need a place to bathe and sleep at night.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gayathri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
POPHOTELS, Director of Operations at POP! Hotel Teuku Umar Denpasar, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2012

Dear Gayathri in KL,

Many thanks for your review. It is great to know you have good staying experience in POP! Hotel.
Our hotel is located in Teuku Umar road, which is famous as one of the culinary area, from local food to other domestic and international food. Hopefully, next time you come back to POP! Hotel Teuku Umar, you will have a chance to explore this culinary area.

We are looking forward welcoming you soon in POP! Hotel Teuku Umar or other POP! Hotel family in Kuta beach Bali, Bandung, Yogyakarta, soon in Airport Jakarta and BSD Tangerang,

Once again, thank you very much.

Sincerely yours,

Irene Janti
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

the room is colorful and the bathroom is capsule look alike.. everything is minimalist, and organized for better compact room.

before i check in i cannot use the internet at the lobby, thats start to dissapointing me.. and i have to pay 20.000 rupiah for each card room for deposit at receptionist, cannot be delayed, must pay now they said..

im late for breakfast.. i go down to lobby at 10.40 and they say dinner at 7:00 to 10:30(as i remember)..

this hotel is good for people who has a transportation ready, like a motorcycle or a car. because its hidden in the alley. because i didnt breakfast in the hotel i must walk out to find a meal..

the price is good value for a new hotel.

the laundry is doing an awesome work, i give my laundry before check in, at 9 am and its done in the 8:00 evening..

i cant breath well inside bathroom capsule if not opening a door a little. exhaust not big enough. the hot water and cold i ok.

they forgot to clean their elevator/lift, hands print is in the elevator wall..

Room Tip: choose a room to pool, see bikinis hahaha
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Squalldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
POPHOTELS, Director of Operations at POP! Hotel Teuku Umar Denpasar, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comment that been highlighted to us for better improvement in the future.
Apologize for any inconvenience happen with the wifi during your stay.

It seems your comment is directed to POP! Hotel Kuta beach, considered with the location that you mentioned and the pool facility, since swimming pool is only available in POP! Kuta beach.
Nevertheless, we will follow up your comments as one POP! Hotels family and network.

We are looking forward welcoming you back soon in POP! Hotels, in Teuku Umar & Kuta beach Bali, Yogyakarta, Bandung and soon Airport Jakarta and BSD Tangerang.

Thank you very much.

Best regards,

Irene Janti
Director of operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denpasar
2.4 mi away
POP! Hotel Denpasar
POP! Hotel Denpasar
#64 of 143 in Denpasar
109 reviews
1.9 mi away
Inna Bali Heritage Hotel
Inna Bali Heritage Hotel
#69 of 143 in Denpasar
67 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Sanur Indah
Hotel Sanur Indah
#86 of 143 in Denpasar
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Bali Denpasar
Ibis Styles Bali Denpasar
#53 of 143 in Denpasar
357 reviews
2.3 mi away
POP! Hotel Legian Dewi Sri Bali
3.2 mi away
POP! Hotel Kuta Beach
POP! Hotel Kuta Beach
#42 of 87 in Legian
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to POP! Hotel Teuku Umar Denpasar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about POP! Hotel Teuku Umar Denpasar

Address: Jl. Teuku Umar no. 74, Denpasar 80113, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Denpasar
Price Range: £11 - £27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — POP! Hotel Teuku Umar Denpasar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the heart of the city of Denpasar, POP! Harris Hotel Denpasar Teuku Umar offers eco-friendly and convenient accommodation both for business and leisure. All POP! Rooms include comfy bed, innovative shower pod, free Wifi Internet access, LCD TV + Cable TV and complimentary bottled water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your POP! Hotel Teuku Umar Denpasar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
POP! Hotel Teuku Umar Denpasar Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing