We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fooled by first impression”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
De Abian Villa & Spa
Ranked #166 of 290 Denpasar B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 December 2012

As we had decided to cancel our pre-booked stay on our last nite in Kuta, we wanted to stay out of the hustle and bustle of the city centre. After checking online and failing to get a decent place with good review, we decided to check out our driver's recommendation. It turned out to be a sister property of Abian Residence, the place where we stayed during our first nite during our trip. After viewing one of the villas, we decided to take it instead of wasting more time scouting around. After all, it was only for 1 nite.

The villas were not ready as we were there before noon; we had to pay a 50% deposit for the 2 villas. We checked in late that evening after our Jimbaran seafood dinner.

It was upon closer look that we discovered several things: The bedroom was the only air-cond room; going into the bathroom is like the sauna, right after shower you'd start sweating already as the bathroom's design is a half-covered roof while the other half near the shower area is open. The toilet door could not be closed shut as the wooden door had expanded.HOwever even if it can be closed shut the lock was onthe other side; didn't do anything for security wise as thebathroom is an "open concept".It was the same thing with one of the windows in the bedroom; try as we might to push it from the outside we could not get it to shut and bolt it down. However since it was already late night we did not call the management as the wall next to the windows is the one bordering the next door unit pool villa which our friends were staying in.We did not use the bathtub as it was crawling with black ants.

The bedroom was small; with a queen size bed, a tv cabinet and 2 bedside table; just enough room to for moving around and 2 luggages. It wasn't an issue until we discovered they installed an auto air-freshener spray right on the wall across the bed. In such small room it was really overpowering and the scent was not our favourite.

The outside kitchen was sparsely furnished; it didn't even have a water boiler. To have a hot drink, we had to boil water in one of the old cooking pans on a small burner stove.

Woke up early once the sun rose (6.30am) as the rooms were only covered by thin blinds and it was too bright to continue my sleep. Decided to use the (tiny) plunk pool - ours was even smaller than next door's. Didn't stay long in it as the water was covered by dropping from the frangipani tree overhanging it. By the time my roommate woke up at 10am, the sun was shining in brightly through the open area and we joked she has to use the umbrella to avoid sunburn while sitting over the toilet bowl!

Breakfast was tasteless; both the fried rice and the fried noodles. We had to eat it in our bedroom as the velvet sofa outside the room was dusty looking and the small pavilion with the glass table by the pool was dusty as well.

Would not recommend it as there are plenty of other choices for that price range.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank jadeleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (9)
There are newer reviews for De Abian Villa & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 9 of 9 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2011

We stayed for 5 days 4 nights in a 'deluxe villa'. The kitchen, and bathroom was outdoor. The bedroom is the only air conditioned room. As we stepped into the main lobby, the receptionist were friendly and polite in their greetings. Our check in was a breeze. We were located at villa 1, few meters from the lobby. It was a good thing that WiFi was strong in the lobby and our villa. The villa had a jacuzzi like pool, about 1.7m. The entrance of the bedroom was a kitchen sink, mini fridge and instant noodles. There was 2 chairs and table outside where breakfast is placed every morning. Not much of a view as it is closed of by walls of the next villa.

In the bedroom lies a queen size bed, sheets made of rough cotton, TV and two side tables with lamps. The toilet has a bathtub but there seem to be dead flies/bugs every morning. A cupboard looks like its not been used for quite some time from the webs at the corners. It's a relieve they clean the floors every day for stepping in and out of the toilet to the bedroom leaves sandy and dirty foot marks on the white bedroom tiles. The towels and bedsheets are changed every day as well. Just leave the key to the receptionist. We didn't leave our valuables in the villa.

Breakfast was acceptable, except that there was a dead small fly on the hotdogs one of the mornings. We head in the morning and only back at night to sleep.
In my opinion, despite the dead bugs n difficulty maintaining the floors. It's not a bad option for a quiet peaceful sleep, no disturbance of traffic nor people.

It rained on the 2nd night, by the morning the walkway way flooded with muddy water, 3 inches deep. Lucky we had our driver pick us up at our entrance. By the night, it was all clear and dry.

The walkway was a good place to stargaze too.

We had a free massage which was painful but worth it. We woke up fresh the next morning.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashaziq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We stayed for one night in a 'deluxe twin villa' with a 'kitchen' that was outside and just a broken sink and hob. Breakfast was awful; cold tasteless toast and brown pineapple. Orange juice was actually just orange flavouring and sugar. The room was dirty, particularly the floor edges and the bathroom. Everything was broken, including the toilet, toilet seat, light switch, cupboard handles, sliding door and lock. There was a lot of outside space but the room itself was very small. Our so-called plunge pool was so green I thought it was a pond and asked reception where the pool was. They sent someone to clean it but it was the same colour afterwards, only difference being it smelled so strongly of chlorine it gave me a headache to sit outside, and would surely have burnt us had we gone in it. We went to Sanur and found a lovely hotel for 200,000 rupiah less, so we moved after one night. Location terrible, on a back road. Horrible hotel. Would never stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whale_shark_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016
Google Translation

Thank MrsDBali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Saya tidak menginap hanya mencoba fasilitas spa
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank itaadiutami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank tommysya0216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denpasar hotels
0.6 mi away
Astana Pengembak Suite Apartment & Villa
1.5 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
1.1 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#16 of 78 in Sanur
2,279 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cafe Locca Homestay
Cafe Locca Homestay
#28 of 139 in Sanur
155 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cityzen Renon
Cityzen Renon
#95 of 142 in Denpasar
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Abian Villa & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Abian Villa & Spa

Address: Jln. Danau Tempe No. 37 | Sidakarya, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #166 of 290 B&Bs / Inns in Denpasar
Price Range: £27 - £46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — De Abian Villa & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your De Abian Villa & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Abian Villa & Spa Bali/Denpasar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing