We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“19 Sulawesi St for quilting cottons, a great find”
Review of Jalan Sulawesi

Ranked #28 of 163 things to do in Denpasar
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“19 Sulawesi St for quilting cottons, a great find”
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Hubby & I took a quick trip to Denpesar shortly after arriving in Bali for a 5 day break recently. Taxi took about 40 minutes from Legian and cost around 50,000 rupiah ($5). He dropped us outside number 19 as requested and it was as others described. Quilting cottons were batik, some patterns are a bit flawed but lovely colours and fine for cutting into smaller squares etc. I quickly picked a number of fabrics and bought a couple of metres of each @ $2.50 a mtr. I didn't go crazy on this visit due to size of case. They didn't appear to sell anything other than fabrics, no threads, bias binding or sewing accessories. We didn't dawdle, not wanting to spend too much time shopping and were quickly back in another taxi and in the hotel pool within the hour. I also bought a couple of patchwork bags from the chap out front, fixed price of 65,000 & 49,000. So cheap too. Well worth a visit and if you take the time and have the room in your case, you can buy all sorts of fabric from the other shops along this street. Next time I intend exploring this area a bit as it looked like a fabric shopper's paradise.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank perthlassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    39
    21
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Denpasar, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An 'Okay' Heritage Site in Denpasar”
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Try to go to Denpasar and find their old buildings around jalan Sulawesi. You can see many old building. It's very good to know about old architecture, but since it quite dirty and confusing you have to have good stamina to walk around.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank linapw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“No 19 Jalan Sulawesi Denpasar”
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Read previous reviews about this Batik material shop before I arrived and am so pleased. Fantastic amount of batik fabrics 100% cotton for quilt making, cost approx $3.00 per metre. Great staff, very patient. Out the front is a gentleman named Antonio, he sells patchwork purses and handbags that his wife makes, cost around $7, fantastic value. I did buy numerous from him. Around the corner from No 19 is a great coffee shop, cappuccinos $1 and it is delicious coffee.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank shirlg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“jalan sulawesi, denpasar, bali, indonesia”
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Was here in October, 2012, was looking for quilting material, a friend took me here, the shop was no. 19 - Maju Toko-ho. I purchased 7 metres for 132.000 - at home it is over $20 for just 1 metre. On my next trip to Bali will certainly be shopping here. The staff was really nice, very patient with us.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank wishfullthinking62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerobokan - Bali
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“crazy lovely typical local businesses”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

in middle of Denpasar with now fully renovated streets and footpaths are 2 big pasars and than all the local tokos selling just anything nobody needs but still seems make business. nice strolling around for 2-3 hours and be inspired by all colors, smells of food and now and than buy some basic things
BUT IDEAL for all what is clothing materials with shops selling all kind of tissue from cheap to expensive and just ask one of the many tailors to make what you need ... LOVELY but crowded with motorbikes

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Villa MARENE D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jalan Sulawesi also viewed

 

Been to Jalan Sulawesi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing