We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alam Puri Art Museum & Resort
Nearby Hotels
Segara Village Hotel(Sanur)(Great Value!)
US$190
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$999
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$262
Fairmont.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Griya Santrian(Sanur)(Great Value!)
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Puri Santrian(Sanur)(Great Value!)
US$202
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prama Sanur Beach Bali(Sanur)(Great Value!)
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sudamala Suites & Villas(Sanur)(Great Value!)
US$145
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pavilions Bali(Sanur)
US$235
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$193
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mercure Resort Sanur(Sanur)(Great Value!)
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kejora Suites(Sanur)(Great Value!)
US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$232
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (197)
Filter reviews
197 results
Traveller rating
69
74
29
15
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
69
74
29
15
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree shuttle to ubudprivate plunge poolrice fieldssim cardscommon poolour honeymoonluxury villapros and consmain pool isspent two nightsfree bicyclesspa servicesfree massagebeautiful place to staygardens are beautifulstayed longerdenpasar airport
Filter
Updating list...
116 - 121 of 197 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We panicked a little before our trip reading some poor reviews of this hotel. We shouldn't have worried. Our room, came with a pool and garden. The room was spacious, clean and everything we could have wanted. It was cleaned daily, had beautiful bed linen, great air condoning. The tv only worked on one channel in English, but we didn't come here to watch tv. The food, especially the breakfasts were excellent. The staff always polite and helpful. We also used the spa, which was wonderful. There is a free shuttle to ubud, but a taxi only cost us 100000 rup's or £6 in sterling. During the day, it feels as if you are the only guests at the hotel, it is so quiet and peaceful. The grounds are a wonderful advertisement for bali but have to be seen to be appreciated. This is not a chain hotel, it is individual, unique and a little gem.

Room Tip: We only saw our room, but i suspect most are unique. Try for a room with a pool.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bobbi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

we stayed here for 4 nights August 2013 in a 1 bedroom villa.
Alam Puri is a good 1/2 hour by car from Ubud, and with only 2 shuttle busses daily to Ubud town, you are reliant on taxis to take you anywhere.
Alam Puri is situated on the main road of a small village, there are no other restaurants near by, so if you are not in Ubud for dinner, the resort restaurant is the only choice. After 4 days we were well and truly over the menu.

The bathroom was not cleaned properly and the shower head is in great need of replacing, our room was not cleaned/ made up every day and the mosquito net appeared to be stained. our T.V had very poor reception and we could only watch 2 very fuzzy channels. The WIFI only worked in some areas of the villa.

We did not use the spa area of the resort, it looked very dirty and was expensive compared to other local price in ubud.

we did however make use of the complimentary push-bikes to travel around the local area which was great to see.

Alam Puri has the ability to be a fabulous resort but they just aren't quite there yet.

The staff were always helpful but sometimes the language barrier was very evident.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carina v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

I stayed here two nights and had booked on recommendation of a travel agent. This hotel has the makings of something really good if they got the basics down. The first basic they can't seem to get right is that the restaurant needs to deliver decent meals - I actually had one comped because it was that bad. The second is that while the staff are nice people they don't understand what is a priority eg it took five minutes to get a beer delivered via room service but 90 minutes (plus an additional phone call) for housekeeping to deliver an extra toilet roll.

Then there was the location....there is NOTHING around here. Firstly it is located closer to Denpaser rather than Ubud (30-45 minute drive). Secondly if you want to go elsewhere for food you don't have anything to choose from so you are locked in and are limited.

Last of all the website mentions a swim up bar - there is a swim up bar but nothing behind it.

Room Tip: the bones are there for this hotel but lack of management and a decent restaurant stops it from being a great hotel.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Toni1302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

The Alam puri is really on the outskirts of Denpasar, in an village area, it is a good 30-40 minutes to Ubud. The property is an older building, built into the side of a hill, so has stairs everywhere. Our one bedroom villa looked great on the Internet and in the pictures. When we arrived we were taken to the furtherest villa, with a small gate, we went up some stairs to a tiny plunge pool and into the entrance which was on the lower floor, this had some furnishings but nothing that would draw you to use it! It also smelt terrible! Then up a tiny spiral rickety stair case to the top level, again the smell was very strong of mould and mildew! The cushions on the furnishings were stained and so were the bed sheets! The bed was also old and uncomfortable! We had booked 4 nights, but after going into Ubud and realising how far it was, we decided to check out! We lost our money which we can live with, but for what it is, this property is way over priced! On a positive note the breakfast was ok!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelboffin20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

The villa resort Alam Puri, is nice from the outside, the pool and the surroundings are very nice, and the people are kind, but unfortunately the service is a total disaster:

-the bedrooms and the spa are really very dirty (toilets seems to never have been properly cleaned : only in surface, but not under the toilet seat :-(((, sticky surfaces and tables, gekko poohs everywhere, dirty grey old bathcurtain that you certainly don't want to touch, strange stains in the bathtub...

-the wifi works at best 50% of the time,

-the food is really not good, awful bacon, bad white bread, cheap marmalade, even the fruit (usually heaven in Bali) is NOT good, and everything is out rationed, as if you were in a poor resort or prison, you have to pay for every little extra : fruit or (tiny) fruit juice, eggs or yogurt...

-but most of all, the place is much closer to Denpasar than to Ubud : it takes at least 30 min by car to get there, and they only offer 2 free pick up/drop offs per day ! So you'd better be very well organized, if you don't want to spend your time in transportation here !
I don't understand how come this place has been suggested to me as being in the Ubud area ?

On top of it, as many other guests were complaining, I decided to have a serious talk with the manager. I told him everything that was disturbing in the villas, and I even showed him my bedroom, where the locker wasn't sealed to the wall/cupboard (so that any thief could just pick up the locker and run with it in his rams !), and a hanger for the towels kept on falling on the floor.
His reaction was very (much too) "cool". He listened with a patient smile, but did not seem shocked by my numerous remarks. He told me as an excuse that it was difficult to manage the local people of the village (!!) and told me that they would only "try their best" to clean properly the rooms ! :-(
He even had the nerve to tell me that the next time that I would come back, the service would be much improved (as if I would ever come back to that place, no thanks !)
Not a professional answer. And the following day, the toilet bowl was still dirty :-((
He offered me a free massage and a free dinner, but I had no intention to go in a dirty place nor eat bad food :-(

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews