We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mara River Safari Lodge
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Gianyar
Certificate of Excellence
BUSSELTON
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

This is a lovely place to,stay. Wander into the safari park and take in alll the animals and attractions, or just sit in the pool and look out over the rhino, zebra enclosure. Watch the elephant rides from the pool. Or sit on your balcony and get the same views. Go down for a night safari or just sit in the restaurant and watch the lions.

Room Tip: The top floor have better view of the animals. All rooms look out over the rhino, zebra enclosure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRCBusselton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRSL HOTEL M, General Manager at Mara River Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Dear JRCBusselton

Thank you very much for your patronage at the Mara River Safari Lodge, Gianyar – Bali. It is through valuable feedback such as yours that we are able to continuously improve our standards. We are more than glad to learn that you found our products and services to meet your expectations during your recent visit .
It is our priviledge to be of service to you and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Mara River Safari Lodge, Gianyar – Bali in the future

Muhamad Arief Rahman
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    183
    44
    20
    10
See reviews for
302
144
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Am glad that I decided to stay here 2 nights out of our 5 days Bali trip. What a wonderful experience it was! My 2 kids (10 and 4 yrs old) had a fantastic time. We stayed in the kifaru room. Was spacious and clean.Breakfast and Dinner at the lion restaurant not to be missed. Watching the lions while dining was priceless. My kids still can't stop talking about the Night Safari..and the savannah park( zoo). It was just amazing! Wake up to lions roaring from afar... Do I need to say more? Simply looking forward to go there again soon !! :) also a couple of points to take note, this resort is really far away from anywhere so once u are in the park, u are in. Take note to pack extra snacks and plan indoor activities for kids as once the park closes, it's dinner and back to the room. In case kids get bored, best to take books or games along. Don't miss the animal visit 7-8 pm at resort lobby. There is a different animal visting every night. Loved everybit of the experience!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VaniSuria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRSL HOTEL M, General Manager at Mara River Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear VaniSuria

Thank you very much for your patronage at the Mara River Safari Lodge, Gianyar – Bali. It is through valuable feedback such as yours that we are able to continuously improve our standards. We are more than glad to learn that you found our products and services to meet your expectations during your recent visit .
It is our priviledge to be of service to you and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Mara River Safari Lodge, Gianyar – Bali in the future

Muhamad Arief Rahman
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We are happy that we chose Mara for a one night stay. It is expensive but the booking included a complementary Bfast, one Safari ride, an animal photo and Bali Agung show which would have anyways cost us around $100-150 for 2 people. So, it made sense to book the room at $220.

We booked a Swala Deluxe but the front desk upgraded us to a Tandala room which was great. The room was nice, bathroom was open with a glass ceiling and very clean. The swimming pool was great and it was a great experience to take a dip in the pool in the companionship of animals. They entertain their guests with an animal encounter at the reception everyday between 7-8pm which was very cool. It could either be a bird, snake or orangutan.

Restaurant has 2 menu cards - one is very pricey and the other moderate. I insisted on the other one as it had more vegetarian options for me and they were kind enough to oblige but I really did not see a reason for presenting only one menu in the first place. Anyways! there have to be ways of making money to run such a property!

There are no transport options at all and the taxi to and fro will cost a hell! We asked for a drop to Kuta area and the hotel taxi was charging IDR 300,000 ($30) for a one way. It is better to arrange your own transport for commuting. We requested for a pickup & drop in the Bali Safari free shuttle and managed to get it on the condition that we will not be allowed to carry our luggage on the shuttle. So, we had to manage accordingly. The hotel staff was very resistant in helping us to get a booking on the shuttle but we asked our point of contact at the hotel to help us out in the same. Seems like the management of Mara & Bali Safari is different. I think if the hotel can arrange for a pick & drop for customers at a nominal cost or partner with Bali Safari management for a pick up in the shuttle, it would be great for travelers. Paying for the room cost and then an additional $60 only for transport makes this affair very costly.

Room Tip: Opt for rooms that present a clear view of the animals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arch_here
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Fantastic, clean and friendly hotel. The restaurant was a bit pricey compared to other areas of Bali but it was well worth it. The food was fantastic and it was amazing (especially for the children) to eat while watching the lions. Buffet breakfast was great. We stayed in a family room which was so spacious and clean. Loved feeding the zebras and rhinos whilst enjoying a Bintang in the pool! Was great to be able to enjoy the Safari park before/after it became busy with all the tour buses. Definitely recommend staying a night or two especially if you are planning a day trip to the Safari Park anyway.

Room Tip: The family rooms were so spacious. However other family stayed in a double room and they were overlo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weegie81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRSL HOTEL M, General Manager at Mara River Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear Weegie81,

Thank you very much for your patronage at the Mara River Safari Lodge, Gianyar – Bali. It is through valuable feedback such as yours that we are able to continuously improve our standards. We are more than glad to learn that you found our products and services to meet your expectations during your recent visit .
It is our priviledge to be of service to you and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Mara River Safari Lodge, Gianyar – Bali in the future

Muhamad Arief Rahman
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunbury
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at Mara River for two nights. The staff couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful and as for the accommodation - well, it was spotlessly clean, comfortable and waking up to an array of animals including rhinos, wildebeest, zebras and elephants was to say the least a breathtaking experience. The park itself is just magical particularly if you're animal
Lovers as we are and the pool/bar area just so relaxing. A full body massage at the spa just topped off a brilliant break. Thankyou to all the staff in particular Ari, Gusti who were just a barrel of laughs and information. Thankyou so much, can't wait to come back! Hopefully next year:-)

Room Tip: Dinner with the lions and a night safari is a must do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRSL HOTEL M, General Manager at Mara River Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear Natalie

Thank you very much for your patronage at the Mara River Safari Lodge, Gianyar – Bali. It is through valuable feedback such as yours that we are able to continuously improve our standards. We are more than glad to learn that you found our products and services to meet your expectations during your recent visit .
It is our priviledge to be of service to you and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Mara River Safari Lodge, Gianyar – Bali in the future

Muhamad Arief Rahman
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
410 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

"A wild experience" was a tagline at they welcoming letter....
Truly what a Nice hospitality, the bad think is we just stay only for one night :(

I'm choosing this hotel just because my son really loves ZOO, so when my friend offer for voucer with reasonable price just take it. Firstable, we got Swala deluxe at ground floor and upgrading to Twiga Suite room at upper floor. just only USD25 more cost, is worthed.

The Twiga room is very African Safari style, the room is spacious with Bali Safari (the zoo) view. You can sitting at the terrace with feeding the animal, what a wild :)
The bed is little bit small approx 180x200 size with netting like you seen on safari movie, LOL. The bath room only with standing shower is a nature and wild, and clean also.

What I loves to do in this hotel is sitting in restaurant terrace, and noon came. oh, it is wonderful.

Room Tip: is free for Bali Safari rides, so noted the timetable show. or ask for informations at front desk if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sugiphang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRSL HOTEL M, General Manager at Mara River Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear Sugiphang

Thank you very much for your patronage at the Mara River Safari Lodge, Gianyar – Bali. It is through valuable feedback such as yours that we are able to continuously improve our standards. We are more than glad to learn that you found our products and services to meet your expectations during your recent visit .
It is our priviledge to be of service to you and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Mara River Safari Lodge, Gianyar – Bali in the future

Muhamad Arief Rahman
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I can only echo the rave reviews of this lodge hotel and surrounding park experience. It is really a superb hotel with excellent facilities. The rooms are exquisite, the entertainment system is state of the art, with loads of free HD movies and build-in room service. That is should you get tired of watching the rhinos pace up and down the road outside your balcony or the onyx bark at each other. Occasionally, the elephants come by on safari and duke it out with the rhinos, throwing stones or spraying water to defend themselves. What a spectacle.
You get the sense that you are living in some sort of outpost in the African jungle.
The staff are extremely polite, warm and very service minded. Whilst your needs might not be fully understood, they really have tried to anticipate your every need and create a fantastic experience.
We brought our two young boys with us and they have memories that will resonate for a lifetime. We found the level of service and the standard of food in the restaurant to be excellent. The head chef a recent addition from a 5-star resort delivered on a well rounded menu. The buffet breakfast was a little sparse but still of good quality and the staff were very good about preparing boxes if you wanted to take some with you to get an early start in the Safari park.

I thoroughly recommend the lodge for couples and families.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Declan189852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRSL HOTEL M, General Manager at Mara River Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear Declan

Thank you very much for your patronage at the Mara River Safari Lodge, Gianyar – Bali. It is through valuable feedback such as yours that we are able to continuously improve our standards. We are more than glad to learn that you found our products and services to meet your expectations during your recent visit .
It is our priviledge to be of service to you and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Mara River Safari Lodge, Gianyar – Bali in the future

Muhamad Arief Rahman
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gianyar
0.5 mi away
Rumah Luwih Beach Resort and Spa
17.4 mi away
Grand Hyatt Bali
Grand Hyatt Bali
#20 of 54 in Nusa Dua
3,610 reviews
15.5 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Bali
Hard Rock Hotel Bali
#40 of 340 in Kuta
5,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
RIMBA Jimbaran BALI by AYANA
7.4 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
13.6 mi away
Elephant Safari Park & Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara River Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara River Safari Lodge

Property: Mara River Safari Lodge
Address: Km. 19 Jl. Prof Ida Bagus Mantra, 80551, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Gianyar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Gianyar
#2 Spa Hotel in Gianyar
#3 Luxury Hotel in Gianyar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mara River Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mara River Safari Lodge is a themed resort that offers a truly unique experience. Accommodation is composed of a series of comfortably appointed thatched dwelling orientated towards a landscaped inhabited by wildlife. With the shadow of Bali's sacred Mount Agung looming in the distance, embrace the rare tranquility of this retreat as rhinos, zebras and oryx graze contentedly at close range. Savor the raw beauty surrounding the lodge, while lions majestically roar declaring their status as the king of the beasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mara River Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara River Safari Hotel Gianyar
Mara River Safari Resort
Mara River Safari Lodge Bali/Gianyar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing