We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must do!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mara River Safari Lodge
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Gianyar
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Must do!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Went there with my family including my 3year old nephew in july. Had lotsa fun. Stayed in twiga room, 2nd floor, whereby carrots are provided for guest to feed elephants/zebra/deer/rinho. While all animals are not always ever present in the feeding zone near the balcony, they would wander into the area every now and then. Only the sleepy rihnos are permanent resident. Rooms are decorated with safari theme, showers are almost outdoors. 1 night stay should suffice. Comes with mediocre breakfast with views of lion sleeping. All i can say is the animals are really well fed! Nice of the management to provide free entry to the waterpark, to compensate for the under maintenance swimming.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Briyano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaliSafariBSMP, Hotel Manager at Mara River Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for choosing Mara River Safari Lodge for your recent stay and your valued time spent writing this feedback. I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you very much once again and we are all looking forward to welcoming you back for another great adventurous stay with your family at Mara River Safari Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    179
    43
    20
    9
See reviews for
293
142
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed at the Mara River lodge in Twiga suite 201. The suite closest to the fabulous Tsavo Lion Restaurant and reception. Service was fantastic by lovely professional staff. Cannot describe how fantastic this stay was. There is not one detail we could fault. The accomodation was beyond words. The bed was probably the most comfortable I have ever slept on, the bathroom and inclusions were lovely. From the lovely african themed room where you can walk out on the balcony to see Zebras, rhinos, wilderbeest, deer and elephants with tourists on them at close range. There were a basket carrots in the room as well to feed the animals from our balcony. Was a short walk to the restaurant as we were very close. We did the night safari where we could feed the animals incl big cats from the back of a truck where we were enclosed in like a huge cage. The pool also overlooked the zebras and rhinos etc as well. Had a well stocked bar in the pool and a spa salon (although we werent there long enough to use this service). We woke up to the sound of lions roaring. It was like being in Africa!! We will definitely be staying here again but for more than one night next time. Would definitely recommend this for couples or families or anyone. Will be one of the best things you ever do.

Room Tip: Twiga suites or Tandala suites are upstairs so I think the view would probably be a little better th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kumbasari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaliSafariBSMP, Hotel Manager at Mara River Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for choosing Mara River Safari Lodge for your recent stay and your valued time sharing your good times and experiences while you stayed with us.

We are proud to bring the concept of wilderness of Africa in the heart of Bali. Each guest can enjoy the beautiful panorama of Africa when they opened their bedroom balcony. Let us know what we can do to assist you more for your next stay . Please visit our official website to get the latest offer.

From all the team, we are looking forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
airlie beach
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Was a bit sceptical of this package as it was a bit expensive, but my daughter wanted it for her birthday present so I relented. I was pleasantly surprised... we got the kifaru family package 2 nights 3 days. the double rooms were large and the bedding very comfortable this resort has lovely touches that make it easy, Aust electric sockets and a great hairdryer, not the normal crappy toiletries but something you use instead of your own and they were natural. The dinners were lovely an well prepared, my daughter got the whole kitchen out singing her birthday with a lovely cake as well. there is a new evening fire/dance show, that is very well done the production is done by an Aussie called Pete who we were fortunate to meet, this is not the Bali barong you see usually but a choreographed musical production and visually stunning on the warm balmy nights.
This hotel also does nightly encounters with the animals, we had snakes an McCaw's crawling over us each night. This is a great experience for everyone from singles to families, From the morning walks of the tigers/lions and cheetahs in the morning to the lion in the loo and rhino's off your balcony and zebras next to the pool. Yes it is priced high but I believe it is worth it quite an amazing little adventure on your own time. 2 nights was enough for my 14 and 12yr old as we had done the water park and the full zoo section, do make sure you go to the Agung show another spectacular production visual stunning with a beautiful story. the only thing that I was not happy with was the lounge in room as it was to upright and when your kids want to lounge an chill we found this too uncomfortable, other than that thumbs up guys!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bec068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaliSafariBSMP, Hotel Manager at Mara River Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for taking your valuable time to post a review in this forum. We are pleased to know that during your stay with us you have wonderful time and enjoy the entire stay.

We strive to always provide the best for our guests, your positive feedback is very important for us.

Please share your wonderful moments when you were staying at Mara River safari Lodge with your family and friends, visit our official web site and let us accommodate your need when you decide to visit Bali in the not distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The hotel is placed in the centre of the Safari Park, noting that both are separate businesses, however as you are staying in the hotel you get preferential prices and services. The hotel is superb, food 5 star international standards, staff perfect, everything highly recommended - but its pricey and isolated, so 2 days maximum Id say.

Room Tip: stay in he tandala suites as they are in an elevated tree house (of sorts, so just pretend) because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MightyHawks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaraRiverSafari R, Hotel Manager at Mara River Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for share your experience in this forum when you stayed in Mara River Safari Lodge. We are pleased to hear that you had a wonderful time during your stay. Our famous Tsavo Restaurant always ready to serve your breakfast, lunch and dinner with attentive ready to assist you, while our Hotel staff always ready to provide information regarding activity inside the park or arrange some activity outside the park. Staying at Mara River Safari Lodge is an unforgettable experience as you get to interact and feed exotic and endangered animals direct from your room.

We are always happy to welcome you back whenever you visit Bali in the future. Please contact us by visiting our official web site.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Would highly recommend a night or two staying here at marri lodge. It is a unique experience staying in "huts" alongside the safari park animals. We had a beautiful moment of stepping out on our balcony when the elephant rides passed by so we spent a few minutes throwing carrots to feed them and the elephants then shooting water to say thanks! The room which we had on the second storey was beautiful and little extras like fruit and toiletries were a lovely touch. The staff were attentive and efficient. As a suggestion it is worth arriving early on the morning you stay, check in and leave your luggage in the foyer and then go off and explore the park. Then have a lovely dinner at the lion tsavo restaurant that night overlooking the lions....book early and you will get an excellent tale with the lioness sitting against the window! Then after dinner book on the night safari which was an absolutely fantastic experience!
This is not a cheap exercise by Bali price standards but if you just do the one night but have all day before you check in at the safari park it will work out cheaper. We even went for another stroll throughout the park after breakfast the next day so felt we well and truly had our money's worth before check out at midday.
If you have done the Bali " thing" a few times this is something completely different and worth a try!

Room Tip: Twigs rooms on the second storey are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tazzad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaraRiverSafari R, Hotel Manager at Mara River Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our resort and park activity, I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and facilities. it's well described. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianyar, Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I had opportunity to stay at Twiga Room , it was upstairs. First impression, the room very nice with semi-tribal style in its decoration. There is a small balcony overlook the 'savana' of Bali Safari Marine Park. Sometimes we may see Rhino, Zebra and the tram safari passing the park. Came to the restroom, it was cute and simple bathroom with very good maintenance and high quality amenities. Overall - I love the style.

During stay, I could entrance Bali Safari & Marine Park one time. It was also a great experience to enjoy the park for free. :) Have tried the dinner at Tsavo Lion Restaurant, I could say the food was fabulous. The taste was excellent and the beverages, yummy I highly recommend to try the mocktail called Safari Journey. The basil leaves was great!


Unfortunately the main swimming pool quiet far from my room. But when I was there, it was also great venue. You may have swim overlook the animals in your side.

Room Tip: I think Twiga Room is the best choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kapoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaraRiverSafari R, Hotel Manager at Mara River Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our resort and park activity in this forum. I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and our facilities facilities. It is an unforgettable experience when you're stay with us at Mara River Safari Lodge, you have the opportunity to interact and feed exotic and endangered animals direct from your room, see a pride of lions while enjoying delectable cuisine at Tsavo Lion Restaurant, and explore the whole Bali Safari and marine Park.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Third stay.

Lovely place to stay. Recommend Twiga rooms as you get a great view of the rhinos and zebras...while Kifaru rooms see more of the pool.

Comfortable beds overlooking animals.

Will be back again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank IndahBali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaraRiverSafari R, Hotel Manager at Mara River Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for choosing Mara River Safari Lodge for the third times. I hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back again in the not too distant future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gianyar
0.5 mi away
Rumah Luwih Beach Resort and Spa
8.3 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
7.4 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#10 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Bali
Hard Rock Hotel Bali
#21 of 251 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,844 reviews
17.4 mi away
Grand Hyatt Bali
Grand Hyatt Bali
#20 of 53 in Nusa Dua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,462 reviews
14.1 mi away
The Trans Resort Bali
The Trans Resort Bali
#12 of 144 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara River Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara River Safari Lodge

Property: Mara River Safari Lodge
Address: Km. 19 Jl. Prof Ida Bagus Mantra, 80551, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Gianyar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Gianyar
#2 Spa Hotel in Gianyar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mara River Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mara River Safari Lodge is a themed resort that offers a truly unique experience. Accommodation is composed of a series of comfortably appointed thatched dwelling orientated towards a landscaped inhabited by wildlife. With the shadow of Bali's sacred Mount Agung looming in the distance, embrace the rare tranquility of this retreat as rhinos, zebras and oryx graze contentedly at close range. Savor the raw beauty surrounding the lodge, while lions majestically roar declaring their status as the king of the beasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mara River Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara River Safari Hotel Gianyar
Mara River Safari Resort
Mara River Safari Lodge Bali/Gianyar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing