We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Woah!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mara River Safari Lodge
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Gianyar
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Woah!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Brought my kids(7&5) and my mum for 4days over Chinese New Year,Feb 2014. Amazing place if you into animals, eating in main restaurant while lions staring at you and hearing them roar is so cool. The men's toilet had another enclosure with a lion, definitely one of the most interesting toilet in the world, face to face with a lion in the toilet. It's also special to be staying in the middle of the zoo with private access, the night safari is absolutely amazing again, in an open cage truck, get to feed zebras, deers, elephants and lions&tigers!! The tiger jumped on top of our truck and right in your face, what an unforgettable experience. The ifs got to ride on camels and all of us had the elephant safari that was fun tool please don't miss out the show on history of Bali in the theater inside the zoo, you will be shocked by the scale and quality of production, it's on a grand scale with state of art theater and stage, so good, don't miss it. Overall, it's a gem in Bali and I would definitely recommend anyone to stay here.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Arthura33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaraRiverSafari R, Hotel Manager at Mara River Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences in this forum. We're glad that your recent stay were memorable one.

Our Tsavo Restaurant is truly offer adventurous dining experience, either breakfast, lunch or dinner the majestic lions roar through the full lenght glass panels surrounding the restaurant.

Bali Agung is timeless journey through a magical theatrical performance that highlights the rich culture and traditions of bali. It recounts the tragic and heroic legend of King Jaya Pangus and his beloved Chinese wife Kang Ching Wei. Performs in international standard in door theater.

Our New concept Nigh Safari, combination of evening walking safari inside the park, BBQ dinner, Night Safari performing dance, and Night Safari journey where you can see from very close distance night animals activity. You should try this activity once again.

I am happy that you and your family enjoy your stay, we shall look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit, hopefully in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    178
    43
    20
    9
See reviews for
290
141
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kokra, Slovenia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed at Mara River for 2 nights, in Twiga room. The room was nice, clean, comfortable. It is elevated so you have a nice view of zebras, rhinos and elephants. It would be quite OK also in Swala rooms since they are positioned well and you also have a great view of everything. We traveled with a 2-year old and he loved every minute of it. There is also a nice pool with the view of the compound, not many guests at the pool so it was perfect. Breakfast is incedible, with the view of the 3 lions. Really a rare experience. The lion restaurant is not so great for dinner and supper though. Good food, but very limited menu (especially for vegetarians) and quite pricey.
All in all I really recommend the place. We all had fun and a very nice time, enjoyed every minute. The staff was super nice. For adults 1 night (2 days) is probably enough to see everything since you can arrive early in the morning and leave late the next day.

Room Tip: The cheaper Swala rooms also have great view of the compound with rhinos and zebras. We stayed in Tw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzanaSlovenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaraRiverSafari R, Hotel Manager at Mara River Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience on your recent stay with us. I am very pleased to know that you and your family enjoyed your stay.

Your highlight comments on our selection of menu already i passed to our culinary team and thank you for complimenting the staff and I hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Unique is a word so often used for experiences which are, in truth, very ordinary.

But for this place, unique really applies.

It's a superb hotel, with a restaurant, and theme park experience rolled into one.

Mara River Safari Lodge is attached to the Bali Safari Park, which features a variety of African and Asian animals roaming the grounds. The hotel offers hut-style rooms with all mod-cons, ranging in size and how many people they can comfortably fit.

Our family stayed in the Twiga Room - a comfortable hut for two adults and one child - for 4 nights. There are family rooms for larger families, or inter-connecting Twiga rooms for those wanting a bit more space and privacy for all.

Most rooms at the hotel feature views of the animals roaming in the safari park - for your safety separated by a moat. Our Twiga room was elevated, and featured daily morning visits from rhinos, zebras, two storks and a gnu.

The safari park is excellent and I'll review that elsewhere.

One of the hotel and park's highlights is the excellent Tsavo Lion Restaurant.

The food is of the highest quality, and though expensive by Bali standards, it's mid-range by Australian.

It's worth every cent, and I couldn't think of any other restaurant where you can eat and watch lions roaming or meerkats playing - as it's walled by glass allowing 360 degree views into the park. It's especially spectacular at breakfast.

There is one negative with the hotel and safari park - and it's one you should watch closely. We found a couple of workers in both places touting heavily. With one particular hotel staff member, it was transport, and it was evident he was in league with the transport vendors who sit adjacent the property. Because it is fairly remote, you will need transport to visit other parts of Bali if you stay here.

From the moment we arrived, the hotel worker was urging us twice a day not to book transport through the hotel direct. A few days later when we wanted to trek outside, he delivered us to the transport boss outside the hotel grounds, who tried to charge us an exorbitant price for transport. Having been to Bali several times, we knew it was a set-up.

Instead we walked away, returned to the hotel, and pleasantly found the transport prices better booked at the hotel desk.

You'll save yourself a lot of hassle if you deal with the hotel direct on this.

But while it was a negative, it wasn't enough to outweigh all the positives of this wonderful place.

Most staff were great in our experience. I wouldn't let that episode put anyone off staying here, nor would it stop us returning.

If you go to the safari park, you'd be mad not to consider staying here for at least a night, and also eating dinner or breakfast in this wonderful facility.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaraRiverSafari R, Hotel Manager at Mara River Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 2 November 2014
Thank you for sharing your experienced on your recent stay in this forum. Your feedback is very important to us and we will investigate this issue thoroughly. I am also glad to hear that you and your family had a wonderful time on your recent stay. We would like to welcome you back to our resort when you decide to visit Bali next time soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My wife booked a double unit for about $350 US for one night and 5 people. the on-line package was a bit confusing and staff were not that clear in what was included in the package either. The rooms were only set up for 4 despite our booking for 5, the rubbish tins were not emptied , the shower water temperature took forever to get to warm, Both bedrooms had faulty lights which flickered even when turned off! Breakfast was below average in choice and quantity compared to international standards.So by the time we had paid for extras which thought were included it turned out to be a very expensive stay. Anyway the night safari was up to expectation and the inter-action with the animals a lot of fun. - Maybe just a day/evening visit is the answer - stay somewhere else

Room Tip: Stay in the rooms closer to the reception maybe? - also they look out directly into the animal park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We booked our accommodation directly with Mara River Safari Lodge website. They were prompt and presented us many options. We chose their "Kifaru Family Package" for 3D/2N. Service was very efficient from pick-up transport to small requests and ofcourse we loved everything else - food, scenery, Bali Agung show, swimming pool, water park, african tribe dance and the animal safari experience. The staff were friendy and served with a smile.

We arrived around 2pm and wanted to catch the Bali Agung Show at 2.30pm. The staff understood our urgency to watch the show and offered to hold on to our luggage and check-in after the show. We finally reached our lodging at Kifaru, a 2 bedroom chalet with attached toilets and a living room. A perfect fit for our family of five. What we enjoyed most however was the scenery overlooking our balcony of wild animals and the pool that extended to it. The kids cannot stop raving about the experience. Truly unforgettable. The price was well worth it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RongenRobles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaraRiverSafari R, Hotel Manager at Mara River Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us following your recent stay with us.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the facilities and services and in particular the activities in the park. Please visit our official website to get the latest update/offers, I hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This was our second stay here, last time in 2009. We found it slightly confusing to find reception by the general park entrance, but eventually were well looked after and transported to our lovely villas. The rooms were of a high standard, albeit a long walk to reception and attractions. It would have been good to have easy access to the chauffeured golf buggies, especially in the heat. The whole park was interesting and exciting and we loved the safari tour, elephant show and the amazing Agung show spectacular. As for the Tsavo Restaurant, the breakfasts were good but the dinner needs a lot more attention. The lions were there, even visible from the ladies toilets, but were asleep most of the time when we were there. We enjoyed our stay watching the zebras, rhinos and elephants from our room and balcony (and toilet too)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodger41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaraRiverSafari R, Hotel Manager at Mara River Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 2 November 2014
Thank you for sharing your comment in this forum. I am very happy that you had your wonderful time on your recent stay. We shall welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Busselton, Australia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed @ the Safari Lodge for 2 nights & it was wonderful. It was just like looking out onto the game reserve in Africa. The Room we had was lovely we shall be visiting again & be asking for the same room.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 110 on the very end downstairs the Rhino's Zebra & Elephants come up close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gypsygirl52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaliSafariBSMP, Hotel Manager at Mara River Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for choosing Mara River Safari Lodge for your recent stay and your valued time spent writing this feedback.

I am very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we were able to meet your expectations. Thank you very much once again and we are all looking forward to welcoming you back for another safari stay with your family at Mara River Safari Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gianyar
0.5 mi away
Rumah Luwih Beach Resort and Spa
8.3 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 195 in Ubud
996 reviews
7.5 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#6 of 195 in Ubud
977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Bali
Hard Rock Hotel Bali
#22 of 251 in Kuta
4,651 reviews
14.1 mi away
The Trans Resort Bali
The Trans Resort Bali
#12 of 143 in Seminyak
1,746 reviews
17.4 mi away
Grand Hyatt Bali
Grand Hyatt Bali
#21 of 53 in Nusa Dua
3,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara River Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara River Safari Lodge

Property: Mara River Safari Lodge
Address: Km. 19 Jl. Prof Ida Bagus Mantra, 80551, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Gianyar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Gianyar
#2 Spa Hotel in Gianyar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mara River Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mara River Safari Lodge is a themed resort that offers a truly unique experience. Accommodation is composed of a series of comfortably appointed thatched dwelling orientated towards a landscaped inhabited by wildlife. With the shadow of Bali's sacred Mount Agung looming in the distance, embrace the rare tranquility of this retreat as rhinos, zebras and oryx graze contentedly at close range. Savor the raw beauty surrounding the lodge, while lions majestically roar declaring their status as the king of the beasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mara River Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara River Safari Hotel Gianyar
Mara River Safari Resort
Mara River Safari Lodge Bali/Gianyar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing