We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fantastic. 6 stars!”
Review of Villa Bukit Naga

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gianyar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Bukit Naga
perth australia
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fantastic. 6 stars!”
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We were a group of fussy well-travelled girls used to the little luxuries and looking for an indulgent week of pampering and relaxation. We had high expectations and they were surpassed at every level.
From the start the villa owner, John was responsive and patient with some of the extras we asked for. In fact he went the extra mile and sorted many of the arrangements personally. (Thanks John!)
The onsite Villa manager Parta is the epitome of the gracious service. He was wonderful to deal with and all the arrangements, including a complex matrix of airport transfers, a terrific biking excursion, a "jungle" walk, massage and beauty therapists and a yoga instructor were organised efficiently and to a high standard.
Putu, the cook was amazing… seriously we wondered why we had any meals out, as without fail the in house meals were superb (especially the Indonesian dishes). Beautifully presented and delicious…. and inexpensive. We went to a couple of Ubud restaurants, as well as Sarong in Seminyak and would say, for the most part, we ate better at the villa (although Sarong was terrific as usual).
Melly, another one of the gorgeous staff made fabulous cocktails and was also a great help in organising our day.
We had therapists (from an Ubud spa) in daily and would suggest the massages are the better option.. We had facials and mani/pedis but these were not the best and would stick to the massages. Still, it was wonderful having them come to us and they were lovely ladies.
All the other staff maintained the high standards set by Parta, they were smiling and unobtrusive.
The villa itself is gorgeous, classy , beautifully decorated, very comfy beds and fine linen as well as extremely well maintained , with little wear and tear (unusual for Asia) and with every amenity. Ubud is a 30 min car ride away.
I could not recommend this villa more highly and am somewhat reluctant to spread the word in case it gets too busy! We will definitely be back!

If anyone needs more info, do not hesitate to send me a personal message via tripadvsior.
Once more thanks you John, Parta, Melly and Putu and all the amazing staff at Villa Bukit Naga for a truly wonderful week!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, even the little single was charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    0
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
3
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

We arrived late at night to a warm greeting by Parta, the villa manager, and all the wonderful Villa Bukit Naga staff. Parta showed us around the villa to familiarise us with all the facilities and the property was more magnificent than the images on the website. The next day when we woke up our initial thoughts were confirmed. The villa is beautiful, designed thoughtfully and decorated tastefully with artwork and antiques. The property is beautifully maintained and it is clear that no expense has been spared in the design or decoration of the house. The setting is high up in a lush green tranquil valley making the view from the pool appear as if you are in the treetops. We were two families travelling with a total of four children ranging in age from 6 to 12. The property was definitely more than we had hoped for but was also perfectly suited for the children, safe with all the trappings to keep them entertained. The meals were brilliant (thank you Putu) and these were a highlight on our days spent at the villa. The property is very private and the staff are very discreet (pool towels magically appear and leaves are swept away without you knowing). Parta, who speaks excellent English, is extremely knowledgeable, professional and gracious and looked after all our needs.

The villa is about a 30-45min drive to Ubud and Parta will drive you in the villa van. The van is very comfortable and Parta will meet you with refreshing cool towels and water after your outing. In short, the villa is luxurious and relaxing and has the feel of home but with a five star twist.

Lastly, our children wanted to make sure I mentioned how much they loved doing arts and crafts with Meli (thank you Meli).

Charlotte's review (age 8):
I think that where we stayed is magical. I would like to give a big thanks to Meli and Parta and all of the staff. I hope we come here again, I loved making things with Meli. The food was great, I ate lots of chicken satay and the desserts and milkshakes were so yummy. There were 100’s of movies, I loved it :] P.S I am 8 and my name is Charlotte. I love it at Villa Bukit Naga.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JohnRima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Summary: If you were to design a villa from the ground up (including staff) you would hope it would be like this!

Pros: everything.
Cons: are you kidding? Leaving?

We all gathered for a friend's birthday at the villa and it was just a most wonderful experience. We joked beforehand (having looked at the photos online) about the fact we 'could have done better', that we 'were slumming it' etc but you don't even get a sense of the scale and beauty of the place until you arrive.

The staff are impeccable: and I mean impeccable. It may seem odd to mention this up front, but when you are with a large group and there are numerous staff, it could be difficult. They were all exceptional and were just a pleasure to be around.

The villa itself is not near anything in particular (and a fair way out of Ubud), but we had the use of car and driver so it mattered not. We went on day trips or out for dinner (if we could drag ourselves away from the wonderful home cooked meals) and simply returned home for cocktails and a swim.

It is an idyllic place. Elegant, spacious, airy, huge rooms, beautifully landscaped, immaculately clean. The occasional mosquito and deciding when it was appropriate to have the first G&T or Pimms of the day were about the only thing that threatened our resolute relaxation.

Looking out to the verdent surroundings from the infinity pool is one of those memories that will stay with me.

That inability to form coherent sentences when one is truly relaxed descended quicker on us than usual. It was so easy just to be soporific - it was pointless to be otherwise.

In a way, I am somewhat lost for words because there is just so much good to say about this property - I think it is best to simply say its pretty well close to perfect and leave it at that.

It is a truly magical place and I think just amazing value. I would recommend this villa without hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tobeconfirmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Just arrived back in the United States after 17 days in Bali. We stayed in three places, and all were good, but this place is in a league all it's own. It was by far my favorite place, and my only regret is that we did not stay longer.

We were three families sharing 6 bedrooms that Bukit Naga has. My family had the master suite (including a small children's bedroom) and another king size suite in the main house. The master suite is truly out of this world, with the largest dressing room I have ever seen. The other bedroom that my family used had a nice outdoor shower (the master does not). While not as large, all of the other bedrooms were equally as luxurious and comfortable. You won't go wrong with any of them. All of the bedrooms had a/c, and indeed, the entire property has central ac if you want to use it. We used the ac at night to sleep, but otherwise, I found the temperature at the Villa to be nearly perfect, and a near constant pleasant breeze.

The staff at Bukit Naga is second to none. Parta is a gracious host, and is always available to answer any question you might have...from how long it takes to get to some attraction or another, or the history and culture of Bali. He never failed to have a smile on his face. The chef also deserves special mention. There is absolutely no need to go out to eat when you can get amazing quality meals served with great style and prepared to the highest standard. The only "problem" you will have is deciding which items to order from the menu. The cost of the meals is very low, compared to what you will spend eating elsewhere in the area. We ate nearly all our meals at the villa, and it cost my family of 4 less than $70 a day to eat while at Bukit Naga. Considering the quality, this is an excellent value.

A car and driver is included in the rate for excursions in the Ubud area. Our group used this service many times, and we were always delivered to our locations in a safe, comfortable and timely manner. I also enjoyed the many conversations I had with the drivers...you can learn a lot about Bali simply by asking. All of the staff are willing to share their culture with you, which my family very much appreciated.

You will not regret booking this place. If you can book this place, consider yourself fortunate and sign up now!

Room Tip: The master is very special. I also loved the one BR villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mnrose1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 November 2011

We recently had my sisters wedding at the Villa Bukit Naga. Very small gathering as we wanted an intimate affair. Cannot put into words the experience we all had. The Villa was absolutely amazing, the staff were amazing, the food prepared by the villa chef was amazing. Nothing was too much trouble. It was so beautiful, secluded & peacefull you could have been in a different world.
We had 12 guests in total and not a single one could beleive that such a place could exist.
Many thanks to Rachel, John, Parta, Melly and all the staff at Villa Bukit Naga for making this an experience that we will never forget.

Room Tip: All rooms were amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 7 October 2011

We booked this villa over the internet and right from the first easy exchange of emails with Rachel (owner) we new we were in for something special. We had 3 families (6 adults and 6 kids aged 7 - 10) travelling together, and wanted a few nights to wind down after the hustle and bustle of Legian, before heading home.

We were picked up at our hotel and had some trouble fitting 12 of us and our luggage into the 2 vans sent to pick us up (plus the aircon wasn't working properly in one of them so it was a sweaty 1.5 hr ride). That was the only hitch, because once we arrived Villa Bukit Naga and found the whole team of smiling staff waiting to greet us it was like stepping into a dream. Parta (the Manager) lead us on a tour of the villa that left us speechless (which is not easy for our group!). Each of the 3 gorgeous villas offers it's own special features and the gardens and pool are magnificent. I'm not going to spoil it by giving too much detail, but let's just say that this place is truely special.

The beds were heavenly (ask for a top sheet if you don't want to sleep under the doona). and it is so peaceful so we slept like babies. Even though each of the 3 villas surround the main pool - they still feel private and allow you to escape if you want to. There are gazebos and daybeds scattered all over the property and around each corner is another beautiful view of nature at it's best.

The staff are wonderful. Most of the time we weren't even aware that they were there, ... but somehow the bed was beautifully made each day, food magically appeared on the table, and leaves were swept up before they hit the ground. Parta would appear at just the right moment to answer questions and share some Balinese history. Every request was expertly handled and nothing was too much trouble. On our first night Putu (chef) made us such a delicious snapper dish that we asked her to teach us how to make it. She and Meli (our lovely waitress) did a fantastic job of feeding us, ... after the difficulty of choosing what to order from the extensive menu. Meli also spent time teaching our girls how to make some of the local craft out of reeds which they loved.

We did the Eco cycling tour which starts with breakfast overlooking a volcano (the food was ordinary - so eat breakfast at the villa before you go). Then we cycled 25kms through villages and rice paddies - virtually down hill all the way. It was a fantastic way to experience the Balinese way of life and we all rated it a highlight of our holiday. One of our group was too young to ride a 2 wheeler so she tavelled in the Van that followed the group. We finished with a delicious lunch at an open air "cafe" overlooking a rice paddy and then the van dropped us back at the villa.

Apart from a brief trip into Ubud (25 min drive) none of us wanted to leave the villa, and with the pool, gardens and the movie lounge there was plenty to keep the kids happy. On the last day a couple of us treated ourselves to a massage on the balcony with Desak and her friend - and we agreed it was probably the best massage we've ever had!

Thank you to Rachel, Parta, Meli, Putu our drivers and the rest of the amazing team for providing us with a wonderful experience that we will never forget.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

What a wonderfully beautiful, relaxing, friendly place to unwind and relax! We thoroughly loved every minute of our stay at this very welcoming villa.

Firstly, we must thank the staff for their warmth and excellent service. Nothing was too much trouble for them, from cooking us delicious meals made to order, serving up cocktails, looking after the little ones, driving us around, ensuring every room was spotless, taking care of our daily laundry, looking after the absolutely beautiful gardens..... they are just fantastic in every way! Thank you, thank you, thank you.

Bukit Naga is situated outside of Ubud village and from the front you look out over a typical Balinese rice field setting. From the back of the villa you look out over the valley to the mountains in the distance - the sunsets are spectacular. It is a very quiet area so you can either lap up the silence or party to your hearts content. There is one large swimming pool as well as a plunge pool, spa, gym, DVD room (with hundreds of DVDs), free WiFi, plus lots of quiet sitting areas so you can escape to be on your own if you want some quiet time. The villa features 7 bedrooms in 3 buildings. The bedrooms themselves are all very large with lovely bathrooms, some also having outdoor showers.

You can also order in massages and other spa treatments. We all loved our massages and they were an almost daily occurrence.

Honestly, I cannot say enough nice things about this place. We definitely felt very sad when our time came to leave.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mishella11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gianyar
0.0 mi away
Warwick Ibah Luxury Villas & Spa
0.0 mi away
Bukit Kirana Villas
Bukit Kirana Villas
#40 of 62 in Pecatu
8 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mara River Safari Lodge
Mara River Safari Lodge
#2 of 10 in Gianyar
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rumah Luwih Beach Resort and Spa
0.0 mi away
Bagus Jati Health & Wellbeing Retreat
0.0 mi away
The Sanctoo Villa
The Sanctoo Villa
#1 of 49 in Gianyar
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Bukit Naga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Bukit Naga

Property: Villa Bukit Naga
Address: Banjar Selat, Desa Samplangan, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Gianyar
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 49 Speciality Lodging in Gianyar
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
VILLA BUKIT NAGA is a unique property perched high on a hill, above a valley in which two sacred rivers meet. This villa estate features 7 bedrooms in 3 elegant buildings and can accommodate up to 13 guests in well-appointed luxury.VILLA BUKIT NAGA has the highest staff-to-guest ratio of any private villa in Bali: 15 full-time staff for up to 13 guests.VILLA BUKIT NAGA is a favorite holiday rental property among celebrities and industry leaders due to its absolute privacy. It is not satellite positioned, meaning it cannot be found on Google Earth or GPS systems.15 staff will attend to your every need. 2 chefs prepare global or specialized cuisines, from Western dishes to local Asian delights using organic produce from our own garden. 2 drivers can take you from mountains to beaches, to enjoy volcano hiking, surfing trips or relaxing on the sand as well as golfing, cycling or touring timeless Balinese villages.Enjoy cooking classes, yoga lessons, massages and other spa treatments in the privacy of VILLA BUKIT NAGA.The entire estate enjoys Wi-Fi, available in every room as well as poolside.The property has 3 villas that contain a total of 7 bedrooms (6 en suite bathrooms), a 50-foot infinity pool, an infinity plunge pool, a gym, Wi-Fi, entertainment room with satellite TV and 600+ DVD’s, central air conditioning, a total of 5 buildings, 2 outdoor bales, 4 private outdoor showers, a Jacuzzi, 5 balconies, various sound systems and iPod docks, and extensive gardens.Located minutes from Ubud, Bali’s cultural capital, guests can enjoy world-class dining in the villa or at award-winning restaurants such as Mozaic. Our in-house concierge will arrange shopping trips, art gallery and museum tours, and much more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Bukit Naga Bali/Gianyar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing