We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous, highly recommended - this is the Villa Bukit Naga in Gianyar.”
Review of Villa Bukit Naga

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gianyar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Bukit Naga
1 review
“Fabulous, highly recommended - this is the Villa Bukit Naga in Gianyar.”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

My group (13 discriminating lady travellers) said goodbye to Villa Bukit Naga last night with superb memories of our 4-day stay, sincere thanks to Villa Manager Parta and his delightful team, and fond hopes for a return visit. I highly recommend Villa Bukit Naga: beautiful scenery, excellent kitchen, and great service by a wonderful staff. Definitely good value and deserving of a long list of praises.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    0
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
3
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Well, its a complex story but one that deserves a scathing review, unfortunately my wife wants me to be gentle, so I will try.

In short, it all started when we decided to hold our 2 day, 35 people wedding celebration at Naga. John, NAGA owner was super nice, prompt and timely in communication, made big promises, all before we made the deposit which was more than 6 months before we were to tie the knot. You know what they say, when its too good to be true, it ain't true. Shortly after the deposit was made, communication slowed down and ultimately ceased, promises disappeared into black hole and instead of pulling our hair and losing it, we decided to hire a local wedding planner for an extra 5K to make sure our event would go smoothly. A couple of months before D day, our planner went into full throttle in terms of confirming arrangements etc, and things started to fall apart with John/ Naga - he decided not to provide complimentary breakfast for staying guests as promised initially, he would not cater (after raving about NAGA food for months) for our event which meant an extra 6-7K for us in outside catering, the best of all, he wanted to charge me for groceries (would maybe add up to a mere $20) for a small tasting I wanted my planner to have at Naga. Mind you, my total bill at Naga would have exceeded $10K easily after all was said and done, and this guy wanted to charge me for such a small thing (an indication for what was to come), on top of all the broken promises and zero communication. I was really disappointed and incensed by now, and complained, as anyone else in my position would most certainly do. And what happens next, he sends us an email saying that he will cancel our booking altogether at Naga, that it wasn't going to work out. LOL, how convenient and easy for him, all because he could with no repercussions for him. An amazingly reckless and selfish move, beyond our wildest imagination, its not like you plan a destination wedding every other year :-) Adding to our nightmare, we had already prepaid for several guest villas in the vicinity solely based on the event taking place at Naga, simply unbelievable. Despite of the shock, instead of being held hostage by this irrational person, and not knowing what else to expect last minute, we decided to let go and just cancel our big celebration. However, as fate would have it, we connected with an angel in the owner of Villa Selat next door, and ended up hosting a smaller wedding last minute at his amazing property, and we had a great time. Check out Villa Selat, beautiful place, affordable and impeccable service.

So how does this review effect your booking NAGA to celebrate an important life event and more importantly working with John the owner, its tough to say, you have to make that decision and cover all your bases. Maybe it was our plain bad luck, maybe it was too much for Naga to handle a group our size, I don't know but I just had to share this 'worst nightmare' of an experience for what its worth with potential travelers. In Naga's (John's) favor, other reviewers have had an incredible time there and that's why we booked the entire property in the first place, go figure :-(

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KOSMICKARMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villaBukitNaga, Owner at Villa Bukit Naga, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
I write in response to this review, which in my opinion is baseless and wholly inappropriate. The gentleman concerned was planning a wedding with us, which we were delighted to host. He emailed to ask me to prepare a trial run of the wedding menu for some of his friends to "test out". I replied that we were happy to do this, but informed the client that we would charge cost + 30% for providing this food, in accordance with our published F & B policy. The guest emailed back and adopted a very aggressive and entitled tone, saying "don't you leave a bad taste in my mouth before we have even eaten your food" and refused to entertain paying for the "practice banquet". There was more, but I am not going to dignify any more of this nonsense with a blow-by-blow account. Save to say that the gentleman concerned never stayed here and didn't even set foot on the premises, so his "review" is wholly redundant in both its content and rationale.

We are very fortunate to have hosted so many wonderful weddings, birthdays and holidays for our guests in 12 years of operating. We have never cancelled a guests stay before, but we have a policy of zero tolerance for abject rudeness and insulting behaviour. The guest concerned had his deposit refunded in full within 30 days of our decision not to proceed with his booking, in accordance with our refund policy. I know for a fact that the guest was able to book another venue in plenty of time and enjoyed a wonderful wedding celebration. Just not with us.

I totally respect that any of our guests are free to comment as they see fit, with the emphasis being solely put on the fact that they should really have been "guests" and not just angry people, looking for a dust-up.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

Awesome place. Very well maintained. Very good view of the mountain and paddy fields.
I was very impressed with the staff. The chef cooks Indonesian cuisine well. Parta, the housekeeper and driver is incredible. Very honest and sincere guy who goes all out to make your stay comfortable.
One disadvantage about staying in the mountains is that there are lots of flies and insects. There was one night when the whole balcony was filled with flies after heavy rain and these flies started coming into the bedroom when we switched on the lights, Parta made the effort to fend off the flies so that we can have a good night's sleep.
Very impressed with their effort in making our stay memorable.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank CandiceWang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villaBukitNaga, Owner at Villa Bukit Naga, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Ms Wang,

Thank you for your kind words and comments. I have spoken to our Villa Manager about this unfortunate incident, and he assured me these were flying ants and not flies. They appear In Bali seasonally during rainy season, especially after heavy downpours. They are attracted to light sources and it is my understanding that your door was open and the lights were on, which the little critters cannot resist.. I am glad that we were able to quickly solve the problem and have your room cleaned immediately. We look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful home very soon.

John Duffield
Owner, Villa Bukit Naga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We spent 4 nights in Bukit Naga with a diverse group of very well-traveled guests. This group is hard to impress but Bukit Naga delivered. The property is spacious, well designed, impeccably maintained and staffed by the best team in the Ubud area. The villa has massive bedrooms, all with ensuite bathrooms, that afford every guest private space. The main living areas and pool deck are wide open and stunning places to gather.
This villa has an incredible staff. Their English is great, the in-house chef is the best in Bali and their service is discreet but proactive.

Room Tip: The one bedroom suite is great for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GregSeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

Where to begin! We met John and Vanessa when we visited Bali in March to find a villa for our wedding. We were amazed by the beauty of the location of Bukit Naga and the story behind it (where the two rivers meet- meaning good luck). John and Vanessa immediately assisted us with every request we had and helped us plan the wedding day over the months leading up to the wedding week trip. We ended up having 10 of our close family and best friends fly over with us and spent a week at the villa enjoying day trips to Seminyak, Ubud and relaxing by the pool or going for walks in the rainforest with Parta, our wonderful villa manager. The staff were outstanding in catering to all of our needs and were so humble. All of our guests boasted about how amazing the food was and the cocktails were perfect! The staff decorated the outdoor location for the ceremony and it was exactly how I imagined and they all got dressed up in traditional clothing which made us feel very special. Our last night was simply beautiful, they had prepared a brilliant meal, yet again, and presented us (bride and groom) with a homemade palm leave crowns! We all loved our time at the villa and all the rooms, the food, the location, the staff were beyond amazing and hospitable. The service by Parta, the staff and John and Vanessa was the best that we have ever experienced on any overseas trip that we have been on. We would gladly recommend anyone and everyone to experience the luxury that Villa Bukit Naga has to offer. We look forward to spending more time there in the near future.
Thank you, Villa Bukit Naga

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wanderlustloverss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Loved everything about Bukit Naga! It's superbly serene, fantastically managed, & I just can't say enough about the wonderful staff & the way we were looked after. I'm so looking forward to our return visit. Love love love!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evoisis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

The photos don't do this magnificent villa justice. I was mouth opened gob smacked for at least the first 4 days. The staff, food and surroundings surpassed anything that I could imagine. Well done to Parta and his wonderful staff for a brilliant and memorable holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tania A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gianyar
0.0 mi away
Warwick Ibah Luxury Villas & Spa
0.0 mi away
Bukit Kirana Villas
Bukit Kirana Villas
#40 of 62 in Pecatu
8 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mara River Safari Lodge
Mara River Safari Lodge
#2 of 10 in Gianyar
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rumah Luwih Beach Resort and Spa
0.0 mi away
Bagus Jati Health & Wellbeing Retreat
0.0 mi away
The Sanctoo Villa
The Sanctoo Villa
#1 of 49 in Gianyar
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Bukit Naga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Bukit Naga

Property: Villa Bukit Naga
Address: Banjar Selat, Desa Samplangan, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Gianyar
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 49 Speciality Lodging in Gianyar
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
VILLA BUKIT NAGA is a unique property perched high on a hill, above a valley in which two sacred rivers meet. This villa estate features 7 bedrooms in 3 elegant buildings and can accommodate up to 13 guests in well-appointed luxury.VILLA BUKIT NAGA has the highest staff-to-guest ratio of any private villa in Bali: 15 full-time staff for up to 13 guests.VILLA BUKIT NAGA is a favorite holiday rental property among celebrities and industry leaders due to its absolute privacy. It is not satellite positioned, meaning it cannot be found on Google Earth or GPS systems.15 staff will attend to your every need. 2 chefs prepare global or specialized cuisines, from Western dishes to local Asian delights using organic produce from our own garden. 2 drivers can take you from mountains to beaches, to enjoy volcano hiking, surfing trips or relaxing on the sand as well as golfing, cycling or touring timeless Balinese villages.Enjoy cooking classes, yoga lessons, massages and other spa treatments in the privacy of VILLA BUKIT NAGA.The entire estate enjoys Wi-Fi, available in every room as well as poolside.The property has 3 villas that contain a total of 7 bedrooms (6 en suite bathrooms), a 50-foot infinity pool, an infinity plunge pool, a gym, Wi-Fi, entertainment room with satellite TV and 600+ DVD’s, central air conditioning, a total of 5 buildings, 2 outdoor bales, 4 private outdoor showers, a Jacuzzi, 5 balconies, various sound systems and iPod docks, and extensive gardens.Located minutes from Ubud, Bali’s cultural capital, guests can enjoy world-class dining in the villa or at award-winning restaurants such as Mozaic. Our in-house concierge will arrange shopping trips, art gallery and museum tours, and much more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Bukit Naga Bali/Gianyar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing