We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks Wayan !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kusuma Sari Villa & Spa
Rueil-Malmaison, France
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Thanks Wayan !”
Reviewed 29 August 2010

We spent 4 days with the kids (9 and 12). Parents in one villa, kids in another one (just a few meters between them): in the middle of those...the swimming pool ! Wayan and his team made these 4 days fantastic. They even organise a private buffet for us, as we invited friends from Ubud to spend an evening there...everything was perfect. If you are tired from big anonylmious hotels...this is the place to be ! I'll be back. Antoine. France

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yoda4people
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    5
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
17
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tours, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2010

Every bit as good as the rave reviews we read prior to visiting Kusuma Sari Villas. We spent 3 nights in this enchanting hideaway, and this was the highlight of our 6-week vacation in Bali. This was a welcome change after the busy, anonymous resorts of the south. The elegant design of the villas and lush gardens, seemingly natural yet sophisticated create a unique atmosphere of serenity. The villas are very private, set on the edge of a series of water-lily pools that cascade down the hill and lead to the simple, elegant swimming pool.
We have seldom encountered such a combination of comfort and charm. Given that we had already toured around the island quite a bit we tended to enjoy the villa and vicinity more than venture further out, but being located in a small market town (Sukawati) halfway between Ubud and Sanur we found that this was a good base to both relax and discover Bali.
Besides, Wayan and his staff went out of their way to make us feel at home and explore the surroundings, we used the motorbike to go to the market, then Wayan drove us to a cremation and around the countless craftsmen's shops. He turned out to be extremely helpful in our shopping spree (we bought furniture for our new home, something we would not have done without Wayan).
We can't afford to spend a month at Kusuma Sari, but next time we go to Bali we are certain to go back, if only for a few nights.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babeuf37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2010

We booked three nights here as a treat in the middle of our holiday. It is the most amazing place you will ever stay! There are only a handful of villas so the service is really personal. Wayan would ask us every day what we would like for lunch dinner so that they could buy it fresh from the market. He also took us out and about free of charge whenever we wanted to leave the villa. As it turned out we hardly left the villa which is very unusual for us! This is not a hotel, it is a truly wonderful home away from home complete with CDs and DVD's, a lounge, numerous day beds on balconies off the rooms, outdoor shower and luxurious four poster bed. Our villa had steps that led straight to the infinity pool and jacuzzi. The infinity pool by the way overlooks the jungle where a small stream runs down below.

The villas are completely tucked away so it is very tranquil. As there are so few villas you feel as though you have the entire place to yourself and the grounds are quite sprawling. The on-demand access to the rest of Ubud with Wayan meant that we never felt isolated.

The villas are carved into a hill which has layers of ponds with water lilies. The eating area is open air and you don't share it with anyone else so it is very romantic. Just candles, the jungle and a very attentive yet discreet waiting staff.

I would definitely recomend this villa to anyone traveling to Ubud. Although it may seem pricier than other villas, so many services are complimentary so it is actually excellent value for money.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Palmerholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midi Pyrenees
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2010

Quiet hidden riverside retreat away from traffic, but near all village amenities and twenty minutes from Ubud. Beautiful surroundings, ultra clean inviting pool, well laid out gardens with water features and lush vegetation. Quiet airconditioned rooms and exceptionally comfortable beds. Staff very willing and always cheerful. Highly recommended. We had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank larazet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2009

The moment we step into its compounds, we were greeted by its serenity and beauty, all in nature's own. My friends and I had a wonderful experience and truly enjoyed our stay. The staff were very friendly and took great initiative to attend to all our needs. They were definitely an awesome bunch, helping us to put our Hawaiian theme party together..without much fuss. Over that 2 days, we were nothing else but great buddies. Where else can you find a home away from home? Indeed Kusuma Sari Villa & Spa is that close as it can get - an almost paradise....

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuliMoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2009

Staying at Kusuma Sari was an absolutely spectacular experience. Our villa -- with a large and comfortable bed, deck, indoor shower as well as an open-air shower and tub, and ample closet space --was nestled in a luscious tropical environment overflowing with flowers, palm trees, pools with lilly-pads, and the comforting sound of flowing water. The swimming pool and hot tub were wonderful, as were various sitting areas on the property -- some of which look across a river to beautiful rice fields on the other side. Plus, the staff was so friendly and accommodating -- always willing to go the extra mile. A spectacular experience all around.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MBWRW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2009

Our specific raves are too many and our time too short. Just had to tip my hat to you folks for nailing all of the details. Incomparably better experience than our past stays at island's larger/corporate owened resorts. My Dear Wife (a woman of "discerning tates") managed not a single critical observation for nearly two weeks! Bless You All. Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Dr. Richard Abernathy

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rabernathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gianyar
0.3 mi away
Mandala Desa
Mandala Desa
#16 of 557 in Ubud
279 reviews
0.5 mi away
River House Villa
River House Villa
#327 of 557 in Ubud
2 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bumi Linggah The Pratama Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Asri Sari Villas
Asri Sari Villas
#331 of 557 in Ubud
19 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sri Abi Ratu Villa
Sri Abi Ratu Villa
#7 of 50 in Gianyar
23 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bali Masari Villas & Spa
Bali Masari Villas & Spa
#3 of 3 in Sukawati
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kusuma Sari Villa & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kusuma Sari Villa & Spa

Property: Kusuma Sari Villa & Spa
Address: Br. Pekuwudan Sukawati, 80582, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Gianyar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 50 Speciality Lodging in Gianyar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kusuma Sari Villa & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Kusuma Sari is your home away from home, it fulfills your dreams. Indeed, it is the enchantment that dreams are made of. Villa Kusuma Sari includes a dreamlike swimming pool and relaxing Jacuzzi in the middle of a grand tropical garden overlooking the beautiful Bembeng River. The quiet and magical environment renders a feeling of exclusiveness and perfect tranquility in harmony with the local Balinese culture while in close proximity to cities like Ubud, Sanur and Kuta. The hospitable and responsive staff makes complete an experience of living like a king in Bali.Design as a modern version of the traditional Balinese cluster compound, the villa has separate bales (pavilions) for eating, lounging and receiving guests. The master bale has a large living area for entertaining as well as sumptuous sleeping quarter. The two guest bales include two meter outdoor stone tubs for your bathing pleasure. Each of the bale includes both indoor and outdoor showers and ample storage space for your luggage, clothing and any treasures which you might purchase in your exploration of the local markets. The villa is built over former rice terraces and from the pool looking toward the stone entrance gate you will see terraces replaced by a beautiful series of terraced pools seemingly flowing one into the other. Truly a vision that evokes the paradise that is Bali. Our staff is equipped to cater to your every need. A car and driver are available for optional tour packages for your exploration of the beautiful island of Bali. Traditional Balinese ceremonies may be witnessed at many local venues or we can arrange private performances at the villa for your pleasure. Breakfast is included with your room. You can select American style, Continental style or if you are truly adventurous you can try the traditional Indonesian style. Other meals are available at the villa at your option or we can arrange for your dining at any of the wonderful local restaurants which abound in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kusuma Sari Villa & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kusuma Sari Villa & Spa Bali/Gianyar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing