We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great day out”

Halo Bike Cycling Tour
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great day out”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Just back from the best day of our holiday in Bali. Our guide was full of interesting information about the way of life in Bali and his English was really good. We had a lovely breakfast a fantastic home cooked, indonesian lunch and water whenever and wherever you wanted it. It was an ideal way to see the countryside, away from the buzz of the tourist areas .

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    508
    15
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Real family hospitality”
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

We had an amazing time on this tour today. My brother recommended this tour after going last week and we are so glad we booked. Wayan was a very hospitable and friendly tour guide who showed us the real Bali and answered all of our questions. From the coffee plantation, to the volcano, to the rice fields, each stop was breathtaking and memorable, especially lunch at Yoga's home which was delicious and so welcoming. We couldn't have asked for more!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank kazalenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Absolutely brilliant”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

If you want to see the real Bali then this is the way to do it. Yoga picked us up in the port around 7 in the morning, we went to the coffee plantation and sampled different coffees which was lovely then onto the volcano which was stunning. We then picked up the bikes and off we went down hill. We stopped several times for drinks and fruit he was very informative telling us about the different areas we were in and all about the paddy fields, some of us even had ago at harvesting the rice (hard work) We rode through villages and the locals would shout and wave and past beautiful temples, its not the normal places you would see whilst on holiday.There was only one hill at the end of the ride and I did have to get off and walk.

Lunch was served at Yogas house where we met his family, children, brothers, parents and his wife who had cooked us an amazing lunch and kept on sending us up for seconds. It was a brilliant day and I have to say the most memorable day of my holiday and if I ever return to Bali I would do it again.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tracey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Excellent Tour - highly recommend”
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

This bike tour was recommended to us, and was better than expected. We were picked up on time in Seminyak. Sindu, our guide for the day, spent the trip to Ubud and the volcano explaining local customs and traditions. The volcano was stunning, the ride was fun and a great way to see a different side of Bali. But the highlight for us was the lunch at Yoga's compound. Beautiful food cooked by his family and certainly an experience we would not have otherwise enjoyed. A great day.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth Australia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Best Day!!”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

My wife and i went on this trip in early march.

We booked via phone, the price is excellent. We were picked in Legian bang on time at 7.00am. The price at 300k rp is an absolute bargain, for a full day out including food.

We first went to Ubud to pick another two people.

The first stop was to a local coffee plantation, where we sampled the local coffees including the Luwak coffee from the civet cat. We also saw civet cats. The plantation was nice it was lush and about 30 mins north of Ubud.

From the plantation we went to Kilimantan to the Volcano and had breakfast, coffee and a pancake, not great but worth it for the view. The cafe overlooks the volcano lake.

From the cafe you go another 25mins and collect your bikes.

The bikes were well maintained and the helmets were of a good quality, each bike had a water bottle already in place. The guide (Sindhu) adjusted all of the equipment so it fit perfectly and gave us good clear instructions on how to use the controls and also the road rules.

We were a little apprehensive as we saw the lunatic motorcycles on the way up there. But once you are going it is pretty much all downhill, and there is very little traffic, at no time did we feel unsafe. The ride down was brilliant. You see beautiful termples, rice paddies, you get to understand the local traditions and ways of growing rice. Plenty of drink stops and just one uphill climb of about 250m. Sindhu has great english and is a really nice guy.

The ride down takes about 2.5hrs

Once at the bottom, The van collects your bikes and you go in another van for lunch at Yoga's house who is Sindhu's brother in law. At the house you can freshen up and lunch is served in the courtyard of their house. The food is good and very Balinese, Yoga speaks good english and tells you about family life.

After Lunch you are taken back to your hotel and arrive at about 4.30pm if in the Legian/Kuta area, 3.15 if in Ubud.

A really really great day and these guys are very good at it. If you want to see the "real" Bali. This is the tour and do it with these guys, they deserve every bit of custom they get!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank waboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Halo Bike Cycling Tour also viewed

 

Been to Halo Bike Cycling Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing