We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise away from the buzz of Bali”
Review of Villa Biara

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gianyar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Biara
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I stayed here twice during my stay, I had to come back again. This beautiful, large villa is elegantly put together, with great furnishings, bedrooms, bathrooms a huge open kitchen, dining and living area and a tv room that can double as an extra bedroom.

Maria, Wayan and Putu took wonderful care of us, almost too good! They went to the extra lengths of relocating the frogs after they'd kept me awake one night.

I would recommend this for people wanting to have a family holiday, or couples wanting time out, to swim, talk, and be away from it all. This was perfect for us because we didn't want to be in the thick of it. If you want the best restaurants at your door step, this isn't the best location but this is a wonderful place to stay... I'm loathed to tell people in case it's booked out next time we're there!!

Tips: take some duty free to make cocktails, do day trips with Wayan Ubud etc, get out and enjoy, take an early morning walk through the neighbourhood and down to the beach at sun rise and get Wayan to drop you at the local beach club for dinner. The local laundry is cheap & good, and Maria is a sweetheart and will help you with lots of arrangements. She's a great cook too.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexandraRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villabiara, Owner at Villa Biara, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2013

Thank you very much for your thoughtful review, and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Villa Biara.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our piece of paradise :0)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2013

Villa Biara is a beautiful property on the southeast coast of Bali which is quiet and away from the tourist action. The staff, Wayan, Maria and Putu are very sweet and helpful and are on hand all day to help you organize your trip and to cater to your needs. There is a four-wheel drive available at all times with Wayan acting as driver to take you any where you wish. Although there are not many dining options within a half hour drive, you always have the choice of hiring a chef to cook at the villa. The ocean in front of the villa has strong currents so we swam in the pool instead and just enjoyed the sound of waves lapping against the shore. The whole experience was very laid back and we felt like we were staying in our own home. We thoroughly enjoyed our experience and look forward to our next trip back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ladybug789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We have returned to Villa Biara this time as just a couple. The owners have made a fantastic change providing per room pricing so we had the villa to ourselves for some romantic respite.

We were there for Galungan an important religious time where the spirits of deceased relatives return to visit their former homes, and the current inhabitants have a responsibility to be hospitable through prayers and offerings. We saw Wayan and Putu make the penjor - bamboo pole weighed down by offerings suspended at the end to decorate the villa for the celebrations.

We spoiled ourselves with a poolside massage, a romantic dinner by the recommended chef and made lots of cocktails with our duty free. We did manage to tear ourselves away from the villa to go to Kayu Manis, a great resturant in Sanur.

The beds are made with Villa's own brand linen, Biara Bed + Home which you can buy. I couldn't help myself, may as well feel like I am on holiday at home.

Maria and Wayan look after you like you a royalty. Now we can go just as a couple or group we won't stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: The Kupu Kupu room has a view over the fish and tortise pond to the pool and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niseko_Wine_Supply
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Just spent 7 fantastic nights at Villa Biara with our party of 5 adults and 4 children, exceeding all our expectations. Quality property and ideal to 'chill out', away from the hustle & bustle of Bali. Staff were amazing and nothing was too much trouble. Heard it was good - the experience was even better. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

I loveeee this place.... it's beautiful, cozy, modern with Balinese traditional touch to it.We really enjoyed our stay in this villa. We stayed for 3 nights for my sister's wedding. She had the wedding party in this Villa and it was beauuuutiful! Everybody was happy. The service from the staff was beyond my expectation. Definitely we'll be back next year :)

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank underwaterangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villabiara, Owner at Villa Biara, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2012

Thank you very much for your kind review of our first wedding at Villa Biara! We are so glad the event turned out all you had hoped for.

We hope you and your family will return to Villa Biara, perhaps for a longer and more relaxing visit next time...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

i like this place, with all the ponds and pool. i really love water, so i love it hear. ^^ i really love the pond with the little turtles and beautiful fishes. i spend most of my time there playing at the pool, and playing with my family in the park.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brody A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Our family of three generations (seven adults and 2 babies) stayed at Villa Biara for 10 days in June. We had the most wonderful holiday, with friendly, attentive service From Maria, Wayan and their team, in beautiful tranquil surroundings. The villa is even more luxurious than the photographs indicate, and the location is just brilliant - you could be on a desert island when you're at the villa, but in reality you are just at the end of a delightful little road, overlooking the beach. Although the beach is not really accessible from the villa, there is the constant sound (and sight) of waves breaking over the black sand bar. The mornings were particularly calm and beautiful, so we tended to laze around the pool, play with babies, feed the tortoises, have massages (Maria organised a masseuse to come to the house) and drink proper coffee, made beautifully for us by Maria and team. We had booked a driver to be on hand for the whole time, so we would all go to Sanur or Ubud for lunch and then do various other activities (cycling through rice paddies, cooking classes, white water rafting, shopping, yoga etc). Maria organised a chef to cook evening meals for us each night at home, so we generally all sat around the table well into the night. You just can't have better family time than that! So thank you all at Villa Biara - it was a marvellous 60th birthday celebration.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janekester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gianyar hotels
3.2 mi away
Mara River Safari Lodge
Mara River Safari Lodge
#2 of 12 in Gianyar
602 reviews
17.2 mi away
Bagus Jati Health & Wellbeing Retreat
0.7 mi away
Villa Kishi Kishi
Villa Kishi Kishi
#8 of 58 in Gianyar
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Rumah Luwih Beach Resort and Spa
4 mi away
The Sanctoo Villa
The Sanctoo Villa
#1 of 58 in Gianyar
221 reviews
9.6 mi away
Anahata Villas & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Biara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Biara

Address: Jl. Pantai Saba | Saba Beach, 30000, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Gianyar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 58 Speciality Lodging in Gianyar
Price Range: £179 - £487 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right on the beach overlooking the outlying islands, Villa Biara is a 3 or 4 bedroom luxury villa away from the bustle of tourist Bali, but within easy reach of Sanur, Ubud, Kuta and Seminyak. A gorgeous, sumptuously appointed villa, it is perfect for groups or families wanting to experience the "real Bali" without compromising luxury or accessibility to tourist attractions. Wake to the Surf and Serenity every morning... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Biara Bali/Gianyar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing