We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bagus Jati Health & Wellbeing Retreat
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Gianyar
Certificate of Excellence
Murrieta, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Stay!”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I recently stayed at the beautiful Bagus Jati. We stayed in a super spacious and very clean spa villa for 7 nights where we had the luxury of getting a massage in our room as well as going to the spa for services. The spa was amazing, with breathtaking views. The pictures on the website, although beautiful, just wait until you see it for yourself, even better! The staff, accommodations and food were very good. It's the perfect place to get away and relax. I brought an intimate group with me to do yoga and they were more than willing to let us use the yoga room when not in use for more yoga and supply us with anything we needed. Yoga down by the Jati River was so relaxing with the sound of the waterfall. I found everyone working at the Bagus Jati to be very friendly and committed to you having a good experience. The food was fresh, organic, healthy and delicious. My favorite meal was the jakut urab balinese salad (add spice) and the ginger and papaya soup. I enjoyed having a cup of lemongrass tea every morning and evening. The resort is located about 45 minutes from Ubud Villiage. I am looking forward to returning to the peaceful and beautiful Bagus Jati.

Room Tip: The rooms closer to the lobby and restaurant are able to access wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank April T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    49
    13
    9
    7
See reviews for
17
86
60
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I spent a week a week at Bagus Jati and loved every moment! Peace and quiet, a great retreat to get away to unwind, reflect and evaluate life. Clean and spacous villas, amazing healthy fresh food and very friendly helpful staff. Yoga every morning and mediation every afternoon and a different optional activity every day. I booked the healing package which involved a massage/spa of some sort every day..... heaven! Highly recommend to everyone who needs some timeout on their own, definitely planning on going back, a yearly retreat!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoLogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

My wife and I just left Bagus Jati few days ago, where we stayed in connection to our honeymoon.
The place is just gorgeous and you can completely relax and let the wonderful view and silent inspire you.
The villas are big and clean and relatively away from each other in order to guarantee the necessary privacy to all the guests.
The staff is exceptionally welcoming and friendly and their massages are really, really good.
On a side note, rooms have no tv and wi-fi is only available in the lobby or restaurant areas, but given the beauty of the landscape around you, they will not be missed.
This is really a wonderful place!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PiSaVe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed there with my wife for 4 nights retreat. The hotel is a gem nearby Ubud. It's just 40 minutes away by car as hotel provides this free scheduled service. However, for us we didn't want to go to Ubud during our stay especially that we were planning to stay there after.

the hotel is located on an edge of a hill. All rooms has the magnificent views. We stayed in the spa villa number 106. All villas have privacy but more privacy found in spa villas.

Views are magnificent looking at the woods facing you and hearing the sound of silence merged with sounds of different birds, insects and the river beneath. The place is perfect for relaxation and retreat.

We haven't book any package just the room to have more flexibility in choice especially that there is no difference in prices and you might save money if you would drop some unwanted treatments imposed on the package you booked.

Our day starts by sitting in the terrace viewing sunrise and the awakening of the woods then go by 7:30 start our yoga session for 75 minutes done by the amazing gurus Pak (mr.) Wayan and Pak Buddha. They are amazing there was a third one but he is not good and he messed up the session we had with him. This session ends up with meditation. Then you go for breakfast followed by relaxation time by the amazing fresh spring water pool at the view. Or you can have one of the free activities and classes the resort offers for guests.
we had the jungle walk. And the balinese massage classes. Both were amazing and recommended.

Then you can have your treatment at spa. The quality of therapists is one of the best allover bali. I recommend having Shiatsu massage and Sejati treatment which is the best thing happened to me in my life.

The food quality is average. Needs some improvement. The views from restaurant is awesome.

the villa is spacious there is the dressing room attached to the bedroom and includes the toilet and wash basin. The showering area is next to it as part of the spacious massage area that we never used.

the resort is recommended for a retreat especially for couples. Not a good option if you have kids as it is very quiet.

the place is built on hills so moving around the resort requires many steps up and down. You can call for a shuttle takes you around the resort.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M_Fattah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hurth, Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

This was our second hotel during travels on Bali. We spent the first week in the Intercontintal Hotel in Jimbaran, Bali and then we travelled to the Bagus Jati Resort near Ubud. We stayed here for 4 days and had a superior villa.

The hotel is located about 30-40 minutes (by car) outside of Ubud. The hotel offers a shuttle service to the centre of Ubud and back 2x per day. It is basically in the middle of the jungle, you can hear the monkeys, birds, frogs and plenty of more animals around you. The hotel has 10 superior villas and 8 deluxe spa villas (with a private spa treatment room). There is plenty of room between the villas, so you can really experience privacy and peace & quiet.
The staff is extremely friendly and will help you with all your requests, wishes or demands. The organic restaurant serves deliciously fresh food.

It is an extremely beautiful location, we were amazed by the tranquility and beauty of it. It has a pool with spring water plus a natural pool by the waterfall in the valley. Naturally it offers a full-service spa, fitness room and free yoga classes every morning.

The breakfast buffet could have had a bit more variation, but the quality of food was very good. The roads/paths in between villas and from and to the reception/restaurant can be quite slippery, so be careful there. Those were our only critique points - we loved everything else.

We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank feli022010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2013

I was nearly put off by some of the other reviews on this site, but let me tell you Bagus Jati is magical.!
Yes it is out of the way, but from where!?
You dont have to leave the resort, the staff are amazingly friendly and when i first saw my room i was overwhelmed wth how perfect it was for my getaway from the hussle n bustle of city life in sydney!
I went alone but it would be perfect for a couple wanting to rekindle romance n just get away from it all!?
I had a scooter which i hired from ubud wich gav me mor freedom n i LOVED it, but not recomended for nervous riders! Its chaos!
All in all, highly recomended!! Clay

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claysboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013 via mobile

The retreat had amazing staff and the serenity was amazing!

Nevertheless, value for money was lacking. For almost $250 USD per night the villas were very basic, and needed some greater maintenance.

Bagus Jati would be ideal for those wanting an intimate and private location from which they do t want to leave for several days. But only consider the resort if prices are more reasonable, even for high season it is not worth $250/night.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank samthiele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gianyar
2.4 mi away
Padma Resort Ubud
Padma Resort Ubud
#1 of 8 in Payangan
520 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 195 in Ubud
996 reviews
8.9 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#6 of 195 in Ubud
977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#46 of 195 in Ubud
1,745 reviews
13.5 mi away
Fivelements Bali Retreat
10.6 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#13 of 195 in Ubud
1,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bagus Jati Health & Wellbeing Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bagus Jati Health & Wellbeing Retreat

Property: Bagus Jati Health & Wellbeing Retreat
Address: Br Jati, Desa Sebatu, Kecamatan Tegallalang, 80572, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Gianyar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Gianyar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bagus Jati Health & Wellbeing Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bali's premier Health and Wellbeing Spa Retreat, Bagus Jati, is set in 5 hectares of hillside gardens amongst lush tropical forests in the mountains of Ubud, Bali. Accommodations consist of eight deluxe spa villas, each with private spa facilities and ten 10 superior villas with wide windows overlooking the tropical forest. Verandas on both the Deluxe and Superior villas provide an excellent setting for a romantic dinner or just relaxing on the day bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bagus Jati Health & Wellbeing Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bagus Jati Health & Wellbeing Retreat Hotel Gianyar
Bagus Jati Health And Wellbeing Retreat
Best Western Ubud
Ubud Best Western
Bagus Jati Health & Wellbeing Retreat Bali/Gianyar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing