We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect at first look, a few downsides when you look better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate
Ranked #16 of 57 Hotels in Jimbaran
Certificate of Excellence
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
66 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“perfect at first look, a few downsides when you look better”
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We stayed a week here in November 2010(after the wedding in Jakarta - see other review). This hotel was the last one we stayed at in Bali. The one before this was one, was a lodge in the a very remote village where people washed themselves and their clothes in a flood. Hence it was pretty surreal to end up at the Gending Kedis Villas afterwards. The "Villa for 2" consists of two floors with the kitchen and living room on the second floor and the bed room, bath room and private pool on the ground floor. You have a butler at your service and the girls at the reception try to do anything to make your life perfect. Perfect you would think. It leaves however a sour taste in your mouth because you know that most of these people are earning a few dollars a day or less. Of course we are providing work for them but we are also using valuable resources which locals probably cannot afford anymore.
Now to the downsides of the hotel. When we stood at the balcony, we looked down at some sort of waste dump. I dont know if it was the one from the hotel or from another hotel. It was however not an unusual sight in Bali. Makes you wonder why they dont treasure what we have lost ages ago...
Secondly, the hotel is being fumigated every other day. They do it to kill the bugs but the smell afterwards is very disturbing. Makes you wonder what kind of pesticide they are using and why the whole hotel needs to be fumigated.
Thirdly, the paths from the villa to the restaurant/exit are very slippery because it is so moist on the premises.
And lastly, the prices for room service/ironing/spa treatments are comparable to the prices you pay in 5 star hotels in western Europe. I hope (but doubt) that the employees get their fair share from it.

Room Tip: Depends on the size of your group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bjorn78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    120
    34
    13
    8
See reviews for
127
227
12
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Had a chance to stay in Villa Nuri, #21, what a great location on the edge of the rain forest, absolute privacy and serenity. Lots of space and everything you need for a getaway, this place is great. Total value for money and warm friendly staff. I will be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thephuketinsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

we stayed here for 5 nights it is very beautiful and the staff were so helpful
big thumbs up
We had one of the villas with a private pool we were impressed with the size and privacy just what we asked for
the food was excellent with a lot to choose from we had the BBQ in our room for 1 night and it was a great experience loved it

Room Tip: if you want privacy this place has it villas 15 / 16 are perfect there are a few steps but keeps y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bec B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Great place for a family stay. We had one of the villas with a private pool and coming form Hong Kong to here, we were impressed with the size and privacy. We had a couple of hiccups with getting the villa we had reserved on agoda but not sure that is the problem with Gending Kedis. Strongly recommend to use the free shuttle s there are great things to see near by and you'll just need to calla the driver to come pick you up. We went with a 5 month old and had room service 5 times; it's adequate and the service was great. Overall, this is a great location and stay, and well managed; if you have any issues ask for the owner, the was terrific.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Joey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I stayed at the 3 bedroom villa, rooms were big, bathrooms were huge with a bathtub and shower too.. the hotel felt homey and comfy.. Breakfast was equally great too.. However, If you'd like to get around Bali (ie. going to Seminyak, kuta, ubud, etc) the location is slightly far from these areas. If you're the type that likes to laze around the villa, then this place would be perfect.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkoesnadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

For our 2 week honeymoon we stayed in 4 different hotels/villa ranging upto £600 per night! Gending was one of the cheapest villas we stayed in so when we first booked we were very hesitant about it. It was the first villa of our entire trip and we really did want it to be special! We we totally wrong about being hesitant. Our 3 night stay at Gending was the most beautiful stay throughout our honeymoon. The staff were so caring and nothing was a problem for them. They were always avaliable and smiling. The shuttle service was great and saved us bucks! The rooms very clean, massive and very comfortable. A lot of freebies were thrown at us during our stay from cakes, to mini massages to rose petals to breakfast in our villa etc. Gending was one of the most peaceful places and we would defiently go back. As we went along our journey's to various other hotels/villas nothing could match up to Gending, we missed the genuine staff and the lovely place along with the exceptional service. Best villa we have ever stayed at!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HelloT2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We came a few days early and staff were very accommodating in organising our room.
We stayed or 4 nights and we not ready to leave. The staff were super efficient and very helpful. We were able to organise a later checkout due to a 1am flight and transport to airport was organised. A shuttle service is on call almost immediately - the service takes you to town and saves you walking or getting a taxi. We had our own private villa which was amazing. Upstairs kitchen, dining, tv + spare room & ensuite and downstairs pool, outdoor lounge area, large master bedroom with ensuite. We felt like we were the only guests for the duration of our stay. It was very quiet and peaceful and the grounds were well maintained. Arvo tea was brought to our room each afternoon which was a great surprise too. The gym is well equipped however we didnt use the facilities as we intended. The staff were very helpful in organising some of our daily activities to Uluwatu & surrounds. If you want a quiet and relaxing place to stay - this is your pick. Big thanks to all the staff who made our stay a good one. thank you.

Room Tip: Prunia 2 Ask for an upgrade to villa if available. Its a large villa suitable for family however w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TrippedUp2Max
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jimbaran hotels
1.1 mi away
RIMBA Jimbaran BALI by AYANA
0.9 mi away
Le Meridien Bali Jimbaran
0.9 mi away
Kupu Kupu Jimbaran & Bamboo Spa by L'Occitane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Kayumanis Jimbaran Private Estate & Spa
1.2 mi away
AYANA Resort and Spa
AYANA Resort and Spa
#13 of 57 in Jimbaran
3,492 reviews
1.1 mi away
INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate

Property: Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate
Address: Jalan Karang Mas Sejahtera | 100Y, Jimbaran 80362, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Jimbaran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Jimbaran
#9 Family Hotel in Jimbaran
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Jimbaran
#13 Spa Hotel in Jimbaran
#16 Luxury Hotel in Jimbaran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gending Kedis at Jimbaran Bay is a collection of 1, 2, 3 and 4-bedroom luxury villas each with its own private pool villa. The resort is located within 15 minutes from the Bali airport and just 2 minutes drive to the white sands of Jimbaran beach.The resort has full services and amenities including the Alcedo Restaurant and bar lounge, room service and 2 function rooms. The Malkoha Spa offers a full range of body treatments and the Rudy Hadisuwarno Salon offers hair styling for ladies and gents. A fully equipped spacious gym and a 22 meter swimming pool complete the facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TravelUp, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gending Kedis Villas And Spa Estate
Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate Hotel Jimbaran
Gending Kedis Hotel Estate
Gending Kedis Resort Estate
Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate Bali/Jimbaran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing