We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Dream Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate
Ranked #16 of 57 Hotels in Jimbaran
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
2 reviews
“Our Dream Holiday”
Reviewed 12 August 2009

On arrival at Ngurah Rai airport we were met by the staff from Gending Kedis who had come to transport us to our villa. They gave us cool drinks and flannels to refresh ourselves after our long journey from Scotland. These were very welcome as it had taken us two hours to clear immigration. While we sipped the cool drinks and used the flannels they saw to our luggage. We were then transported to our villa at Gending Kedis 15 minutes drive from the airport.

On arriving at our villa we were met by our butler who had ice cold fruit drinks waiting for us, just one example of the great care and attention afforded to us throughout our stay at GK.The villa was much more spacious than we had anticipated. The bedrooms were luxuriously furnished with Balinese style furniture, silk drapes and blinds. The master bedroom had a huge four poster bed. All bedrooms had an ensuite bathroom, much to the delight of our two girls. The kitchen was fully equipped with all mod cons which was used to great advantage when we had a barbeque for fifteen people by the poolside on the Saturday night. The staff from the onsite Alcedo restaurant prepared and cooked the barbeque allowing us to relax by the poolside while entertaining our guests.

The infinity pool was a definite favourite with our girls, who enjoyed being able to swim whenever they liked – even at midnight. However if you did not wish to swim it was very tranquil just watching and listening to the sound of the waterfalls.

We all went to have a Balinese massage at the spa on the resort. This was truly a wonderful experience, one hour of sheer bliss. We were very impressed with the staff at the spa as they were very courteous and considerate towards us, making us feel very special

On several occasions we made use of the Alcedo restaurant, the menu offered a splendid choice of food. The pancakes with syrup were divine as were the fruit juices. We also had the option of having meals brought to the villa from the restaurant.

The staff at Gending Kedis were always polite, courteous and discreet. Nothing was too much bother for them, always willing to attend to your every need. They helped to make our stay such a memorable one.

Staying at Gending Kedis was like living in your own private haven. We were very sad to leave. This was our first visit to Bali and I'm sure it will not be our last.

Angela Mc Laughlin & Family, Scotland

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annacollette1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotonthebeach, Owner at Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate, responded to this review, 7 September 2009
Dear TripAdvisor Member,
Following your Bali holiday at GK Resorts' 2 resorts, GENDING KEDIS and KANISHKA Villas, it was a great pleasure to read your 2 reviews. Thank you very much from all of us at 'GK Resorts' Bali.
It is wonderful that your 2 girls had so much fun every day in the pool in your 4-bedroom villa - we wonder if they can do the same in Scotland!
Our restaurant staff were delighted to hear that you all enjoyed your large poolside barbeque with your guests, and may I pass on to you their appreciation and excitement on listening to the skirl of the Bagpipes for the first time! Perhaps haggis next time you come to Bali?
From all our staff "Slaandjivaa!" from The Island of the Gods. Douglas Wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    120
    34
    13
    8
See reviews for
127
227
12
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
73 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2009

We just had 3 nights at Gending Kedis. We had 1 night in villa Munia and after a minor incident involving the friendly neighbourhood snake in our bedroom and my subsequent freak-out (as they did not locate the snake after i ran outside screaming), had the other 2 nights in villa Rangana. The resort is only approx 18 months old and is currently constructing a new lobby, gym, spa and pool. If you're in a villa near the front, you may be subject to a bit of construction noise during the day.

Munia was just amazing. It was very tastefully decorated with all the creature comforts of home, right down to the ipod loaded with thousands of tracks. The villa had an outdoor bathroom, with TWO showers and a jacuzzi. Downstairs is the second bedroom, an outdoor living room, entertainment area with a stove and the plunge pool (there is also another toilet and outdoor shower on the bottom level - the second bedroom also has an outdoor bathroom).

Villa Rangana is also a 2 bedroom villa, with a smaller kitchen/living/dining area. The plunge pool is downstairs, as is the 2nd bedroom, with the main bedroom upstairs.

The resort has free wi-fi and if you do not have a computer, they will loan you a their laptop. There is only 1 laptop, so the resort should consider putting in time limits on how long you can borrow these (i.e. 2 hour blocks etc) as one guest had it for 2 days, even though they were out and about during the day and were not using it.

The food at the restaurant was very good and very reasonably priced. You can either have breakfast at the restaurant or served in your villa. No buffet, instead you order from either american, continental or Indonesian breakfast, with a few choices from each category.

The villas are only a short drive to the Jimbaran seafood cafes. The butler/driver will take you there whenever you want. Anything further than the Jimbaran area they can call you a taxi. All staff there are very friendly and very helpful.

We also had a romantic pool-side dinner in our villa as part of our package. It was just amazing, with all the tealights and candles. The chef and your very own butler stays with you the whole entire night . I would strongly recommend everyone to experience this.

Treatments at spa are very good and very well priced. One suggestion i would like to make is for them to introduce a form for guests to fill in before treatments where you can list any allergies, areas you do not want to be touched, etc.

Another suggestion i have made is for them to put in place mosquito repellent in each villa. The property is sprayed for them daily, but as the villas are designed for open-plan living, it is inevitable you end up with mosquitos inside, which was our case and i was eaten alive.

Overall, we had a very memorable stay at Gending Kedis despite the snake incident. Apparently snakes there are not uncommon but also rare as they place sulphur around the properties to deter them. The duty manager tells me they've only had 3 reported sightings of snakes over the past 18 months of operation and all of them but ours were seen on the outside of the villa.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wendyyy2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotonthebeach, Owner at Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate, responded to this review, 15 August 2009
Dear TripAdvisor Member,
Many thanks for penning your review as well as completing our Guest Satisfaction survey, following your 3 nights at our GENDING KEDIS villas. We very much regret your experience with an unwelcome wildlife visitor in your villa; thank you for your good-humoured and broad-minded response!
We are very delighted to hear all your positive comments, especially that you enjoyed your spa treatments and romantic dinner.
Your suggestion to limit the time for using a laptop has been adopted, with a 3-hour period. And we are also looking at your helpful ideas for the MALKOHA Spa.
We appreciate your very positive review, and we hope to welcome you back to either GENDING KEDIS or the KANISHKA Villas at Seminyak!
Warm regards from 'The Island of the Gods'. Douglas Wallace.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2009

This was our first visit to Gending Kedis and the Kanishka Villas. We stayed for 5 nights in each location.

We were picked up after midnight by a smart resort mini-bus. Our plane had been delayed for 3 hours. What a relief to climb into the back of the cool mini-bus and be welcomed with a cold drink and a smile.

Our Gending Kedis (Bird Song in Balinese) villa was very private, clean, cool and welcoming – not overlooked at all. In fact, I didn't want to leave it for the first two days except for a couple of trips to the Spa for a massage – we had our sumptious meals delivered to the villa – pure luxury.

I loved my time there. I loved living at the top of the green forest canopy at Gending Kedis – breakfasting on Eggs Benedict in the treetop restaurant with the Balinese birdlife, vibrant and colourful. I loved doing my 'beached whale' impressions in the villa pool, private as pie. I loved how quiet it all was.

After our five days of deep-tissue relaxing at Gending Kedis we moved to a Kanishka Villa.

The Kanishka Villas are more 'in town' and are close to nightlife, restaurants etc. These generous 2-bedders are very Chic. Each with a large plunge-pool and lounging and dining area. An on-site kitchen can provide every meal or no meals delivered to the villa; each villa also has a fully kitted out kitchen. They do Eggs Benedict there as well :)

These villas are all very new and top-quality with soft furnishings and all the mod-cons to match. The service at the villas is what you might expect in a 5 star hotel – I can't recommend them highly enough. A real holiday break. We will definitely be coming back.

In summary, just one sentence. When I got home I realised that my house needed a full make-over.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gorilla-Bananas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotonthebeach, Owner at Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate, responded to this review, 10 July 2009
Dear TripAdvisor Member,
Thank you very much for writing with your assessments of GENDING KEDIS and KANISHKA. We are delighted that you enjoyed so much the natural surroundings at Jimbaran, your private pool, as well as the Eggs Benedict in the ALCEDO Restaurant. And thank you for your positive review after the second part of your vacation at our newly opened KANISHKA VILLAS in Seminyak. It is wonderful for our young staff to know that their desire to please has been appreciated! On behalf of them and myself, I look forward to welcoming you back to relax in the care of GK Resorts - where you can again have a 'proper' holiday. With our thanks and best wishes, Douglas Wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice Beach, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2009

I spent a portion of my honeymoon here last year and it was incredible. My husband and I had the romantic package with the one room villa and the Gending Kedis pulled out all the stops to make this the most amazing honeymoon imaginable.

The hotel is quietly tucked away and each villa is so private, at times it felt like we were the only ones at the hotel. Our one room villa actually had two bedrooms (a smaller one upstairs) with its own private pool which was a very nice touch. The staff were so attentive during our stay making sure that we had anything at all that we could possibly desire.

If you are going for a romantic getaway, I highly recommend getting the romance package. It came with so many things, the best of which were a two hour couples massage and a private 3-course dinner at your own pool. It really was the trip of a lifetime.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schavia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotonthebeach, Owner at Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate, responded to this review, 9 July 2009
Dear TripAdvisor Member,
Thank you very much for taking your time to write your review following your holiday last year when you were on your Honeymoon. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed an 'Amazing Honeymoon' at GENDING KEDIS in the one bedroom Prinia Villa. These villas are located in the most secluded and romantic location overlooking the tree-lined gorge. We are delighted to receive your comments that you loved the Romantic Dinner and massages in the Malkoha Spa. Just one suggestion - should you decide to celebrate your first Wedding Anniversary, the "Island of the Gods" will beckon you to return, and the warm hospitality of GK Resorts will surely take good care of you! Thank you again from all of us at GENDING KEDIS. Kind regards, Douglas Wallace.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayman Islands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2009

This really is a beautiful place. Very quiet and perfect if you are looking for a romantic hideway. We stayed in a two bedroom villa which had its own pool and jacuzzi. Villas have full kitchens and there are even wine fridges located around the bar area on the pool deck. The villa furnishings are modern and nicely kept. Staff are very attentive and pleasant. Hotel restaurant was a very nice place to relax, the food was just OK, not bad but not great either. One issue was the ant problem in the kitchen and bedroom, I realise that this is an issue in hot climates but the hotel should try some kind of solution as they really are quite bad.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hoisin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotonthebeach, Owner at Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate, responded to this review, 27 May 2009
Dear TripAdvisor Member,
Thank you very much for your review following your recent holiday at the unique 2-bedroom MUNIA villa at Gending Kedis, Jimbaran. We are delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed the atmosphere of a romantic hideaway, for which this particular villa is known. Your appreciation of the attentiveness of our resort staff has been passed on to them, which is a very real motivator, thank you for that! We have also taken note of your review on the food quality, which is helpful to us to improve. We are also paying greater attention to pest control to eradicate ants and other insects.
Thank you again for choosing GENDING KEDIS for your Bali holiday - all of us look forward to welcome you again soon.
Kind regards, Douglas Wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coulsdon
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2009

I agree with all the other reviewers who say what a truly beautiful set of villas this is.
The villas are close to perfection as is the location. The restaurant is excellent and , unlike several other 5 star resorts we stayed at whilst in Bali , the food is reasonably priced and very definitely value for money. Even the charges for the mini bar are not outrageous.

I heard about the building work and emailed the Gending Kedis about it last year and was told it would be completed by the time we got there. Unfortunately it wasn't , not that the work itself affected us.

The problem we had was lack of sun for sunbathing in the morning around our own pool. We tried three villas to no avail. This would not be a problem to people from a sunny country but did affect us coming from the UK.

We had the same problem with lack of sun around the plunge pool in two other resorts we stayed at in Bali but in both resorts we were able to grab a couple of hours morning sun by the main swimming pool. When Gending Kedis has completed their facilities I am certain there will not be a problem there either.

I also had a problem with the Internet. I was told I would have to pay to use their Wifi connection ($3 per hour?), which annoyed me as I was certain that I had read on their website that it was complimentary. I did agree to pay and was then able to show the manager that their site did say it was free. Needless to say I did not pay.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bettysdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotonthebeach, Owner at Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate, responded to this review, 27 May 2009
Dear TripAdvisor Member,
Many thanks for taking your valuable time to write your review following your Bali holiday. We at GENDING KEDIS are delighted that you enjoyed the beauty of the villas and the location of the resort. And also that you enjoyed the food quality and considered our pricing good value for money. Coming from the UK it is entirely understandable that you should be looking to enjoy uninterrupted sunshine at your poolside. The resort's 22 meter lagoon swimming pool will be completed very shortly, and all-day suntanning will be possible. We regret the misunderstanding concerning internet charges, and apologise for the inconvenience caused to you. Thank you again for deciding on GENDING KEDIS for your vacation, we value your custom and hope you will return to enjoy all our facilities in the future. With kindest regards, Douglas Wallace.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2009

We booked GK because we wanted a room with a private pool & from the photos we had seen we were quite impressed. Here's our take on the place:
Highs
i. the 'room' is huge. It's practically a small house. You have your own private entrance and go through another door before actually entering the very spacious living area. The highlight however is the main bedroom downstairs. Reached via a winding staircase, it faces the pool as well as an unbelievably amazing view of a dense rainforest. In the morning, you wake up to a host of bird songs & if you're lucky, you might even spot the bird which the resort is named after. It is a truly energizing experience. Design wise, the resort has adopted a contemporary asian aesthetic which is both tasteful & pleasant and some of the pieces of furniture have obviously been selected carefully and are exquisite. The room also has an ipod doc which seems to have become de rigeur these days.
ii. Room service food was quite good & reasonably priced.
iii. Located just five minutes away from Jimbaran beach, the resort provides complimentary shuttle service to the area as & when you want. This makes it extremely convenient for that must-have grilled-on-coconut husk seafood dinner. Bonus:The pick-up & drop off service is extremely punctual.
iv. It's no more than 20mins from & to the airport, so whether you're coming from very far away or very near by & can't wait to get your first massage, the resort is excellently located. On that note, the spa & masseuse are excellent. Beautiful rooms & wonderful massages!

Lows
i. Be forewarned that there is no proper reception area as the resort is still in the midst of completing construction. Upon arrival, this can be a fairly disconcerting experience especially if you had not been told. Currently the check-in procedures take place in a small make-shift room which might make you worry about what kind of resort you've paid for.
ii. Breakfast was completely underwhelming. The bread & pastries were dry and the OJ was unfortunately not from real oranges.
iii. Service overall was rather sketchy. Yes, people were nice, as you would expect in Bali but as a hotel, a lot of things were left to be desired. Just as an example, one evening, we were downstairs & heard noise upstairs. My partner went to check & realized that service staff had come into the room with absolutely no notice to us & were fumigating the room! Another time, someone had come to turn down the bed & yet had left all the dirty plates, cutlery & tray behind on the dining table. All this baffled us to no end.

Still, in spite of everything, we had a decent stay & would recommend this place to people. Hopefully, the service lapses we were subject to can be attributed to a bad coincidence and we hope that others will enjoy this place a little bit more than we did.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chocfudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jimbaran hotels
1.1 mi away
RIMBA Jimbaran BALI by AYANA
0.9 mi away
Le Meridien Bali Jimbaran
0.9 mi away
Kupu Kupu Jimbaran & Bamboo Spa by L'Occitane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Kayumanis Jimbaran Private Estate & Spa
1.2 mi away
AYANA Resort and Spa
AYANA Resort and Spa
#13 of 57 in Jimbaran
3,492 reviews
1.1 mi away
INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate

Property: Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate
Address: Jalan Karang Mas Sejahtera | 100Y, Jimbaran 80362, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Jimbaran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Jimbaran
#9 Family Hotel in Jimbaran
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Jimbaran
#13 Spa Hotel in Jimbaran
#16 Luxury Hotel in Jimbaran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gending Kedis at Jimbaran Bay is a collection of 1, 2, 3 and 4-bedroom luxury villas each with its own private pool villa. The resort is located within 15 minutes from the Bali airport and just 2 minutes drive to the white sands of Jimbaran beach.The resort has full services and amenities including the Alcedo Restaurant and bar lounge, room service and 2 function rooms. The Malkoha Spa offers a full range of body treatments and the Rudy Hadisuwarno Salon offers hair styling for ladies and gents. A fully equipped spacious gym and a 22 meter swimming pool complete the facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gending Kedis Villas And Spa Estate
Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate Hotel Jimbaran
Gending Kedis Hotel Estate
Gending Kedis Resort Estate
Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate Bali/Jimbaran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing