We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great villas for business meetings in Bali”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate
Ranked #17 of 58 Hotels in Jimbaran
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2011

Recently, our team and I visited Bali and stayed for two nights at Gending Kedis where we also had a company meeting. We had a tight schedule that day so that we checked in at Gending Kedis after 10pm., not having dinner yet, a minor mishap as the restaurant we'd intended to go was closed already. Fortunately, the kitchen at Gending Kedis is open until late and dinner was readily served.
Food & Beverage was great and service was fast. The restaurant, Alcedo, is charming, très agréable.

The Oval Room, where we had the meeting was nicely set up, equipped with audio visual support, an LCD screen and projector. It has a warm ambience, looks exactly like the picture in their website and very quiet, across from the Alcedo restaurant.
I would also say that the staff took good care of our details and requests.

On the other occasion, we also found the staff friendly and helpful, that night we had to urgently get some help from the IT manager, since we had to recap the agenda for the next day and they were very responsive.

We stayed at a 4-bedroom villa; there is one bedroom, the master bedroom on the first floor, which is superb, and the living room, which is airy and cosy with a big plasma TV and a JBL speaker for iPOD. It is obvious that the interior design and materials used have been very carefully planned, and it really is luxurious.

The kitchen, the private bar and dining room are downstairs at the same level as the two other bedrooms which open directly to the pool, lovely concept for a group of friends to have a swim or some drinks around the bar or dining table or maybe on the sundeck. The other room is one level below, a bit bigger and very quiet.

Our room was facing the gorge and green foliage, cool and breezy morning was great for us to have a quick swim, or just relax by the private pool. We understood why the resort is named “Birdsong’ when a variety of different tropical birds could be seen and heard in the ravine.

A large lagoon swimming pool is also available for resort guests, located next to the restaurant.

The venue is only a couple of minutes driving from the famous Jimbaran beach where we had dinner on the sandy beach café, one of many restaurants along the beach offering great seafood.

It was a great stay for our group. Thank you Management.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoLienheaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotonthebeach, Owner at Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2011

Dear Tripadvisor Member,
Following your recent company retreat at GENDING KEDIS it was most pleasing to learn that your event was a big success. Thank you very much for writing your review and mentioning that the arrangements went according to plan and that the Oval Room worked well for your important meetings.
We note that you previously stayed with us some time ago and we are delighted to have been able to welcome you back together with your work colleagues. And it is certainly nice that you all enjoyed some relaxing leisure period in between your more serious work sessions, at the pool and at the popular Jimbaran seafood cafes. Should you have any company contacts who are considering Bali as a venue for their small corporate meetings, we should be more than happy to assist, the Oval Room and the smaller Boardroom are both ideal meeting facilities. Thank you once again for your continued business, from all our team at GK Resorts, Bali. With warm regards, Douglas Wallace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (526)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

381 - 387 of 527 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2011

Our expectation about gending kedis fell short straight after we land in bali. Pick up will not be there for approx 15 minutes for our scheduled arrival time. We landed 10 minutes behind schedule with extra time to collect luggages and found our pick up wasn't there yet. It finally came after 10 minutes and no apologies or explanation whatsoever from the driver. Check-in was smooth but rather uncomfortable due to bali heat and no air conditioning on their lobby. Rooms were adequate with very small pool. Found that the living room was infested by ants behind couch then there's frog that got into the room (with the sliding doors closed). Staff acted promptly but the first night got really interesting when there's a rat that suddenly walked across the living room whilst we were watching tv. Tried to ask for a room change but staff told us that they can only do it in the morning (2 reason: no clean room and no authority from management). Tried to hold on for the night and stayed in the room. Want to try the room service but being told that the kitchen already closed for the night, made enquiry that it supposed to be 24 hours? replied that due to a LARGE tour group that stayed there, they have to re-do their roster to accommodate those groups. In the morning, the duty manager (which only available during office hours) approached and apologised for the matter, and she told us that yes, the room were infested by rats (based on the reports last night) and we had to move to another villa. Looked at the villa, really nice but too much spider webs everywhere and still no in-villa dining. Such a terrible experience at this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank commeca_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotonthebeach, Owner at Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2011

Dear Tripadvisor Member,
Thank you for taking the time to write 2 reviews following your stay at GENDING KEDIS, from Melbourne, Australia, and from Surabaya, Indonesia. We have noted your comments relating to ants and frogs and we are very sorry to hear that this was so upsetting to you. We note that as Indonesians you are most likely aware that Bali is a tropical island with a wealth of wildlife. We do apologize that our all-night food service was indeed not available during your stay in our resort. Thank you again for your valuable review.
With best regards, Douglas Wallace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2011

We stayed at GK for 6 nights of our honeymoon. It is a nice place and has a lot going for it - staff are friendly, breakfasts and restaurant are great (the restaurant do the best pancakes in Bali in our opinion!), shuttle on demand is excellent for getting around, the rooms are well appointed (including a nice lounge room and big tv), it has a nicely equipped gym and the grounds are very pretty. GK also made up the room with flowers for our honeymoon which was a very nice gesture!

Having read all of the fantastic reviews on this site there were a few things which were a bit surprising though and we think could definitely be improved:

+ The website descibes GK as having "breathtaking views over a steep wooded ravine with luxuriant green vegetation". We didn't see any breathtaking views (whether from our villa or any of the communal areas) while we were at GK.

+ We stayed in Prinia 1 which is a one bdr villa right at the bottom of the hill that GK sits on. The lounge, bedroom and bathroom are all very spacious and nicely furnished but as the villa is at the bottom of the hill it is actually quite dark and smells a bit damp. The bedroom had mildew on the ceiling and the creek bed just below the villa had some rubbish in it. It is a nice villa but as the pool area is also a bit cramped and dark we didn't end up using the pool that much. All of the glowing reviews we have read refer to room upgrades and people who have stayed in 2bdr plus villas so maybe it is just a matter of avoiding the Prinia rooms but we definitely found this disappointing and didn't really get much sympathy when we raised it with management!

+ The reception staff are very friendly and happy to help but the check in process and the front desk in general was a bit chaotic (needed more than one person on the desk to answer phones, check people in and handle guest enquiries) and we didn't feel like there were really any suggestions on what to do while in Jimbaran (or any familiarity with places that we asked them about). Douglas is the man to talk to about this stuff (and gave us some excellent suggestions over breakfast) but it wouldn't go astray to have some of these things in the guest information book and for the other staff to experience some of these places themselves so they can impart some first-hand knowledge.

+ There seems to be some confusion on this site about whether GK has a 'beach area'. It doesn't have a beach area. We found this absolutely fine (and understandable given that GK is a 5 min drive from the beach) but the staff weren't equipped with any knowledge about where to find a deck chair for hire!

Overall we did have very big expectations (particularly because we were staying so long, were on our honeymoon and had heard such great things) so we're probably being a bit harsh but there are some areas for improvement!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank robfmob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotonthebeach, Owner at Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2011

Dear Tripadvisor Member,
Many thanks for writing your detailed review following your recent Honeymoon at GENDING KEDIS. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast pancakes and your overall very positive assessment of our services and amenities. As you have pointed out there are many interesting places to visit and things to do in the Jimbaran area, and our guest service staff are always encouraged to assist our guests with helpful information and any assistance required. We hope that you will have happy memories of your Bali Honeymoon, and that you will consider a return trip in the future.
Greetings from all our staff! Kind regards, Douglas Wallace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2011

After debating for many days and browsing most of the deserving hotels in Bali, we carefully decided to book GK and we could not have chosen better.
We spent 8 nights at the Gending Kedis Resort at the beginning of January. Although we booked a 2 bedroom villa, on arrival we were upgraded to a 3 bedroom villa (named Cherida 4), which had many advantages, among which I will mention the one we liked most: the pool was huge.
For us, the location was fantastic: complete seclusion, villa facing the tropical forest with amazing view (and no mosquitoes whatsoever – I think the staff takes care by fumigating the rooms), birds singing in the morning and the mysterious sounds of the jungle at dawn. We had a lovely and perfect stay: big, private, sunny pool which was cleaned every day, 24 h room service, fruit plate constantly replenished, extremely helpful and supportive staff with everything we needed, complimentary shuttle service to Jimbaran Bay and beach, massage by the pool.
One downside I can think about - breakfast was a bit dull (although plentiful) and could use more variety. Another issue - the jacuzzi bath had a leak and could not be used, but it was of no consequence. As a suggestion - introducing free shuttle to/from the airport would be a nice courtesy towards the guests.
We also traveled a lot around the island. The location of the resort is great, no matter if you want to see the island landmarks or you just wish to sunbathe on the shore of the ocean (swimming in the ocean is better in the afternoon, when the waves are not so dangerous as in the morning). Just a tip regarding the distances and the fact that the roads have narrow lanes: for example, one needs 1,5 hours to get to Ubud.
Many thanks to Mrs. Suzie and Mr. Bayu for their permanent support and warm smile !
Although our home is very far away and we changed 3 flights to get there, we look forward to return soon !

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Little_Moose_67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotonthebeach, Owner at Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2011

Dear Tripadvisor Member,
Thank you very much for your review after your holiday at GENDING KEDIS in January. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the larger 3-bedroom Cherida villa and especially that you took advantage of the larger swimming pool. Thank you for your lucid description of the location of the villa, facing the tropical forest which is very lush after the high rainfall, and the lively birdsong in the mornings - did you know that GENDING KEDIS is the Balinese language for 'Birdsong'?
Your very gracious remarks have been advised to our guest service manager and staff, and the response is "When are these kind guests returning?"
We certainly hope that despite a rather long journey from Bucharest, you will come back to Bali and GK Resorts in the near future.
With best wishes from all our team, Douglas Wallace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2011

Supposed to be i'm staying at this hotel for 3 nights.... Booked a two bedroom villa... After check in they sent us to our room.. and i found out there's so many ants in the wall of living room.
And then the problem keep coming.... a frog in the bedroom! and that's the big frog, not the small one... and after that, i saw a RAT running in the living room while i'm standing there! OMG i can't believe that!
and the most dissapointing thing is at 11pm i want to order a room service. they said the kitchen already closed. because of a group and they changed the rooster for kitchen without prior notice to other guest?
that's really dissapointing. I Would not recommend this hotel...

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nogenmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotonthebeach, Owner at Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2011

Dear Tripadvisor Member,
Thank you for taking the time to write 2 reviews following your stay at GENDING KEDIS, from Melbourne, Australia, and from Surabaya, Indonesia. We have noted your comments relating to ants and frogs and we are very sorry to hear that this was so upsetting to you. We note that as Indonesians you are most likely aware that Bali is a tropical island with a wealth of wildlife. We do apologize that our all-night food service was indeed not available during your stay in our resort. Thank you again for your valuable review.
With best regards, Douglas Wallace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2011

I stayed in Gending Kedis for 2 nights for my honeymoon. This is actually the second hotel of my 5 nights stay in Bali.. I must say, I was pleasantly surprised by everything in the hotel - from the service, the friendly and reliable staff, great food, everything!!!
I arrived on 9th December 2010 and upon check-in, discovered that the management was generous enough to upgrade me to a 3-bedroom villa (i booked a 1-bedroom villa). Imagine 2 honeymooners in a villa big enough for the entire family!!
After we were brought to the villa, i was again surprised by the sweet gesture of the hotel - they had set up the bedroom with flowers and also prepared a rose petal bath for me and my hubby!! That was truly awesome, they really went out of their way to ensure that every detail is looked into.. The private pool was heavenly, my hubby dived right in after checking out the place. In addition, when i called the reception to ask if they had a business centre where i cud use a computer, they once again went out of their way to lend us a laptop, so that we could enjoy surfing the net in our villa... I also ordered room service, and for both nights i had the prawn pizza which was very very delectable. (and its cheap too- we had pizza, tom yam soup and spring rolls for approx SGD50) The villa was very very clean (very important for me) and they also sent staff to clean the villa every morning and evening.
On the secind day of my stay, after i came back tired from shopping, i was once again surprised to find chiffon cakes in my villa... the hotel was very sweet to go the extra mile to make my day! I actually cried on the day I had to check out, as i know i will miss the place and the service rendered. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who plans to go to bali, be it for romance, or with family. U will never regret it, its worth every dollar spent!!!!! Bali is a beautiful place, but staying with GK was definitely the highlight of my honeymoon, and i look forward to another stay there again... Thank you GK!! My honeymoon was a beautiful success thanks to everyone there.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElleZulkarnain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotonthebeach, Owner at Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2011

Dear Tripadvisor Member,
Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts following your Honeymoon at GENDING KEDIS very recently, and for your time spent writing your review on Tripadvisor.
We are delighted to hear that you liked the larger villa and the swimming pool during your stay. Most important, that your Honeymoon was a great success, is wonderful for us to know. All our staff join me in wishing you and your hubby much happiness in the years ahead. Perhaps on your future Anniversary you may think of a return visit to Bali, when we would assure you of a warm welcome!
Kindest wishes from 'The Island of the Gods'. Douglas Wallace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2010

UNDER PROMISED / OVER DELIVERED

We have just had a delightful stay at Kanishka Villas (Seminyak) and Gending Kedis ( Jimbaran Bay) package - 2 nights at each.

The Villas are owned and operated by one of Indonesia’s most respected designers and an Internationally experienced resort and Hotels team, and it shows :-)
- Hide quoted text -


Both properties combine a clever balance of Balinese tranquility in modern contemporary environs. The service level at both properties is seamless including the amazing Butler Service - Dial 0. They even provide a laptop service to the room if you have to combine work and pleasure.

The food was great also - Asian Fusion - Enak Sekali / Delicious and oh so affordable! Oh, and did I mention that all Villas have pools.

From Melbourne, we work and travel extensively thru the Asian region for both work and pleasure and these properties are a standout if you are looking for a special visit at a value price - ENJOY!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blackie255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotonthebeach, Owner at Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2010

Dear Tripadvisor Member,
Firstly, thank you for choosing to stay at both our Bali resorts for your recent visit. We are very happy to learn that you found both KANISHKA VILLAS, Seminyak, and GENDING KEDIS, Jimbaran satisfactory in terms of design and service. Pleased to hear that the laptop was useful for you to keep up with demands of work even whilst on vacation!
Thank you for taking time to write your impressions of GK Resorts, and please consider a return visit when we assure you of a very warm welcome back!
From all our team in Seminyak and Jimbaran, warm wishes, Douglas Wallace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jimbaran hotels
1.1 mi away
RIMBA Jimbaran BALI by AYANA
0.9 mi away
Le Meridien Bali Jimbaran
1.7 mi away
The Open House
The Open House
#6 of 58 in Jimbaran
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Kupu Kupu Jimbaran & Bamboo Spa by L'Occitane
1.2 mi away
AYANA Resort and Spa
AYANA Resort and Spa
#13 of 58 in Jimbaran
3,704 reviews
1.1 mi away
INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate

Address: Jalan Karang Mas Sejahtera | 100y, Jimbaran 80362, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Jimbaran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Jimbaran
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Jimbaran
#9 Family Hotel in Jimbaran
#14 Spa Hotel in Jimbaran
#16 Luxury Hotel in Jimbaran
Price Range: £100 - £356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gending Kedis at Jimbaran Bay is a collection of 1, 2, 3 and 4-bedroom luxury villas each with its own private pool villa. The resort is located within 15 minutes from the Bali airport and just 2 minutes drive to the white sands of Jimbaran beach.The resort has full services and amenities including the Alcedo Restaurant and bar lounge, room service and 2 function rooms. The Malkoha Spa offers a full range of body treatments and the Rudy Hadisuwarno Salon offers hair styling for ladies and gents. A fully equipped spacious gym and a 22 meter swimming pool complete the facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gending Kedis Villas And Spa Estate
Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate Hotel Jimbaran
Gending Kedis Hotel Estate
Gending Kedis Resort Estate
Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate Bali/Jimbaran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing