We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Flower Bud Bungalows Balangan
Ranked #27 of 60 Hotels in Jimbaran
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 January 2012

I recently returned from my second stay at Flower Bud. I love, love, love this place. I almost don't want to rave too much because I like that it's still relatively unknown. The first visit was at the beginning of October. I went alone and stayed at Flower Bud 2. At first I was disappointed because it is separate from Flower Bud1. 1 has the pool and the proper (very cheap) restaurant, and is about 500ms closer to the beach, 2 has smaller bungalows and is just for couples or solo visitors. Yet if next time I go alone I would request this as it was quieter, so no pesky, over-indulged kids screaming about the place at 7am. And the little design faults have been addressed at this newer site, so overall the bungalows are better. My second visit I went with my friend so we stayed at FB1. It was lovely, and the service was excellent, super-friendly and helpful; except for one truly awful man working there, he was consistently rude to me on both my visits. It was nice having the pool right there, but all the other people were families; most kept their children politely quiet (the Europeans & Americans), but some seemed to think that because they'd paid their money they could just let their kids run riot (Sth Africans & Australians)...I'm a school teacher, so this was not really ideal on my down time. My stays here are always first and foremost about surfing, which is fantastic, uncrowded and has a friendly feel to it...none of the aggression I'm used to here in Sydney! Plus the little beach cafes that dot the place are gorgeous, cheap and friendly. Nothing like a cold Bintang after a 3-hr surf! On-site masseuses are just one more luxury! I would go back in a heart beat.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (357)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

171 - 177 of 357 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2012

We stayed recently stayed 3 nights in Flower Bud Bungalows.
The bungalows were cute but we found the service really let us down. They did not pick us up from the airport after emailing a transfer request through which was a stress, we then arrived at 10pm and the resort was dead to the world. They then put us in a bungalow only to be moved to another bungalow as it was the wrong one the next morning. A bit frustrating!
The staff were not helpful at all with directions or information. It was like the staff did not care at al. For first timers in Bali this was disappointing.
We also found the location very average. Close to the beach but the surrounding areas are filthy.
A positive was the bungalows and the grounds which were very nice and clean. There was only cold water and the rooms are open to lots of mosquitoes but besides that they are a nice and relaxing place to spend a few days.
A nice place to stay if you really like quiet but it was probably a bit too quiet for us. There was literally nothing going on around the location. Even the bar/ restaurant at the resort was closed up by about 9pm. Overall cute bungalows but be prepared to be in bed by 10pm or you will need to travel out of town.

Room Tip: Flowerbud 1 is definitely in a better location than Flowerbud 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnandcandice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

To reaffirm, there are dim electrical lights in the room, no hot water shower, no a/c but fans and a very nice pool. There were some mozzies and insects in the green environment. Our expectations were met. :) There is a small safe in the room. It was clean and service was good.

We stayed in Sandat at Flowerbud 1 and it was near to the swimming pool. This worked out very well with my 2 young boys, both below 6yo. The gardens are gorgeous and the breakfasts are adequate. The walk to Balangan beach is less than 5 minutes. We would return to the same lodging to experience Balangan again.

If the staff is reading this, Thank you for all the smiles and care. Please keep it up.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LLY1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We were happy with Flower Bud Bungalows. On the whole they are cute, economical and quiet. The bungalows are bamboo and wood, open to the outside through many vents and windows. The mosquito nets over the beds worked well. We did not get any bites. The grounds and pool are small and charming and right next to the Balangan Beach Road (which you can walk down for 5 minutes and access Balangan Beach, a rocky but clean bit of coast.) The little swath of land that the hotel sits on is backed by the kampung/village and you can hear roosters crowing and children chatting just a few meters from your bed.

We hired a car to take us the 30 minutes to the airport end of Jimbaran Beach. We were shocked to see rubbish piled 6 inches deep and 12 feet wide all along the beach. It was HORRIBLE. Huge amounts of trash floated in the water and we could not swim. However, we met some other folks who stayed on the other side of Jimbaran Beach the day before and they said the beach was clean and nice. Guess we had bad luck. Our fish lunch at Jimbaran cost 500,000 Rp for two kids and two adults. Expensive!

Room Tip: The bungalows that face the pool look like the best choice. Bring a flashlight so you can read in b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coolinbandung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

We had a wonderful stay at Flower Bud One -- relaxing, lovely little bungalows, pool, pretty grounds -- and really excellent restaurant. Just make sure to book at Flower Bud 1, as there's a Flower Bud 2 a block away owned by another family member. That one is under construction, no pool, not as charming. The staff at Flower Bud 1 is wonderfully helpful, value is excellent, loved it!! Five minute walk from the beach and surfing, transport available to temple, Balinese dance, whatever you need...

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cm4500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

We had a quarduple bungalow and visit the place in november 2011. The bungalow is clean and looks very nice. There are just cold water. Breakfasts are quite good, and big- as for Indonesia. Nice bathroom (outside the rooms). LOVELY terrace and garden. Minus: the nearest beach is really terrible :(

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malgorzata G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We stayed in the thatched huts in August September 2011. Very natural and sooo peaceful. Two story thatched huts with an outdoor bathroom all very clean.The balcony has a day bed to relax on and a set of table and chairs, beatiful gardens as a view from the day bed. Restuarant has nice food and cheap cheap. Our 3 year old son enjoyed the pool which is a great size for the 8 huts in the accomadation. Away from the hussle and bussle of Bali (kuta).
Only a short 5 minute work down to the bech (hill is quite steep).Balangan beach is beautiful to walk along, low tide take a walk and you will find fish and crabs in the rock pools. The beach also has warungs that you can have Breakfast lunch and dinner.
Bike is the best way to get around Balangan or Dreamland only about $5 a day. Drivers are available but they do have set prices.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watra, Owner at Flower Bud Bungalows Balangan, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2011

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, we certainly look forward to your return, during your next holiday here in Bali, thank you, have a good day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jimbaran hotels
1.9 mi away
Abi Bali Resort & Villa
Abi Bali Resort & Villa
#26 of 60 in Jimbaran
404 reviews
4.7 mi away
Alindra Villa
Alindra Villa
#15 of 60 in Jimbaran
349 reviews
4.1 mi away
Kila Infinity8 Bali
Kila Infinity8 Bali
#28 of 60 in Jimbaran
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Open House
The Open House
#7 of 60 in Jimbaran
508 reviews
3.1 mi away
BALQUISSE Heritage Hotel
BALQUISSE Heritage Hotel
#14 of 60 in Jimbaran
513 reviews
4.1 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Bali
Watermark Hotel & Spa Bali
#2 of 4 in Kedonganan
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flower Bud Bungalows Balangan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flower Bud Bungalows Balangan

Address: Balangan Beach Street, Jimbaran 80364, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Jimbaran
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Jimbaran
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Jimbaran
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Jimbaran
#22 Spa Hotel in Jimbaran
Price Range: £30 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Flower Bud Bungalows Balangan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic rustic Balinese traditional beach bungalows close to Balangan Beach Our Bungalows built with mostly natural bamboo, wood and natural stones. Restaurant, Sharing pool, Spa and massage, tour service, rental bike/scooters and car. See you there...!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Flower Bud Bungalows Balangan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flower Bud Bungalows Balangan Hotel Jimbaran
Flower Bud Bungalows Balangan Bali/Jimbaran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing