We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Longhouse, Jimbaran-Bali
Ranked #13 of 115 Speciality Lodging in Jimbaran
Yeppoon, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Unbelievable Stay”
Reviewed 29 March 2013 via mobile

We are on our last night at The Longhouse after spending 5 days with our lovely friends. We are a party of 12 and most of us had never been to Bali before. On arrival at the airport we were met by our wonderful driver Eko who drove us safety around each day. what a lovely patient man ! When we arrived we were greeted with huge smiles by Ayu and Happy and Rudy. Ayu and Happy will be fondly remembered when we leave here for the huge smiles, abliging and generous nature. There were many highlights but the BBQ night that was set up for our friends 50th birthday was amazing complete with fireworks ! The meals each day were outstanding thanks must go to the kitchen staff. The ladies in the day spa were very professional and well worth the visit. Our rooms were simply outstanding....we have stayed in hotels in Vietnam & Thailand and this will rate as the best value for money. We hope to return.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank julesinaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
5
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We stayed at The Longhouse from 21-24 March 2013. Consisting of family and friends, we were a group of 11 who gathered to celebrate my birthday and to rest! I have been coming to Bali 3-4 times a year since 1987 and I can honestly say that this was one of the more memorable trips - in terms of accommodation, service and experience.

The Longhouse is beautifully appointed, thoughtfully planned and more than amply supported by a very professional team of service staff. Kudos to the 2 female butlers, Ayu and Happy, as well as the 2 chefs who really bent over backwards to make our stay special. The villa manager, Pak Ruddy, was unobtrusive but it was evident that he had a hand in maintaining a very tightly run ship.

Highlights of our stay which must be mentioned - the stunning view especially from the swimming pool and the living area, the beautifully appointed bedrooms, the on-tap spa services, the excellent meals and most of all, the planning and execution of a wonderful birthday BBQ dinner for me. Definitely a place to return to!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AFster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Big birthday celebrations with girlfriends so house was suitable I do agree with other reviewer that the house does have a damp smell in some areas and a bit far in regards to travel and certainly not able to walk anywhere from the house, but suitable for anyone who does not want to be in Kuta area.
Best part for me was chilling by the pool and luckily the weather was reasonable for our trip, just wished the doors to the bedrooms had sliding screens so that the rooms could be open for some fresh air.
Staff where very helpful breakfast was fantastic even the seafood BBQ was superb local snapper and the calamari was a plentiful.
Van and driver a must we where 12 in total so had to arrange a second car the other driver was by no means friendly Ecko the house driver was great.
To Heppy and Areu Terima kasih banyak

Room Tip: Main bedroom which is upstairs is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne1031Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We stayed in The Longhouse for one week the last week of the year 2012. We were with 8 adults and 4 children. The best part of the house is the swimming pool!The location is nice but far away from Kuta etc. As the building on the road continues it might take you 1 1/2hr to go to other places from Jimbaran. To be honest we were disappointed upon arrival. The best night was New years Eve when we ate downstairs in the garden and the fire works at night. The staff had made a real effort to make it a party. The house is very dark and at night time there is hardly any lighting in the living area to do any reading etc. The movie room might look very nice on the website however the room is smelly and damp. Our kids were excited the first 5 minutes and than complained they could hardly breathe in there. I suggest they put a dehumidifier in there at all times. The cleanliness of the villa has to be questioned. Underneath our bed there was so much dust and gekko droppings which is very unhygienic. If you see they don't really clean they just go around furniture. The cleaning staff is also questionable as when I walked in to my room I saw the cleaner holding some photographs from me that were at my desk and he was going through them. Needless to say I was not amused. The laundry is not good at all, they ruined two very good dresses of mine and besides that the laundry smells horrible. Sigarette smoke and musty. My bed linnen had lots of tears at all times and stank so much that I had to spray perfume on the sheets. Often I didn't get new towels or new toilet rolls. The food is very good but only at night time when the chef is there in the morning they should instruct their cook not to smoke in the kitchen. There is a lot to be desired in this area. The manager was often not "on site" and this is I think the pitfall of this place. The staff do their own thing and there fore are deprived of instruction. The staff is friendly hence a bit too over familiar in my opinion.
This villa is not suitable for children due to safety. The pictures and the text on the website might make you think that the high price is acceptable unfortunately this is in my opinion not true. The rates do not make up for the service & cleanliness you get. As I am from the hotel business my hands are itching this villa could do so much better in many area's.

Room Tip: The big room upstairs with the own private swimmingpool smelled the least probably cause this one is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jumans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
l1nda1, Owner at The Longhouse, Jimbaran-Bali, responded to this review, 12 January 2013
Dear Jumans,
It was our pleasure to welcome you and your family to the Longhouse. Our 16 staff members take great pride in giving their very best efforts to ensure that all of our guests have a wonderful stay. Your father and stepmother booked our villa for a family treat over the New Year period. We are so very sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your stay and we sincerely hope that your opinion was not shared by the rest of your group.

We always take any criticism that we receive in a positive way in order to constantly improve our service, however, since you have chosen to make some very negative comments in a public forum we feel the need to respond to some of the key issues you raised.

1. Our staff does not smoke in the kitchen nor in any area that would affect the guests in the villa. We do use the kitchen every morning to assemble our canang floral offering baskets which are placed throughout the villa including the kitchen. This is a Balinese tradition. Each basket contains a stick of incense and we believe it is this that you mistook for cigarette smoke. We are sorry if we did not clarify this at the time.

2. Our hardworking villa manager is on site 99% of the time when guest are resident unless villa business requires him to go out. He only goes home to sleep. Ruddy enjoyed chatting with your step mother on many occasions and gave her many suggestions for the day trips you took which she seemed to be very happy with. In each room we have list of 16 things to do and see within 15-20 minutes of the Longhouse, so although it is fun to see other areas of the island, it is not necessary for guests who do not wish to spend too much time in the car to do so.

3. It was Ruddy, our villa manager, who orchestrated the New Year's eve alfresco dinner party complete with Balinese decorations, handmade by our staff and fireworks to entertain you as well as the usual New Years Eve trumpets.. You may not be aware, but all of this was done complimentary and with our very warmest wishes for a wonderful new year for you and your family.

4. Our staff happily looked after the children when you went out with other group members. If you really thought that our villa was unsafe, we don’t think that you would have felt comfortable leaving them. Our staff enjoyed getting to know your children and we hope they enjoyed spending time with our staff. Most parents who come with young children say that the Longhouse was a great family holiday since they were able to relax knowing that their kids were having a great time safely as well.

5. Cleanliness and a sweet smelling villa is a priority for us. Rooms are cleaned twice a day. We find it surprising to hear that you had torn sheets especially since we recently renewed our sheets and towels and yours were changed once at day at your request, but if you had pointed this out to the staff they would have corrected this error in a flash. We have notified our housekeeping staff to increase their vigilance.

6. Lastly, from almost every room in the Longhouse you will experience soaring views of the rest of Bali island. We have 8 meter high ceilings on the upper level and ceilings just under 3 meters in the rooms below. The Longhouse is 1229.5 square meters and has been described as “a masterpiece of tropical design” We were featured on the cover of Popo Danes’s book on architecture. Our villa has earned many other accolades. We really do not understand your description of “dark and claustrophobic”. (?)

These were the major points that we felt we must address but will be happy to come back in more detail if anyone has any further queries about the issues raised.

We wish you a lovely 2013 and hope that in the New Year you will find peace and happiness. If in the future you decide to give Bali and the Longhouse another chance we will welcome you with an open heart.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

This review is well overdue as we stayed here in April 2012. My family got together for our parents joint 60th celebrations and whilst I was a bit concerned about staying here with the entire family it was ill-founded.

The layout of the villa is over three storeys and has so many rooms, areas and space that there is plenty of privacy to be found.

We arrived over 3 different flights and the drivers all picked us up and delivered us to the villa without any issues. We were all so impressed from the moment we arrived to our reluctant departure.

I can’t add much to what is already here but it was simply an amazing stay and I would recommend it to anyone!

The facilities are first class and the equal of any 5 star hotel or resort in Bali. The staff give personalised attention and service. We had some young children as part of the group including a 1 year old. Whenever he got whingey the staff would take him for a walk and feed the fish or play with him for hours. Giving my sister and her husband a very good break.

On our final night we organised a birthday party in the gardens. The staff moved everything to the garden, set up beautiful candles in the garden and provided us with a veritable feast of fresh seafood and the finest steaks. All staff (day and night shifts) were on hand and they gave us a fireworks show that lasted for 5-6 minutes and was spectacular especially with the breathtaking views that the villa has over all of Bali.

Whether it was the evening sunsets over Bali, watching kites from the beach, planes landing and taking off – it was so relaxing and peaceful.

Amazing people who made the holiday amazing!!!

Room Tip: Every room in this villa is superb - each with its own unique features
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012

This is a great spot if you want to relax and enjoy the local surroundings and culture.... I am yet to experience "bad service" at a villa in Bali but the Longhouse staff are second to none and truly made our holiday. My wife and I stayed by ourselves for 3 nights as part of our honeymoon before going to Amanusa for 2 nights. At the end of our stay, I mentioned to Ruddy the villa manager our plans, it came out that he had previously worked at Amanwana in Bali and this is the level of service you can expect from his staff at the Longhouse.. unintrusive, friendly, attentive and at every level go the extra step to make your stay special. The food is excellent, my wife asked the chef how he prepared one of the local dishes and the next day he offered to take us to the various markets and give us a cookery class which we did, now while Im sure you can arrange these kind of activities pretty much anywhere in Bali, the manner in which this was done was impressive, done at a seconds notice and just keen for us to enjoy our stay and when I tried to pay for the class I was point blank refused.. "please tell your friends to come next time." Same story for going to the beach, visiting a local temple, organised instantly with a very friendly driver... you do what you feel like doing without having to organise a thing.. and for me that equals holiday. As for the villa.. its all modern, comfortable, tastefully furnished and as appears on their website.. but the longhouse is all about the extras a website doesnt show

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coolum Beach, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

We visited the Longhouse in September 2012 with 4 families (8 adults, 4 children). The longhouse is more than you could expect from the imagery and description on the website. The staff are amazing, caring, attentive and thoughtful. The food is absolutely delicious and cheap cheap cheap if you get the staff to purchase and cook local cuisine. The accommodation is spacious, luxurious and super comfortable. The ammenities are top class - we had a revolving door into the day spa with each getting a plethora of facials, massage, manicures and pedicures! The infinity lap pool that over looks a sensational view of mainland Bali is breathtaking and encourages you to laze throughout the day and watch the world go by in the peace and tranquility of the Longhouse. We loved our stay and look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BriandChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jimbaran hotels
1.8 mi away
The Sintesa Jimbaran
The Sintesa Jimbaran
#11 of 57 in Jimbaran
284 reviews
2.3 mi away
Kayumanis Jimbaran Private Estate & Spa
1.9 mi away
Movenpick Resort & Spa Jimbaran Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Astari - Villa and Residence
0.8 mi away
Villa Hening Boutique Hotel & Spa Jimbaran Bali
2.1 mi away
INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Longhouse, Jimbaran-Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Longhouse, Jimbaran-Bali

Property: The Longhouse, Jimbaran-Bali
Address: Tiara Nusa, Goa Gong Road, Jimbaran, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Jimbaran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 115 Speciality Lodging in Jimbaran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
6 Bedroom Luxury Villa with incredible view and 16 amazing friendly staff including car and driver, in house activities, 2 chefs, villa manager, butlers, housekeeping etc. Rooms are themed after Indonesian Islands. Excellent food and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The Longhouse, Jimbaran-Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longhouse Bali Hotel Jimbaran
The Longhouse, Jimbaran-Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing