We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best family holiday "ever"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Longhouse, Jimbaran-Bali
Ranked #13 of 116 Speciality Lodging in Jimbaran
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed at the longhouse in early January. Based on the photos and the trip advisor feedback I had very high expectations. When we arrived the Longhouse it was even better than the pictures. The staff were amazing, the chef was amazing, the pool and rooms were all amazing. I invited my adult children and thier partners for this holiday (Dad and Mum paid) , it was so good that none of the "kids 24-30" went out for even one night. They all enjoyed just hanging around the pool, eating, drinking cocktails and enloying the view. If you are considering a family get way, a reunion for old friends this is the place to go. We tested the chef and staff every day with strange requests, they hit the mark every time. We tested the driver Ecko with strange requests for places to go and not only did he get us there safely he was able to find us the best places to eat and to look at. Happy and Ayu provide the tag team service that looks after your every need. On our last day we had a family vote and with 100% support we have decided to book again for next year. It was so good that the "kids" have decided that they will pay for themselves. :-) Linda the owner was a fantastic host. Looking forward to 2015.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are spectacular. The two main rooms are huge, two medium sized (large) rooms and tw...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canberrasnowbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
l1nda1, Owner at The Longhouse, Jimbaran-Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Dear Canberrasnowbird,
Thank you so very much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We know that you and your family are seasoned travellers who have travelled the world in style, so we feel very happy to hear your very kind compliments! It was such a pleasure to have all of you in residence at The Longhouse. We're all looking forward to your next visit! Warm wishes to your wonderful family from all of us at The Longhouse.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
There are newer reviews for The Longhouse, Jimbaran-Bali
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2014

This was my third time staying at The Longhouse. The first time was in 2010. We fell in love with the place. The staff are just wonderful. The villa is beautiful. The view is awesome. The food was incredible.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sorinrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
l1nda1, Owner at The Longhouse, Jimbaran-Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Dear Sorinrock,
It was wonderful having you stay with us again and great to meet your beautiful sister for the first time! Thank you so much for your lovely review and for posting your amazing photo of our view! We know that you share our love of Bali and Indonesia and look forward to your next visit and sharing more cultural experiences. Thanks so much from all of us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We were fortunate to spend a week here with our extended family. There were 11 of us in total. We had travelled from 4 cities around Australia and New Zealand to get there.

The welcome when you arrive sets the tone for a group of staff who are completely dedicated to making your stay the best they can possibly make it. They really are wonderful and they really care. A total highlight. We will not forget the effort they went to arrange and help celebrate an anniversary, it was stunning.

The villa itself is stunning, the architecture is amazing, it's huge and it really is like having a hotel all to yourself. For me, personally the size was a little daunting and I missed some of the intimacy that smaller properties can provide. It was sometimes a bit crowded in the main living area and not everyone could hang out on the couches at the same time. The views are beautiful, the villa is well located to the airport, kuta and seminyak is about 30-40 minutes drive.

We stayed in the Java room and it was perfect for us, the outdoor bathtub carved out of a single stone is amazing.. The housekeeping was great and laundry disappeared from the basket and magically appeared cleaned and folded! What a treat.

The kitchen turned out some amazing treats and the food was expertly prepared. We took advantage of the facilitated market tour and cooking school, not to be missed.

At times, ( and this may sound trite) it was a bit of a pain having to decide a breakfast time and menu each day, and perhaps having some regular items available for those who decide to sleep in would be a good idea.. having said that, it never occured to me to ask?

While the villa itself is an amazing building, the people who staff are it are for me the highlight.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kiwinui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
l1nda1, Owner at The Longhouse, Jimbaran-Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Dear Kiwinui,
We are all so happy that you had a wonderful time at the Longhouse. Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. You are right! If you had decided to come late for breakfast, we would have been happy to serve you when you arrived. It's your holiday after all :) ! It is true that we do have a long list of breakfast choices, from frittatas to breakfast fajitas to traditional English fry ups - some guests just ask us to surprise them each morning - an idea for next time.
We look forward to your next visit and promise that sleeping in is definitely on the menu.
Warm regards from all the staff at the Longhouse!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We had a brilliant time celebrating a birthday. Was met at the airport by the friendly and wonderful driver Eko.

Although the location is a fair way from the beach, the positive is that it is high up and you are presented with breathtaking views of the landscape from the pool area.

The villa itself is tremendous, especially the communal area beside the pool which is really delightful. Ideal for groups of 6-8

The rooms are also lovely, very spacious and nicely presented.

Staff are very friendly and reasonably professional. Aya and Happy did the utmost to service our every whim. Thank you to all the staff.

Small issues are the media room which is not usable due to damp issues, intermittent wi-fi (but this could be an infrastructure issue, not a villa issue), the bathroom towels were tired and there were never enough pool towels provided. All relatively minor issues, but still worthy of comment.

The food served by the villa kitchen was OK.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

My husband and I have just returned back to OZ after spending 6 luxurious days at "The Longhouse". We shared this amazing experience with 10 of our friends as part of a special Birthday celebration (& reunion - combined).
We all soaked up the sun & pampered ourselves with all that "The Longhouse" has to offer....which included: treatments & massages from their spa range, swimming in the gorgeous swimming pool with panoramic views of Bali, resting in the open-aired outdoor area by the pool & indulging in the deliciously prepared meals served to us with a smile.
All the staff were wonderful & treated us like royalty. The bedrooms & bathrooms were amazing & the decor was inspiring. We loved the little fish ponds that were dotted around in amongst the manicured gardens.
Eko, our driver, was the best!!! He was patient, kind and very informative about the area & local attractions...most importantly, he was a fantastic driver.
We loved, loved, loved our stay. Thanks to everyone at "The Longhouse".

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenniJ908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

We are on our last night at The Longhouse after spending 5 days with our lovely friends. We are a party of 12 and most of us had never been to Bali before. On arrival at the airport we were met by our wonderful driver Eko who drove us safety around each day. what a lovely patient man ! When we arrived we were greeted with huge smiles by Ayu and Happy and Rudy. Ayu and Happy will be fondly remembered when we leave here for the huge smiles, abliging and generous nature. There were many highlights but the BBQ night that was set up for our friends 50th birthday was amazing complete with fireworks ! The meals each day were outstanding thanks must go to the kitchen staff. The ladies in the day spa were very professional and well worth the visit. Our rooms were simply outstanding....we have stayed in hotels in Vietnam & Thailand and this will rate as the best value for money. We hope to return.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
Thank julesinaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We stayed at The Longhouse from 21-24 March 2013. Consisting of family and friends, we were a group of 11 who gathered to celebrate my birthday and to rest! I have been coming to Bali 3-4 times a year since 1987 and I can honestly say that this was one of the more memorable trips - in terms of accommodation, service and experience.

The Longhouse is beautifully appointed, thoughtfully planned and more than amply supported by a very professional team of service staff. Kudos to the 2 female butlers, Ayu and Happy, as well as the 2 chefs who really bent over backwards to make our stay special. The villa manager, Pak Ruddy, was unobtrusive but it was evident that he had a hand in maintaining a very tightly run ship.

Highlights of our stay which must be mentioned - the stunning view especially from the swimming pool and the living area, the beautifully appointed bedrooms, the on-tap spa services, the excellent meals and most of all, the planning and execution of a wonderful birthday BBQ dinner for me. Definitely a place to return to!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AFster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jimbaran hotels
2.3 mi away
Kayumanis Jimbaran Private Estate & Spa
2.0 mi away
BALQUISSE Heritage Hotel
BALQUISSE Heritage Hotel
#14 of 57 in Jimbaran
439 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Villas at AYANA Resort, BALI
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Jamahal Private Resort & Spa
2.1 mi away
INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort
2.4 mi away
Ahimsa Beach Resort
Ahimsa Beach Resort
#1 of 116 in Jimbaran
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Longhouse, Jimbaran-Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Longhouse, Jimbaran-Bali

Address: Tiara Nusa, Goa Gong Road, Jimbaran, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Jimbaran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 116 Speciality Lodging in Jimbaran
Price Range: £610 - £870 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
6 Bedroom Luxury Villa with incredible view and 16 amazing friendly staff including car and driver, in house activities, 2 chefs, villa manager, butlers, housekeeping etc. Rooms are themed after Indonesian Islands. Excellent food and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Longhouse, Jimbaran-Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longhouse Bali Hotel Jimbaran
The Longhouse, Jimbaran-Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing