We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok place close to a great beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Balangan Sea View Bungalow
Ranked #33 of 107 Speciality Lodging in Jimbaran
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
61 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Ok place close to a great beach”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

Balangan is all about the beach. White sands and high waves. Supposedly the best beach of Bali. Most of the people try a surf, but the beach is also fine for swimming.

Sea View Bungalow is a decent place with a nice pool and ok food. You need to have a car or hire a driver to get around. We paid one of the drivers of the hotel to get us to Uluwatu. Get there well before sunset to have a look around and enjoy the view.

The biggest drawback is that the place does not have hot showers. But that seems to be the case for all (affordable) hotels in the neighbourhood. Missing a hot shower is not that big a deal for two days.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RuudKn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    82
    57
    33
    21
See reviews for
43
94
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

In a fantastic location perfect for the surf. Rooms are okay sheets arent very clean and the food okay. The staff arent very welcoming have no idea what there doing and don't pass information on to the customer very well. They could all do with some training seen as how much you pay to stay here. Let down tbh.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chalet_Girl_2242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

We spent the last week of a four week trip here, and really wished we had stayed longer. The location is absolutely spectacular, perched on top of a cliff overlooking Balangan beach, which is reached by a short walk across the cliff top and down the hill, often accompanied by local cows, much to the delight of our eight and six year old kids! We stayed for six nights in the Laut bungalow, which is a huge double storey thatched bungalow. It has a big veranda with daybed out front right next to the pool, so the kids could go and jump in whenever they liked. There was a veranda on the second level overlooking the pool as well as a sun deck with two sun lounges at the rear, all with sea views as well. A huge amount of space for a family of four to really spread out, read, play games and enjoy our own company. really good value for money and so much more interesting than a small standard hotel room that could be anywhere in the world. This feels like real Bali to us. The beds all have mozzie nets that were in good repair as well as fans in both bedrooms. We turned these off at night as we got too cold with them on and the temperature was perfect without. The bathroom is massive, perhaps a bit rustic for some, but who needs more than a sink, toilet and hot shower? Oh and it was the perfect place to keep all six surfboards too! We absolutely loved the beach, the surf was great for my hubby but too big for the kids and I until the last two days. We all had fun exploring the rock pools at low tide, with everything from fish to anemones to starfish to be discovered. The warungs are all really friendly and sell good food. Our fave was froggies. Such a friendly guy and is a local so we enjoyed his stories. We ate a lot at the hotel too, the food was really good with lots of choice and very cheap. My 8 year old is still missing the mahi mahi steak and the seafood bakmi goreng! I really wanted to say thank you to the staff as well. Robby, his family, and the rest of the staff are really friendly and kind. From check in to check out and everything in between, these guys were fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble, and even our kids could go and order their food to be greeted with smiles at their please and thank yous in Indonesian. The owners daughter and our daughter are similar age, and played together often. Our last night was spent in a Lumbung bungalow. These are newer I think, and while lovely I much preferred our Laut bungalow, mainly for the internal stairs to the bathroom and the huge amount of indoor and outdoor space. No escorting kids down the outside stairs to the toilet at night! We travel with a lot of boards and both of the small verandas were stacked with them. Not a big deal really, as you are right next to the gorgeous pool and can just sit a a table or lounger there.Overall we thought this place was fantastic value for money, and offered just what we were hoping for, a chilled out fun surfing holiday. Five star it is not, you will need to go next door to La Joya if that is what you are looking for. We don't find Balangan isolated, and loved getting out on scooters exploring the countryside. Thanks again to all the staff, we had a fantastic time thanks to you guys and your gorgeous property and can't wait to come back :-)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kayayAlbany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

Very good value for money, amazing setting. We stayed in the air conditioned block not a bungalow. Decent room with a very nice bed but had to ask for a top sheet? The bathrooms are poorly thought out, the wc and shower should have been the other way round, reducing the amount of water that gets everywhere. There are also three 'slots' in the wall to ventilate the area that are no longer sealed, allowing anything to get in! Not great when there is no door to seal the bedroom. There are large developments being built in balangan, get in now before the place gets ruined

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Porkusmaximus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

The beds were terrible. Only one thin sheet over the mattress. My husband got bed bug bites. He slept without a shirt. The room were extremely hot. The fans are placed over the canopy of the mosquito net. Basically useless. The grounds smelled like sewerage. At one time bye a good place, but really dirty. Children swimming in pool without swimmer pants. The staff was not helpful and a little rude

Room Tip: Try another place. The price was cheap. So I guess you get what you pid for
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jimbaran hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

We stayed as 3 friends in the upstairs rooms and just had to extend our stay. The rooms are relatively basic but priced well, with everything you need. The staff were friendly and took great care of us. Pool is like a little sanctuary but best of all are the sunsets on the cliff overlooking the Balangan surf break. The beach is a short walk down the cliff for great surf, the perfect spot as other famous breaks are not too far away. Would definitely stay again...just needs a hot shower!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank YellowBackCobra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

It is a place where you can feel the real Bali atmosphere , Aways from the caotic kuta and colse to Balangan beach wihch is so far the beat place i've seen

Surfers paradise
The hotel is nice
Room very basic, the bathroom is the only negative point, no Hot water and very old
For the rest staff is nice and helpfull
Food at restaurant is great!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Letizia35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jimbaran
0.4 mi away
Milo's Home
Milo's Home
#7 of 84 in Jimbaran
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Flower Bud Bungalows Balangan
0.1 mi away
Brothers Bungalows Balangan
Brothers Bungalows Balangan
#32 of 107 in Jimbaran
3.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Joya, Villa & Bungalows
0.2 mi away
Casa de Balangan
Casa de Balangan
#46 of 107 in Jimbaran
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Yanandra
Le Yanandra
#4 of 84 in Jimbaran
5.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balangan Sea View Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balangan Sea View Bungalow

Property: Balangan Sea View Bungalow
Address: Jl.Pantai Balangan no 2 Cengiling | Badung, Jimbaran, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Jimbaran
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 107 Speciality Lodging in Jimbaran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Balangan Sea View Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balangan Sea View Bungalow Hotel Jimbaran
Balangan Sea View Bungalow Bali/Jimbaran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing