We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bar closed but we were given special tour !!”
Review of Rock Bar

Rock Bar
Ranked #15 of 257 Restaurants in Jimbaran
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Located on natural rocks 14 meters above the Indian Ocean at the base of AYANA Resort and Spa BALI's towering cliffs, this innovative open-top Bali bar is the island's most glam sunset and after-dark destination. Soak up the chic ambiance and superstar views as the rhythm of the spot-lit ocean merges with the funky tunes vibing from the DJ booth carved into the cliff-face. Discover Rock Bar's love affair with the sea Rock Bar's new 'Rock Bar Seafood Dinner' invites you to stay after sunset, enjoying premier Mediterranean cuisine beneath the stars. For your dining pleasure, our chefs hand select the freshest deep sea fish and shellfish to create mouth-watering dishes that include king prawns, sardines, calamari, swordfish and lobster. Rock Bar's intimate after-dark experience begins every evening at 7pm, complemented by soothing nu-disco inspired tunes and artisan crafted cocktails prepared with delicious tropical fruit juices and spices. Rock Bar's expansive setting welcomes romantic evenings for two as well as lively private events for up to 880. DRESS CODE Smart attire is required at ALL times. No singlets, board-shorts, alcohol-branded attire will be permitted. In adherence to security measures, backpacks are also not allowed at Rock Bar. We thank you for your cooperation and understanding.
Wollongong, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Bar closed but we were given special tour !!”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

My wife and I arrived in the afternoon, however the bar was closed. A worker at the hotel asked us to get on the lif down to the bar and let us take pictures and look around. He waited until we were finished and took us back to the top of the hotel grounds. How awesome.... would have been great to have a cocktail or two......

  • Visited August 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieRicho1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,735 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,858
    1,023
    477
    197
    180
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Overrated Bar”
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

We went at 4pm went the bar is open, by the time we got to the front there is a queue! You can choose to go down by the inclinator (30 mins to queue) and by stairs (5 mins) whicb we definitely choose the latter. They are strict about their dress code - no boardshorts, no alcohol nrand shirts and no singlets/tanktops. Please take note.

We were at the bottom and did not get to sit at the bar area as it is meant for their hotel guests only. The black umbrella makes it even hotter because it's black and hot. We had potato wedges, there's only a few of it but more of the twister fries. Drinks were okay, tried better drinks over at Potato Head.

If you can stand the heat and would like to catch the sunset, then please go ahead. If not, don't bother to go here and there are other places worthy to catch the sunset.

Helpful?
1 Thank Moomoonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malaysia
2 reviews
“Perfect sunset”
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Rock Bar is very good place to chill out. The staff are friendly, highly recommended this place.
Try also aquatonic water pool in ayana.

Helpful?
Thank 78Clk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spectacular Sunset”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Very easy process to get in. Arrived at 3.40 and got straight in. Very hot but staff had sun umbrellas for all. Expensive drinks but great service. Complimentary unlimited chips. Watched the sunset which was beautiful especially the reflection off the water.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Adele261200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“"Don't Bother" (too many kids and time wasters)must read !!!!”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I sent an email to the 'AYANA Resort' asking if i could reserve a table for sunset on friday the 16th as it was my b'day and i had got engaged the day earlier and wanted a nice popular bar to have some celebration drinks with my new fiance, they replied saying they dont do reservations and to come no later then 5pm to beat the rush.
So we arrive at 4:30pm only to wait in the sun for 2 hours, now the thing that annoyed us the most was that majority of those in the priority line that got first preference down to the bar had no intentions of even spending any money at the bar or staying for a beer, a cocktail, the music or the atmosphere but just to go down to take a damn photo of the sunset (mainly Japanese) and then line up to leave once sun had set,
which was disgusting by the staff to let these people waste everyone's time especially for the people that wanted to go down and spend our money and enjoy a cocktail at sunset for a special occasion.. So beware if you want to go for a drink, don't bother because 3/4 of the 2hr line up only go to take a photo of something that happens everyday.
Secondly way too many children and baby's at the rock bar. Needs to be an "ADULTS ONLY BAR", as we finally got down to a nice lounge only to have a couple with a baby behind us crying the whole time,
To pay all that money for a so called nice romantic celebration drink, was no where near worth it.......

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Brett W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AYANARESORT, Resort Manager at Rock Bar, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear ‘Brett W’,

Please accept my apologies for the experience you had while visiting Rock Bar. I regret that you were informed to arrive at 5pm, as during peak season over July/August/September, Rock Bar queue does indeed start as early as 4pm. I will ensure our staff inform guests accordingly in future. I am sorry that for your visit you faced such a long queue, and felt disturbed by the crowd at the sunset period.

My personal recommendation for romantic experiences is to arrive after 7pm to enjoy the more intimate ambience of Rock Bar at night, with spot-lit ocean, stars twinkling, the heat of the sun gone, and the sunset crowds dispersed. I hope you may give us another opportunity to wow you for a special occasion, and visit us after 7pm to enjoy a romantic evening at Rock Bar.

Best Regards,

Manik Sudharsana
Director of Food and Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rock Bar also viewed

 
Jimbaran, Bali
Jimbaran, Bali
 

Been to Rock Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing