We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable experience!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jimbaran
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wave Guru Bali Surf Camp
The Hague, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unforgettable experience!”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Our week in Bali will remain forever as one of the most fun and unforgettable trips we have ever made, and this is not only because of the lovely island, but also because me and my boyfriend were lucky to be guests of Nick and Dee. Literally every minute of our stay was a colourful and exciting experience. The Wave Guru house is a lovely, big, super relaxed place, perfect to chill out. And all the nice things the other reviewers said about Nick and the amazing surf spots he brings his guests to, are true. So instead of repeating again how much fun is to go for a surf with him, I will add few more things which others might have missed to mention, like:
- the way Nick drives is as close as one can get to teleportation. No kidding!
- the early morning coffee Nick makes can wake up a dead person and make him go surfing
- the funny stories around the table - "the chicken next door" is one of my all time favourite.
In short - Wave Guru is definitely part of the "Bali experience". Don't miss it!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    4
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
1
6
55
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore River, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2013

If you are looking for the perfect place to enjoy surfing and a mind break, there is your place.
I have been travelling a lot and i am not kidding this place just took my top list position. You will see all the different wonderfull surf spot Bali has to offer in a good mood at anytime of the day!!

Nick is a wonderfull person i miss already for his good mood, his skills, his ocean knowledge and more that i hope you will discover! Just listen to him, he knows where to be to get your wave! Thanks Bro i had one of the best times of my life so far.
Dee, his wife will be your Mummy, so paying attention about your wellness anytimes, and cooking very nice meals and cakes everyday. I was on a diet for sport, damn couldnt stop eating!! You will be the Indonesian MasterChef:)

I hope you will make the right choice and choose the GuruWave Camp as it has nothing to envy to all the one you might find on the beach.
Just do it you wont regret!

Keep it real guys, i miss you!

Alex

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexos2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telluride, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

WaveGuru kills it on so many levels it's hard to know where to start

I guess the best part though is really the surfing, and if your main goal in Bali is to always be surfing as much as possible and surfing the best, least crowded waves then I don't think anything comes close to these guys. Nick is an Australian ripper who has basically been on one extended surf trip in Bali for the last 20 years and still approaches every session with the same unbridled amperage of a 15 year old grom. You are basically paying to join his surf trip and get coached by him. He's got awesome vibes and is always friendly and stoked even in the early 5:30am pre-dawn before coffee. I don't know how he does it.

It's like if you were a little kid he's like your slightly older friend who surfs better than you but has for some reason taken you under his wing and wants to take you around with him and see you surf better

Since Nick is so stoked and surfing too he always gets you to the best spot for the day and over a week I got to see almost all of the spots in southern Bali. Many times there were just a few people in the water with us and often no other people but us and every session was amazing waves. They have some secret spots for sure where it is big and barreling even if most spots are small and blown out

You get driven straight to the breaks in a comfortable modern air-con toyota with great tunes playing and you can bring all your stuff in your bag.

They guide 3 sessions a day and I figure I did at least twice as much surfing every day I stayed with them than at any time on the rest of my trip. Also if you are looking for a more relaxed session you can just go in the other car with Ridho, who is Nick's assistant guide and is the most chilled-out cat on the planet. His trips are always less gnarly waves and he will take you around to touristy spots too if you are looking to mix it up

Later in my trip, surfing crowded waves I met really good surfers from the north shore of Oahu who were psyched they had been staying in $15/night home stays, but saying they had basically been skunked on surf for their entire trip. I felt really bad for these guys. It blew my mind. They threw down real cash on expensive plane tickets and took time off work and didn't even get to surf real waves in Indo because they tried to save every penny once they got here. Not worth it in my opinion

The other key part of the WaveGuru team is Nick's wife Dee who cooks you 3 awesome healthy, home-made meals every single day. I can't say enough good things about the food. Best meals I had in Indo, hands down. She is a trained professional chet and took 6th place on the Master Chef Indoneisa TV show. It's also good clean healthy surf fuel, not greasy like most of the Indo food you find. She is also a really cool and friendly person and will try hard to work around any dietary restrictions you have. She also cooks a once-a-weekend seafood BBQ that is totally legendary.... best meal I have had in a long time

At WaveGuru you basically become part of the family as soon as you arrive and they try their best to take care of you and show you the ropes in Indo in every way

All of this at like half the cost of other surf camps in Bali. I did the research. The value you get is ridiculous

It's not a camp for total beginners -- on their web site they say "intermediate to advanced" -- but they do a good job of being accommodating to everyone and I was surprised there were some pretty beginner folks there, and WaveGuru took care of them

The house is beautiful and awesome but it's not 5-star accommodations so it doesn't make sense for you if you're looking for ultra luxury, but if your main goal in indo is to get the most and the best surfing possible, then this place is impossible to beat!

Long story short, this is a home stay surf camp with real heart and soul, run by surfers for surfers. Coolest place I have stayed in a long time

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sea_To_Mountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2013

The good reviews are all true. Nick, the 'Wave Guru', will take you to the best waves in Bali. His knowledge and experience is excellent, but best of all is his energy and enthusiasm for getting his guests the best waves. And then back home you are treated like one of the family and fed like a king. You won't go hungry here. Large comfortable house with big tv and pool table is great for chilling out after the session. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharkyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2013

so i came to bali for the first time by myself with the intention of scoring some of the waves of my life. this only came true thanks to nick ( wave guru). his local knowledge is amazing, always finding waves regardless of the weather or conditions. on multiply occasions we were surfing 4-6ft by our selves. stand up barrels. life changing.

nicks wave guru supplied for me so much more than just a surf trip. it felt like home. he has two kids full of love and laughter who are always looking for someone to play with. watch out for maxxie haha they have a pool table and big tv and a fridge full of beer so its pretty easy to get accustomed too.

the food is amazing, 3 meals a day. i never went hungry and got eat the local cuisine on a regular bases. you might find one of the chefs on indo master chef haha :) ( its not still a secret? haha)

kutu is scary, clubbing is kindof dangerous but nick employs locals to help with that kind of stuff.
Rhido took me every where, from clubbing to the monkey forest in udbud. were you are in control, letting you choose how to travel... e.g. on mushrooms.

all in all nick made it that much easier to full in love with bali, its hard not too. ive made a life long friend and im already planning my next trip back. he will cater for all levels of surfing. all you need is a smile and the right attitude. surfing is his passion, and its amazing to surf with someone like that. you will not regret going to wave guru. especially if you want something more authentic and exciting, nick wont disappoint.

o and he loves putting sunblock on peoples back so don't hesitate to ask :)

Room Tip: get an aircon room, u need it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toby G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Highly recommend for surfers. Every day we went to uncrowded (even totally unknown in some cases) breaks and scored amazing waves. Nick (Wave Guru) has excellent local knowledge and knows which breaks are going to catch in all conditions. Two guided surfs per day, the early at 5.30am and the later one around 3pm. It's a home stay and the staff at the house were lovely and prepared filling meals 3 times a day. The fridge was always full of bottled water and beers. The house is huge and the rooms are comfortable. There's a scooter that guests can borrow and it's a short drive to Nusa Dua or Kuta. Nick is really friendly and a great guide. All up it's incredibly good value. Will definately be going back.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdsBaliReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2013

After having checked out the wave guru I can certainly tell that this is heaven on earth for surfers.
Don't go there if you are a beginner or need a 5-star hotel (in that case the Chillhouse would be your choice) but go there if you really love surfing.

Nick is an outstanding guide
Not only does he know spots no one knows (0-5 people in the water...in Bali!!!) he also chooses them perfectly suited to your surfing skills. If you stay close to him he helps you catch the wave by telling you to paddle the 1 meter to the left/right so catching the waves was as easy as never before.

Foodwise you will never be hungry (by the way his wife was awarded being the best chef in Bali).

Nick is an amazing host.
He gives you tips for spending your time out of the water and helps you in any circumstance. He even lets you become part of his family and became a real bro!

I had an amazing time and would have liked to stay much longer...next time!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GregSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jimbaran
1.0 mi away
Mahogany Hotel
Mahogany Hotel
#15 of 54 in Nusa Dua
290 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hilton Bali Resort
Hilton Bali Resort
#21 of 54 in Nusa Dua
1,714 reviews
6.0 mi away
Padang Padang Surf Camp
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
AYANA Resort and Spa
AYANA Resort and Spa
#13 of 57 in Jimbaran
3,492 reviews
10.9 mi away
The Chillhouse - Bali Surf and Bike Retreats
1.8 mi away
Jamahal Private Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wave Guru Bali Surf Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wave Guru Bali Surf Camp

Property: Wave Guru Bali Surf Camp
Address: Jl. Giri Puspa blok D. no. 12 Taman Griya, Jimbaran 8036, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Jimbaran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 112 Speciality Lodging in Jimbaran
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awesome surf guiding and surf homestay! We have 11 years finding the best waves in Bali. Don't come all the way to Bali and get dropped!! We introduce you to the locals so they won't drop in! We will also find you the best suited waves to your ability. We will block, snake, drop (other people) and we will even push you on waves. Anything to make your Bali surf holiday awesome..Surf guiding now..Wave Guru Bali Surf Camp Villa is open for the complete surf holiday . ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wave Guru Bali Surf Camp Jimbaran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing