We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FOR THE BEST SURF EXPERIENCE IN BALI”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jimbaran
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wave Guru Bali Surf Camp
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
1 review
“FOR THE BEST SURF EXPERIENCE IN BALI”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

look no further you have found the only place to stay and surf with in bali!!

with the words ...'paddle... paddle...' still ringing in my ears ... i can 100% recommend staying with nick and dee as my experience of wave guru was truly memorable and more than i could have ever expected!!

to start with the airport pick-up was on time and friendly... the family home is very spacious and i didn't feel like i was intruding on family life (guests have the entire first floor at their disposal) my bedroom was very comfortable, spacious and clean, the communal/lounge is great and well equipped with tv/dvd/internet/pool table/cosy seating and a lovely large balcony with bbq area and the bathroom facilities were spotless. the 3 freshly prepared daily meals were A-M-A-Z-I-N-G made with daily bought ingredients and cooked with love... no expense spared... even catering for my vegan requirement - thanks again for the almond milk nick!! in addition to the meals, there were lots of yummy treats to nibble on... fresh fruit, cakes and biscuits!! oh, and bottled water available too... so you will really want for nothing... and if you do i dare say it will be provided!

and now about the surfing... U-N-B-E-L-I-E-V-A-B-L-E and its all down to nicks amazing wealth of knowledge, experience and sheer passion for what he does, tailoring each session for individuals abilities ... he does quite literally live up to the name 'wave guru' ... he lives, breathes, sleeps, and eats surfing... and is truly one of the most amazing, kind hearted and generous spirited people i have met! a real gentleman who really knows his stuff and is keen to share and guide you in order to ensure you have an unbelievable experience. i was fortunate enough to have some one-on-one instruction and that alone was worth the price of the holiday - so thank you nick. both nick and dee are great at what they do and together they are an unstoppable team!!

i had the best week - amazing waves, brilliant surfing instruction and guidance, a lot of laughs, inspirational and entertaining conversation, great food, good music (on route to surf sites - cheers nick;-) enormous hospitality and best of all i was made to feel like part of the family.

look no further this really is the best surf experience in bali.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luckilido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    4
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
1
6
55
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Ives, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I recently stayed at Wave Guru Bali during a trip to Bali and only have good things to say about it. It was my first time to Bali and this was the perfect place to stay and sample the waves I'd heard so much about. Everyday I was there, I'd get be woken up early, given food and coffee, and taken to a spot somewhere in Bali that would be both firing and uncrowded. It was the same procedure in the afternoon and sometimes in the evening as well. Scoring amazing waves is literally so easy when you stay at Nicks. I'd have just been content with surfing amazing waves, but Nick and the gang go one step further and make sure your looked after and are having fun while your not surfing. There are always cold beers in the fridge, there is always good food on its way and Nick himself is a legend and is stoked for you to surf amazing waves. Wave Guru was definitely the highlight of my trip and cannot wait to go back! Cheers Nick, Curtis and Mark!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JiimyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I booked with Wave Guru based on the positive reviews in this site. They are all true!

Service

Nick and his merry gang of hosts are very friendly and accommodating. Staying here is like staying with family. They simply take the guesswork out of choosing the best surf spot on any given condition. They combine their superior local knowledge with up to the minute update from several of their spies on location. On the water, their knowledge of local surf conditions will save you lots of time and energy, and more importantly, keep you out of harm's way. The will also provide you with tips on how to increase your wave count. Dee is a fantastic cook, having qualified for the Indo Master Chef. What a great way to end a great surf session!

Value

Value is simply unbeatable. You get airport transfers, accommodation, all meals, and you get taken to surf spots two to three times a day. Wow!

Rooms

The rooms are clean and perfectly suitable for the travelling surfer. Get an AC room if you can afford it. You'll be glad you did.

Location

I came to Bali to surf and the location of Wave Guru is central to many surf spots. In any case, as other reviewers have mentioned, the staff will accommodate your requirements to conduct your business at other places (massage, ding repairs, banking, etc).

Conclusion

Doing it my way in Bali now simply doesn't make sense when I can rely on the expertise of Nick and his staff. It really is a 'no-brainer'. The more you are into surfing, the more you will appreciate the value of staying at Wave Guru Bali Surf Camp.

Thanks guys! See you again soon!

Room Tip: Get an air conditioned room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iskoolboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

In short, Wave Guru Bali is incredible if you have come to Bali to improve your surfing or just score sick waves.

I won't be reviewing the surf. Although it is definitively world class, it would be even without Nick (the host/main waveguru) and the rest of the Wave Guru team. HOWEVER, the local knowledge and dedication to finding the best conditions suited to your skills is second to none at Wave Guru! Nick and the others always found the best spots, meaning good waves, suitable in size, with minimal crowds. During my two weeks, swells ranged from almost flat to 10 feet. We still had two or three sessions every day ranging from fun-sized walls to tear-inducing testicle-shrinking barrels. Your limits in the water will most likely be tested, but not overstepped.

Accomodation is all you need, but not super luxurious. It is basically a very nice homestay, where the guests have the second floor of a large villa to themselves. Rooms are spacious and clean. You will have to share the bathroom with other guests, but this was never a problem. I got the fan room. If you are not on a budget, go AC. It is incredibly hot in Bali, and a good night's sleep is essential to get the most out of the Wave Guru stay.

It is true that the Villa is kind of far from restaurants, nightlife etc. This won't be to much of a problem, as you will be so surfed out in the afternoon that you will likely just want to relax in the house. Also, the location means it is close to surf breaks on both the east and west coast of Bali. If I wanted to go into town, get a massage or anything else, the staff would always be helpful and give me a lift or get me a taxi (takes about 15 minutes to Kuta).

I had a great time at Wave Guru Bali. The staff is cool and friendly, and I had the best surf of my life. I can happily recommend this place to anyone, but fair warning: This is for people who want to surf, and then surf some more!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aksel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I looked around for quite a while to find a place to stay/access to good surf. Wave Guru is a 'surfers camp', not a hotel, and everything is geared around finding and riding the best waves. Nick is a super-enthusiastic host, knowledgeable about all the breaks and keen to deliver the best waves to the guests. Two surfs every day, great food and hospitality courtesy of Denty (Nick's wife, and an awesome cook), and a relaxed upstairs space for chilling out. Cold beers in the fridge and lots of balcony space to relax between surfs. Monday night bbq a definite highlight! I really enjoyed the welcome, and I look forward very much to a return visit. Hard to know what could be better really -great job, Denty and Nick. Thanks for my stay (and Denty, thanks again for the airport run).

Very highly recommended!

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnCS55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Keen to find the best waves everyday - you have found the ultimate destination. Wave guru Bali exceeded all my expectations everything was incredible i really cant fault my trip there is nothing they can do to improve, im already planning my next visit, you would be crazy not to check this place out.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fabienneeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

What a place.......we 2 old [er] gents early1980s indo travelers.......had become disillusioned to what Kuta-legion had become and vowed never to return to the island of the gods, until we found Wave Guru Bali reviews on tripadvisor.

Nestled between Nusa Dua and kuta madness at the base of Jjimbaran Hill is the Wave Guru Bali homestay , a huge 2 storey home situated in a quite Balinese village atmosphere, peacefull and tranquil.

~~~ ~~~ Waveguru Bali is the best value surf accomodation in Indonesia ~~~ ~~~

Clean air cond rooms,
fantastic food,
fast FREE internet,
Gourmet sunday with chef Nick Brown seafood BBQ is awesome
icy cold beer
free airport pick up - drop off
Wicked coffee
2 breakfasts daily
2 guided daily surf trips in a air cond car early morning and arvo gets you to the best places on the best tides with the most amount of swell ,Nicks 15 years of local knowledge is a plus plus
surf~ chill~ surf~ eat~ drink beer and laugh~~~~~~~~ always fun times at waveguru ~~~~
Nick and his wife Dee and sons Maxie and Zander are your perfect hosts....the homestay of homestays

Mick , Stixie and Adolf j.b. - February 2014

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jimbaran
1.0 mi away
Mahogany Hotel
Mahogany Hotel
#16 of 54 in Nusa Dua
290 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hilton Bali Resort
Hilton Bali Resort
#21 of 54 in Nusa Dua
1,709 reviews
6.0 mi away
Padang Padang Surf Camp
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
AYANA Resort and Spa
AYANA Resort and Spa
#13 of 57 in Jimbaran
3,489 reviews
10.9 mi away
The Chillhouse - Bali Surf and Bike Retreats
1.8 mi away
Jamahal Private Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wave Guru Bali Surf Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wave Guru Bali Surf Camp

Property: Wave Guru Bali Surf Camp
Address: Jl. Giri Puspa blok D. no. 12 Taman Griya, Jimbaran 8036, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Jimbaran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 112 Speciality Lodging in Jimbaran
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awesome surf guiding and surf homestay! We have 11 years finding the best waves in Bali. Don't come all the way to Bali and get dropped!! We introduce you to the locals so they won't drop in! We will also find you the best suited waves to your ability. We will block, snake, drop (other people) and we will even push you on waves. Anything to make your Bali surf holiday awesome..Surf guiding now..Wave Guru Bali Surf Camp Villa is open for the complete surf holiday . ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wave Guru Bali Surf Camp Jimbaran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing