We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfriendliest place in Indonesia”
Review of Villa Puri Royan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Puri Royan
Ranked #44 of 57 Hotels in Jimbaran
Biel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Unfriendliest place in Indonesia”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We were not happy at all about this place. It's not bad, it really ain't, but it simply isn't worth what you pay for in our opinion. If it were about half the price this place would be a fair deal, but for 40USD a night it just was too much. We got the same standard and at times much better for half the price or even less.
We booked the accomodation in advance and stated that we wanted a double bed (it is clearly indicated on several sites that this is available). After check-in we realizied that we got a room with twin beds. When we asked we've been told that there are only twin beds in this hotel, that no room has a double bed, but that we could cancel our booking if we wished to. That was a pretty strange and unwelcoming start, and we are still not sure if no double beds are available at all, or if they were too lazy to change rooms or simply didn't want us there (maybe they don't like couples in their mid-twenties, at least most other guests were 50+, but that's just a blind guess). The TV didn't work, Wifi was only available at the lobby (other than indicated online), there were no pans in the kitchenette which makes it rather useless, the bathroom was shabby and filthy, there were only four, rather uncomfortable sunbeds at the pool, and the toilet was only accessible from the balcony.
This are all minor issues which we wouldn't mind too much, but they add up, especially regarding the pricing.
We asked them a couple of times if they could fix the TV (Jimbaran is a pretty boring place at night), the only answer was "later". When there was finally someone who seemed to be in charge, the unfriendly answer was that we can check out if we don't like it and complain online. Well, we did indeed check out the next morning, and complaining online is exactly what this review is all about.
Maybe if you are in their target group, you might like this place, the bungalows were pretty big and except the bathroom clean. It's neatly located a few meters from the beach, but otherwise at a pretty abandoned place, we didn't see any shops or restaurants nearby (other than the seafood restaurants at the beach). But for us it was definitely the wrong place, we never felt as unwelcome as here in six months of travelling, which comes as a surprise regarding how warm and friendly most locals are in Bali.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Street_Spirit85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    55
    41
    16
    16
See reviews for
20
71
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingsand, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Very disappointed with this place! Paid more than a lot of other places where we've stayed but not even half as nice! Stayed in room 12 and the following was wrong - Bedroom - walls damp and paint peeling, bedding stained and electrics not safe. Bathroom - smells damp,shower can't be used because shower hose too short to fit in wall attachment, bath blocked, water leaks from under sink, electrics not safe, tiles cracked and towels stained. I asked for another room and told that manager would check the complaint but nothing done! Avoid if possible.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Janette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jimbaran hotels

Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Last night off the Holiday we spend close to the airport. This place is so so. A lot cheaper then the resorts but nothing special. The beds are ok, but the walls need paint there were holes in the curtains and the hose off the shower was to short. The pool looked dirty and dogs were walking in and out.
Although it's quite we were expecting more when we booked it based on the photos.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank HiddeF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This place is cheap and close to the airport. The staff are helpful and will help organising onwards travel and scooter hire. Furthermore, it is right by the infamous sea food beach BBQs on Jimbaran beach. However, the rooms themselves are pretty grotty. We we're put in a room on the ground floor which was very damp, dark and smelly. We asked for a change of room and were given a room on the second floor. It was less smelly but the beds were so damp it was uncomfortable to sleep. Both rooms were shabby.

It's worth noting that the hotel is made up of more than one building. The largest - which we were in - contained most of the rooms. However, there are a further three buildings, each with two larger rooms - which actually looked more like the villas in the photos advertised. They looked much nicer than the rooms we had in he shabby, budget block.

Room Tip: Never in ground floor. Villas are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Good location. Friendly staff. Pool! They offered toast and eggs in the early morning so we could eat before catching our flight! Room was HUGE but very basic. Perfect for a night or 2. Make sure to walk out to the beach and head South(left) to where the resorts are, the beach is happening there and more people are swimming with less/no boats. Rent a surfboard or SUP down there too. I did not surf in the bay but 100 local groms were. I surfed airport reefs and rented a board and got a boat ride for 175,000 rp. I was walking North on the road asking around and was pointed to a family warung that would rent. Its about 5 min north of the "surf club" which you'll see. Nice local family helped me out and made it easy. Airport reefs are good on a bigger swell, otherwise too small.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Erk84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed here to be close to the airport for a our early morning flight. The hotel is old and cheap but we really only need a place to sleep. Seemed pretty clean. The location is dark and quiet. Not sure I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KylieEA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

I would like to thank the management and staff of this lovely hotel for their hospitality. When you arrive to a new country it is important that the first people you meet are welcoming. Vila Puri people certainly were. But so are Bali people. The most friendly people I have ever met. They are very helpful, particularly with transport options.
We stayed in the room on second floor with the balcony and lovely view. Breakfast was just average, pancake, coffee, fruits but was included in the price of room.
If you are looking for a peaceful place (Kuta is crazy) where you can relax, read the book at the beach or by the pool in your hotel, Jimbaran is a good choice. If you don't want to spend a fortune in luxury 5 stars around you should try VPR.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jimbaran hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Horison Jimbaran
Hotel Horison Jimbaran
#3 of 3 in Kedonganan
118 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Open House
The Open House
#6 of 57 in Jimbaran
431 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jimbaran Lestari Culture Villas & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
PRAMAPADA Hotel Jimbaran
PRAMAPADA Hotel Jimbaran
#29 of 57 in Jimbaran
59 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kila Infinity8 Bali
Kila Infinity8 Bali
#25 of 57 in Jimbaran
96 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sari Segara Resort Villas & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Puri Royan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Puri Royan

Property: Villa Puri Royan
Address: Jl. Pantai Sari no. 25, Jimbaran 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Jimbaran
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Jimbaran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Puri Royan 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Puri Royan is located at the fisherman village area of Jimbaran Bali. Only a minute walk to the beach, 5 minutes walk to the famous Jimbaran beach seafood cafes, 10 minutes drive to the airport & Kuta area. We provide clean, spacious rooms & bungalows including simple yet tasty breakfast, cozy swimming pool & garden, and a cafe with tasty food & beverages with free wifi, all at a very affordable price. We are here to provide you a second home in Jimbaran Bali. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Villa Puri Royan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Puri Royan Bali/Jimbaran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing