We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks trip advisors good choice.”

Bawang Merah Beachfront Jimbaran
Ranked #28 of 263 Restaurants in Jimbaran
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$100
Cuisines: Indonesian, Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, View
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Dining on the beach! Scenic view, delicious food, and romantic sunsets at this beachfront restaurant at the northern section of Jimbaran Bay. Have a seat on the shady sea terrace or at a private beach table over-viewing Jimbaran Bay and the picturesque fishing boats. Enjoy fresh seafood or non-seafood such as Bali duck, chicken, beef, or vegetarian. Daily Balinese dance between 7 p.m. - 9 p.m. Use the free pick-up and drop-back service (if you commit to spending IDR800,000 per couple).
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Thanks trip advisors good choice.”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I was looking for a place to eat with 8 friends in Jimbaran Bay, thankfully I checked out trip advisor.
I would never have found this little gem..The road leading to this resturant looks like a tip! Don't be alarmed.
It is not a smart looking place. But the seating on the beach, food, music, Balinese dancers were enjoyable. Service was a bit slow, but we were not in a hurry so we didn't mind.
Give it ago..it is away from the tourist traps further down the beach that had poor reviews.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    39
    25
    24
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Romantic sunset”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Nice restaurant in jimbaran beach. The restaurant provides you with free transportation from your hotel if you plan to spend more than 500 000 IDR ( around 25 pounds) which, if you are a couple, to be honest is not difficult.
The food was very good, we ordered a package with lobster, prawns, clams, calamaris, fish and crab. It also includes two soft drinks or two glasses of a local wine.
The lobster was delicious, the prawns didn't have enough salt ( as it seems to be common in Balinese cousine ), and the clam's source was not very good for our taste. The fish was good as well as the calamaris and the crab.
The service is a bit slow but gives you enough time to appreciate the sunset if you arrive before 6pm.

Helpful?
Thank Bruno A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Great place to watch the sunset. A nice restaurant, although a little out of the way it was well worth the visit. Nice clean beach front setting with good service and plenty of choice of fresh fish. The Lobster, Red Snapper and Prawns were delicious with large potions. The Balinese dancers were a nice touch as was the complimentary ride back to our hotel in Nusa Dua.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zuccy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice ambience but slow serving.”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I would say the ambience was good but it would be even more beautiful if I could have reached earlier to catch a glimpse of the sunset. Food was pretty decent but the only damaging factor was the long waiting time.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Berishiok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Worth doing the research! ”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

After experiencing being taken to a beach front restaurant by our driver last visit, this time we put in the effort to read up and find one ourselves and we kept coming back to Bawang Merah as the best option.
The restaurant is in the northern part of Jimbaran and from the outskirts it looks a shabby part of the village, but once we arrived we were warmly greeted and seated on proper chairs and dining tables on the beach which unlike the other sections is not heaving and you can enjoy your meal in peace and take in the glorious views.

We went for the honeymoon package and oh my the servings of grilled lobster, crab, prawns, fish and class was huge and delicious (much better than we had eaten elsewhere) and the bottle of wine gave a welcome break from beer and cocktails.

As we paid our bill the manager thanked us for booking direct as the taxis drivers take a cut for directing people to the restaurants and those who pay the most get the custom regardless of the quality.

The food here is of great quality and if you are after an evening in a spot away from being hasselled and just enjoy your meal and company then book direct and come here.

They do offer free pick up, but as e were out of range we made our own way here.. Was worth the trip.

Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bawang Merah Beachfront Jimbaran also viewed

 

Been to Bawang Merah Beachfront Jimbaran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing