We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in Jimbaran but overprized”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort
Ranked #6 of 57 Hotels in Jimbaran
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights and all in all enjoyed our time. The inftrastructure of the hotel is impressive. A beautiful garden and large pools in Bali style create a nice atmosphere. Complemented by nice benches and beds facing the ocean in the restaurants / bars. The rooms are nice a bit weary but ok (in our case we were upgraded to the Singaraja room). The problem comes with the size / standardisation of 5 star hotels. Since it is a very big hotel is becomes rather unpersonal, further the drinks and meals are horribly expensive and even so they are well prepared they are not worth the money (especially the local beer and fruit juices). Breakfast was not included and was charged additionally however this worth the money as the choices are amazing.
Looking at a average rate of 500 USD per night for the standard room this is not at all competitive even though the infrastructure is impressive. Anyway it seems to attract lots of Chinese and Russians which is the target group for this kind of hotels. We rather will look for smaller hotels which offer a more personal service and flexibility for pricing of local goods.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benjaminkurz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michel_KJ_Chertouh, General Manager at INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear Benjaminkurz,

Thank you for your review and the detailed feedback.

Do try our Club Rooms on your next stay, which come with a butler service and access to the dedicated Club pool and 24hrs Club Lounge, along with other benefits.

I look forward to welcoming you on your return to Bali.

Warm regards,


Michel Chertouh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,984)
There are newer reviews for INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,504 - 1,510 of 3,984 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2014

Paying almost $600 a night, this hotel is a sham! ugly and out of date decor, cold food in restaurants and breakfast buffet, very little staff around the pool to pick up wet towels or any staff to place orders (kitchen closes around the pool at 6pm!) and general incompetence with management and reception staff. My room wasnt cleaned til after 3pm each day. I wouldnt stay here again ever. There are so many beautiful hotels in Bali - this is a joke! The hotel was only at 65% occupancy - god help them if they were truly busy! Just asking for an additional pillow or blanket in the room came with an extra charge and confused look on their faces. Staying at a smaller, more intimate hotel is far more interesting and better Balinese experience.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank anousha z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michel_KJ_Chertouh, General Manager at INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear Anousha Z,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments on your stay which always helpful to improve the level of our service and standards. My apologies for the inconveniences experienced during your most recent experience We have addressed the problem to the department concerned.
Thank you.

Best regards,
Michel Chertouh - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I stayed at Bali Intercontinental Resort for business purposes. Nevertheless this resort brought me feel pleased because almost all aspects of this hotel was perfect.

As a quite old hotel, it seems not that old. They also have new wings (called so Club Intercontinental) which designed with modern interior, at the other side, they have old wings called so Resort Classics (actually wings = line of rooms) which maintained with tropical unit style using wooden as dominant interior.

This resort has it owns sandy beach and you could have your massage nearby the sea. Several swimming pool with beautiful view to the sea also established in this resort. Ease my stressful day, instantly.

My favorite restaurant was Jimbaran Gardens which located in the middle of main swimming pool. The view to the sea as good as its seafood. Try to have your tea time and watch the sunset! Unforgettable moment!

Last but not the least, internet access bandwith good enough to support my business activities there. Therefore, I can call this resort as heaven in Jimbaran, when business can be mixed with pleasure.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adhi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michel_KJ_Chertouh, General Manager at INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Dear Adhi N,

Thank you for your review and complements.

I am glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our resort.

We look forward to welcoming you on your return to Bali.

Warm regards,

Michel Chertouh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

This is the third time we have come , so obviously we have previously loved it , this time has been very disappointing , we have had 13 meals so far and have sent back 4 because they were cold ? Breakfast buffet all cold and just runs out of food , not replenished ? Club breakfast again cold and just simply runs out by 8am and still not filled after 4 requests at 9.30am . I would start by buying the kitchen a thermometer and ask them to simply check the temperature of all food and beverages to ensure its as per what a normal person would expect . I have been given free meals back when I have sent it back , I don't want a free meal I just want what you expect from a 5 star resort . !!!!! The staff are very good but the problem isn't them it's the management not putting in the appropriate controls and standards .
It's 3pm and the room still isn't serviced , lucky we are in the club lounge otherwise I don't think a room would be serviced at all . We will wait and see .

Intercontinental Bali you had a brilliant property what has happened ??

I have had recommended this resort many times , no again.

Room Tip: Ask whether they will service the room
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank niseko2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michel_KJ_Chertouh, General Manager at INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Dear niseko2013,

Thank you for your review and feedback.

We will look into the details of the same and ensure that you are looked after during your stay at the resort.

We do take pride in the personalised service at Club InterContinental and will ensure that such incidents don't happen in future.

Thank you once again for bring it to my attention and I look forward to welcoming you on your return to Bali.

Warm regards,

Michel Chertouh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

This resort has one of the warmest and most professional staff we encountered in Bali. We loved every second at this resort. The landscape and the beach are unparalleled. Great for families and couples equally.
The only point of future improvement is that the rooms are a bit dated and feel used but still clean, spacious and comfortable. All rooms seem to have very nice views given the hotel layout. The Spa experience was also not that outstanding.
Nevertheless we highly recommend this hotel. After a big disappointment at The Legian in Seminyak, this resort was heaven on earth.
We were never disappointed at an Intercon before and this resort is no exception. Great value for money. We will be back to this resort.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michel_KJ_Chertouh, General Manager at INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear Bob b,

Thank you for your review and the feedback.

I am happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our resort.

Do try our Club Rooms and Suite Collection on your next stay.

We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Bali.

Warm regards,


Michel Chertouh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights. Short 15 ride from airport. Excellent service all around. Breakfast buffet had good and tasty selection of local and western food. Large main pool that was warm and inviting. Beach was nice but had some plastic litter. Hotel grounds are very well maintained. Good location to do tours of the rest of the island. Rooms are large, clean with comfortable beds and pillows. ATM machine just outside enterance of resort. Would definitely come back.

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank 314pi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michel_KJ_Chertouh, General Manager at INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear 341pi,

Thank you for your review.

I am happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our resort.

We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Bali.

Warm regards,


Michel Chertouh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

First impressions were fantastic - very scenic, lush gardens, nice pools and by a nice beach. I upgraded to club room for an extra $80 a night which was worthwhile as the room is slightly bigger with the benefits of having breakfast, afternoon tea, juices and access to the club pool included.

Overall a very enjoyable stay but a few negatives:

- Food not as nice as expected save for the Italian restaurant (didn't try the Japanese restaurant)
- Although the staff are friendly and genuinely tried their best I got the impression they were not fully trained
- Overseas phone calls are extortionate costing around $6 a minute and there was no warning as to the cost
- Massages and the SPA are very expensive and if you go to the salons across the road they are a fraction of the cost, albeit, in less luxurious surroundings

Nevertheless, I recommend and would be happy to stay there again.

Room Tip: Go for the Club Room if your budget allows
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PebblesFlintstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michel_KJ_Chertouh, General Manager at INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear PebblesFlintstone,

Thank you for your review and the feedback.

I am glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay in Club InterContinental Room at our resort.

We look forward to welcoming you on your return.

Warm regards,


Michel Chertouh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jimbaran
2.1 mi away
RIMBA Jimbaran BALI by AYANA
4.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Bali
The Ritz-Carlton, Bali
#6 of 54 in Nusa Dua
2,075 reviews
4.8 mi away
Grand Hyatt Bali
Grand Hyatt Bali
#20 of 54 in Nusa Dua
3,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Meridien Bali Jimbaran
7.1 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#19 of 147 in Seminyak
3,402 reviews
2.0 mi away
AYANA Resort and Spa
AYANA Resort and Spa
#13 of 57 in Jimbaran
3,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort

Address: Jl. Uluwatu 45, Jimbaran 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Jimbaran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Jimbaran
#3 Family Hotel in Jimbaran
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Jimbaran
#5 Spa Hotel in Jimbaran
#5 Romantic Hotel in Jimbaran
#6 Luxury Hotel in Jimbaran
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Jimbaran
Price Range: £159 - £336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 417
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blessed by an endless stretch of white sand beach overlooking the tranquil waters of Jimbaran Bay, InterContinental Bali Resort features 417 guest rooms in three unique levels of accommodation. The property embraces a 14 hectare tropical landscape that is a blend of indigenous flora, gentle waterways and stone statues reflecting the island’s artistic heritage. There are six swimming pools, Planet Trekkers children’s resort, a fitness centre and plenty of recreational activities to keep guests occupied throughout the day. Spa Uluwatu is a dedicated healing and beauty facility for individual sessions, while the exclusive Villa Retreats promises indulging spa packages for couples. A superb choice of restaurant venues makes every dining experience an adventure in culinary excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Bali Hotel Jimbaran
Intercontinental Hotel Bali
Intercontinental Hotel Jimbaran
Bali Intercontinental
INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort Jimbaran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing