We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Agreed with it all - great honeymoon location !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort
Ranked #8 of 55 Hotels in Jimbaran
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Agreed with it all - great honeymoon location !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2010

I was so excited when I got back from my wedding & honeymoon in Bali to write a review, but I had to wait as I've written a short 'review' asking questions abt this hotel sometime in August. I was unaware that one had to wait three months between reviews with Tripadvisor.
Anyway.............read and read and read all the reviews for months...took notes of where to go for what...what to look out for...etc. Never been to Bali. Arranged wedding via internet and got married at the hotel and stayed there for another 10 nights....loved it...still can't stop talking about it. They went over and beyond what we ask for - it was perfect ! There were only 12 of us at the wedding. But they do up to 200+ for a wedding.
Wedding was arranged by Melissa from Wedding International - perfect, stress free, faultless !!
I felt spoilt beyond believe. It was wonderful. We were asked if we wanted to upgrade to ClubLevel which included all those extras. It was abt $60-70 extra - frm Singaraja Room get upgraded if you can. So worth it. The spa was expensive but so good. Did try out the cheapies across the road, but not a touch to the hotel's spa.
Best was the Happy Hour in the Club Lounge. Worked my way down the cocktail list !!!!! Make sure though you don't eat too much and spoil your appetite for dinner ! We spend most of our time at the hotel. Yes food prices expensive for Bali, but that is what we pay in Perth - in Bali you get it with a smile, great service and a chat included !! Even went White Water Rafting and that was the best fun in ages !! Not dangerous at all ! Make use of the taxis - cheap and local knowledge super. Read the reviews and make note of the tips. Even had a seafood evening next to hotel - recommended by the Food & Beverage manager Martin - ask him for a good one.
I do love reading the reviews. Everything that others are writing on here is true. Including the bad...The hotel is far from everything, taxi rides can take ages. There is nothing to do outside the hotel - I was pretty shocked at the road/houses/hygiene/traffic etc..'s condition. Did go walking for about two hours in the main street and took tons of photos. It is interesting and so decorative the temples etc...Such a different life.
Traffic is insane. I saw some dust in the rooms, but then men were cleaning (hahaha!!). Wine prices were insane - we bought wine in Perth and took it with. At ClubLevel you got the internet for free in the Inspirations Room. Loved that room ! There was no sun in our room so wet clothes just stayed damp. Make use of the laundry service.
If you are young and hip - don't go there. Too far from Kuta. The hotel is really tranquil. The grounds were breathtakinly beautiful and so well cared for.
If you want maybe a bit more to do - stay in Sanur or Nusa Dua. I loved Sanur and might stay there next time just for variety. There were pubs and shopping without sellers pestering you. And very clean. Did go to Kuta - not my cup of tea.
This hotel will always have a special place in our hearts ! Most of all it was the staff that created all the wonderful memories.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belinda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,601 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,424
    867
    196
    67
    47
See reviews for
1,064
1,675
114
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (596)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, New York
Level Contributor
131 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights this past October. As members of the Ambassador Club we were provided a large suite with balcony and sleeping quarters in a loft setting. The bathroom adjoining our bedroom was was huge!!! The suite was truly spacious as well and tastefully furnished. I loved the balcony where I would spend quite a bit of time at night just listening to the waves and watching the moon. Our room did not face the pool or beach which was just as well since it would have been probaly noisy. Instead it faced a quieter area of the hotel which suited my needs perfectly. It had a view of gardens and palm trees and the only people I saw there were the gardeners. Unfortunately, because we had planned trips to explore Bali we really did not spend much time at this resort. We got stuck in long traffic jams instead trying to get from Point A to Point B on the island!

We ate our meals (breakfast and dinner) in the resort since the Ambassador Club membership provided you a selection of venues to have meals and drinks. We mostly stayed in the Ambassador Lounge where we were served a delightful selection of finger foods with our choice of drinks. The staff was courteous and efficient, smiles all over the place! I felt so pampered and well cared for. They also have medical facilities on the premises to assist with health issues (Bali Belly in Bali!!!) where I did not have to wait and was immediately looked after.

If you go on the beach, a leisurely walk away from the resort you will find numerous seafood restaurants lining the shore. The food smelled delicious but we did not go to any of them. It felt very crowded and loud with lots of people taking pictures of each other all over the place. After the quiet and peaceful setting of the resort, it was very overwhelming.

The Intercontinental Hotel at Jimbaran Bay is a lovely resort to visit and relax...and that is what I am going to do the next time I go there!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Footloose916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2010

We stayed at Singaraja for 3 nights which is semi premium apartment. It is located on a wonderful beach though not private. Very good food platter but non-availability of any Indian vegetarian food was a let down. But the Chef tried to make us comfortable by cooking specially for us. It has got almost everything a 5 star resort would have. Good for people who want to have a peaceful time as it is decently located. If somebody wants to catch-up with night life one has to go to Kuta where the action is.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amit_zany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2010

We decided to push the boat out and book a club room which was definitely worth every penny as the service we received was exceptional. We paid £250 per room per night including all taxes and service charges. Included in this rate is complimentary airport pick up and drop off, exclusive check in at the Club Lounge where we received the most wonderful welcome, a welcome drink and a stress free check in process. The Club Lounge provides complimentary 24 hour beverages, afternoon tea, cocktails from 4.30pm - 7.30pm and canapes. We received a complimentary 1 hour massage due to the recent withdrawal of the snack menu. The massage and spa was wonderful! The Club Pool is very quiet and redirects children and families who want to have 'fun' to the main pool. There are lots of other benefits which are detailed on their website. The service throughout was absolutely wonderful and despite the hotel being reasonably large the team greeted us by name.

The choice of restaurants is excellent and the food choice plentiful and delicious.

The grounds of the hotel are manicured to perfection and the resort has a really warm and intimate feeling to it despite being quite a large hotel.

The hotel is well located and within a 3 minute walk of many beach bars and restaurants.

The Intercontinental Bali was the first of 4 hotels we booked on our 4 destination trip (we also stayed at a Shangri La, a local boutique hotel and a Royale hotel in KL). The Intercontinental was by far the best hotel we stayed at and we will definitely return and stay in a Club Room again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NMD37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2010

We stayed in a "Singarajah" (ie, deluxe) room at the Intercontinental and were reasonably happy with our stay, though I'm not sure it was really worth $300 a night (for Bali). Our room was fairly large, with a king-sized bed and a sitting area and small balcony, but the bathroom was a bit shabby (broken and moldy tiles, a sink that never did quite drain right, even after having maintenance look at it) and the furnishings worn.

However, when I considered that at least half of the cost probably covered the grounds and amenities, it felt a lot better to me. They have 2 large pools (though one is for "club" members only -- I assume that's a more expensive room though I never really found out for sure) and a very nice beach area, with comfortable lounge chairs and plenty of shade umbrellas. We sampled all the restaurants on site, and liked the sushi bar and "Italian" cafe the best. Outside of the hotel grounds there is not very much on offer: it's a very shabby street with no retail and few restaurants, though there were some beach restaurants on either side of the property.

I think what disappointed me most was the fact that, even though we were spending several hundred dollars per night, they still insisted on charging for internet access. Talk about nickle-and-diming!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lsfSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2010

A beautiful Hotel and Resort location with the warmest Management and Team I have ever encountered.Nothing was too much trouble for any request.I have stayed in this Hotel on many occassions and found it the same on every visit.

It is worthwhile to try the 3 Restaurantsand of course breakfast if time permits.KO is great fun at tepanyaki,more so if it has a good crowd.The food is brilliant and always fantastic to watch the Chef and his performance whist preparing and serving your dinner.The wagu beef outstanding.Sushi lounge is a quieter affair,the food equally fresh and beautifully presented .Bella is wonderful for special evenings and Jimbaran Gardens for a casual night with great seafood .There is a good Bar for a drink before or after dinner...Wine is expensive due to Government taxes which is a shame. The wine list changes from time to time and is worth having a glass or so if you enjoy it.There is a good selection of wine by the glass.

The fish market trip early in the morning is a must and a good way to get to know the locals and have a chat.The beach of course is just stunning A glorious stretch of sand that leads past the fish markets and towards the Airport..I love wandering down there and chatting to the local Jimbaran People. Restaurants in each direction,always busy and friendly..Never feeling anything but a wonderful surge of freedom and energy,which is the Heart of Bali. Fish and fishing. So much a part of the Balinese Life.I love it so much.I found it interesting to know the Hotel and local Community get together to keep the whole beach clean for guests.Sunset Bar by the beach at the Hotel is nice to relax and watch the amazing Sunset with a cocktail or two.

I didn't find any drawbacks at the Hotel. Shopping or dining in Seminyak or Kuta is an easy taxi trip, around 20 minutes or so, depending on traffic.

It really is lovely to experience The Club Intercontinental. If expenses don't allow it for the whole stay it can be just a night or so.The Club does have a special feel. Having stayed in both sections of the Hotel I do love it. Cocktail hour is a nice excuse to dress up a little and enjoy a drink and tasting plate, before popping off for dinner. Nothing is too much trouble and every need taken care of promptly. Restaurant bookings,advice about where to dine and so on. The Club really does have a different feel for Guests. A 24hr Butler service, outstanding housekeeping and laundry service,Club Lounge and Instant care for any special need, make it a really quality 5 star Resort.

I have stayed at the Hotel as a single and partnered Guest. Staying alone I have never felt it difficult in any way. The Team have always made me feel welcome.The Hotel also seem to attract Guests that are generous of spirit and most have a certain kind of warmth. Therefore, I have always been included and made many long standing Friends amongst them. The Resort is a special destination for most Guests.Many of whom,like me are drawn back time and time again. I feel I am very lucky to have experienced this warmth and hope to return soon.

I would have no hesitation in recommending this 5 star Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pammie480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2010

The InterContinental Bali Resort is a great hotel, on the beach and not far from the airport.

I've stayed here many times and have always enjoyed it. As an Ambassador, I've always received a room upgrade. The rooms are getting a bit dated but are still charming.

Jimbaran Beach is a nice swimming beach and there are pools galore to choose from in the hotel grounds.

The hotel is a bit pricey for food and drinks in the restaurants and bars, as you might expect at a 5-star hotel. The beach cafes next door are much cheaper options and are almost empty during the day. The Sunset Bar has 3 hours of happy hour per day with a 2-for-! offer on a very good range of drinks. It's also in a great location to enjoy the sunset!

The breakfast here is one of the best I have seen, with plenty of choice. There are a couple of locations to choose from, both serving the same wide menu. The Italian restaurant is a little classier, with white table cloths and some tables on the grass and some beautiful views from the upper floor.

About 2 years ago the IC started to put refillable ceramic bottles in most of the bathrooms (see the pic). I personally think this is a big mistake for a 5-star hotel. The bottles look cheap, seem unhygienic (they are just topped up and re-used) and if dropped in the shower might cause a very nasty injury.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Austman_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jimbaran hotels
0.2 mi away
Le Meridien Bali Jimbaran
Le Meridien Bali Jimbaran
#15 of 55 in Jimbaran
4.0 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
2.1 mi away
RIMBA Jimbaran BALI by AYANA
0.5 mi away
Kayumanis Jimbaran Private Estate & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
AYANA Resort and Spa
AYANA Resort and Spa
#13 of 55 in Jimbaran
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,340 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jamahal Private Resort & SPA
0.6 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bali at Jimbaran Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort

Property: INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort
Address: Jl. Uluwatu 45, Jimbaran 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Jimbaran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Jimbaran
#3 Family Hotel in Jimbaran
#5 Romantic Hotel in Jimbaran
#6 Spa Hotel in Jimbaran
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Jimbaran
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Jimbaran
#8 Luxury Hotel in Jimbaran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 418
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blessed by an endless stretch of white sand beach overlooking the tranquil waters of Jimbaran Bay, InterContinental Bali Resort features 417 guest rooms in three unique levels of accommodation. The property embraces a 14 hectare tropical landscape that is a blend of indigenous flora, gentle waterways and stone statues reflecting the island’s artistic heritage. There are six swimming pools, Planet Trekkers children’s resort, a fitness centre and plenty of recreational activities to keep guests occupied throughout the day. Spa Uluwatu is a dedicated healing and beauty facility for individual sessions, while the exclusive Villa Retreats promises indulging spa packages for couples. A superb choice of restaurant venues makes every dining experience an adventure in culinary excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Agoda and Southall Travel so you can book your INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Bali Hotel Jimbaran
Intercontinental Hotel Bali
Intercontinental Hotel Jimbaran
Bali Intercontinental
INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort Jimbaran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing