We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,244)
Filter reviews
1,244 results
Traveller rating
923
233
66
14
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
923
233
66
14
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottagesgarden cottageour honeymoonsunken bathdeluxe pool villanelayan restaurantherbal teabeach frontlily pondthe guest relations managerseafoodfour seasonsbeach bardinner on the beachwalk along the beachhotel restaurantsbalinese style
Filter
Updating list...
371 - 376 of 1,244 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Private little escape- love the small feel of this hotel with little gardens and private nooks. Rooms are large and have rustic but elegant decorations - lovely little patio area to sit outside. Beach is right there and spa is amazing - all outdoor treatment rooms which is amazing since you can listen to the ocean as you get a massage. Food is pricey but worth it- best to get smaller plates to share- Nicoise salad a fav. Alcohol is incredibly expensive, especially wine so be sure to go to sunset happy hour or buy at the airport!

Room Tip: One in the back so you have more privacy.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agatha Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JPBMger, Manager at Belmond Jimbaran Puri, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2013

“Amazing views, food, rooms, and service!”....

Thank you for sharing your comments with all the Travelers.
We all will be waiting for your next visit in a near future !

Terima Kasih! (Thank you)

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Jimbaran Puri Bali is beautiful - there's no doubt about it! Our rooms (we had a Garden View Cottage Suite) was stunning, with a real Balinese feel; the grounds were immaculate with a gorgeous lotus pond and a Javan pond heron often in residence; and the swimming pool was generously proportioned with blue-green natural stone tiles blending it into its surroundings. We also really enjoyed the lovely long stretch of beach - great for a walk, and to explore the many, reasonably-priced seafood restaurants, where we were serenaded by a very talented group of local musicians each evening. Dina's and Lia's restaurants have received good reviews on Trip Advisor, and didn't disappoint.

However, the food and drinks at the resort, although delicious in the main, were massively over-priced - I'm surprised this is not mentioned more in the reviews on here. To give you an example, the cheapest glass of wine is the equivalent of about £10, and a small bottle of the local beer over £3. A main course duck dish cost around £14, a local beef stew over £20, some mixed vegetables in oyster sauce were around £6 - similar prices to top London hotels on an island where a coke costs around 80p for a 0.33 litre bottle compared with around £1.20 in London; or a Combo meal at McDonalds costs around £3.60 compared with about £5 in London; or 1 litre of milk costs about 80p compared with about £1 in London. At a small (not the cheapest) supermarket near to the hotel, you could buy four small beers for less than the price of one at the hotel. One does obviously expect to pay more at a nice hotel, but that much more?? Really?? Needless to say, the restaurants and bars were almost empty a lot of the time. We could go down the beach to one of the little seafood restaurants and have a meal for three of us with a few glasses of wine and a few beers for around £35 - I guess that is still expensive by Balinese standards, but much more reasonable.

A lot of reviewers have commented on the friendliness of the staff, but, for us, they were over-enthusiastic. For example, at one breakfast, our 7-year-old son was eating a banana, and a member of staff asked, " Do you like banana?", to which he replied yes - well he wouldn't be eating it if he didn't, would he??! Then he asked, "Are you enjoying your breakfast?" - yes; "Are you enjoying your time in Bali?"….. ummm, please just let us get on with our breakfast together! When we did eat at the resort, we got asked repeatedly if we would like more drinks, and staff were generally attentive almost to the point of intrusion. I think if guests invite discussion, that is one thing; but if guests are chatting amongst themselves, they may just want to be left to enjoy their meal, drink, etc. It is a balance, I know, but I think the staff here need to step back a little.

So, will we be going back? No, we won't. Although the room was amazing, and good value for money, and the resort was beautiful, I felt constantly irritated both by feeling ripped-off, and by the over-attentiveness of the staff. In fact, we were disappointed with Bali in general - over-developed, with everybody trying to muscle in on the tourist dollar/pound, and little regard for the impact on what was obviously once an island paradise. Bali seems to be riding on it's past reputation. Maybe we didn't see the best of it, but there are lots of other beautiful places in the world to visit.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jxsbracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JPBMger, Manager at Belmond Jimbaran Puri, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

...... Beautiful resort.......
Thank you for your comments we always appreciate the reviews of all our guests and I always respect their opinion about Bali. By reading your review I understand that you did not appreciate your overall experience in Bali and you felt that the over-attentiveness from the Balinese people was intrusive. I would like just to explain that the Balinese people is known all over the world for being genuine and kind people to all visitors, and it is true they like to ask questions. Their naif questions have appeared to you intrusive questions but I can guarantee that it was not the purpose, they just want to establish a contact with the guests.
About your comments on our prices, I would like also to explain that all prices are regularly and only reviewed according to all the hotels/resorts of the same category, and the imported alcohol and food in Indonesia are over taxed.
I hope you will find the destination which will exceed your expectations, meanwhile I remain at your disposal for any assistance you may need if you change your mind about Bali.

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed the last four days of our trip, and what a great choice. The hotel is literally by the beach, beautifully decorated, full of nice touches, for example in the villa they provide you with flipflops, a beach bag, hat and indoor slippers. It's very quiet and relaxing atmosphere. The pool is great and next to the beach. The beach is very long and feels quite empty. The villas are just 10 metres away from the beach and are very big and even have Luke a small living room area. The breakfast is served near the beach with amazing views. The food is very good but very pricey, that would be my only negative comment.the service is excellent and everything is very well looked after. As it's a small hotel, there aren't that many guests so the staff get to know you and you get to know other guests, and there is always plenty of sun lounges in the pool or beach. I would definitely recommend it, you feel very special and unique, not like in the big chains where you are just one guest more. We went with our 22 months old boy and had the time of his life, there is a part of the pool very shallow and was always in the water, the staff was great with him and he would walk as he desired from the beach to the pool as everything is so closed and staff so attentive.staff will take him to feed the fishes of the pond, so I thought it was great fire him and for us.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pctykoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JPBMger, Manager at Belmond Jimbaran Puri, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2013

Stunning beach front boutique hotel”...

Thank you for such nice review, all my team will be waiting for your next visit.
Meanwhile I remain at your disposal for any assistance you may need during your next visit.

Terima Kasih (Thank you)

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We rented a cottage end of Feb. A very pleasant experience and the staff is the best part of this resort. No, the beach restaurant. Actually the massages at the resort's spa. You might be put off by the prices, but every time we went for something cheaper somewhere else, we regret it. If you're not inclined to pay for the dinner, get the lunches -they are absolutely delicious and prices are affordable. With the snack that comes with your drink at the "Happy Hour" -you're all set calories wise. Try also the national spirit "Arak". The only regret we had was to see the beach and ocean full of plastic. The efforts to clean it up were not enough... Overall, I recommend the hotel but only if you are not on a tight budget.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bilibel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

This hotel is everything you could think about what a hotel in Bali should be. It is set on beautiful Jimbaran beach, and is a perfect combination of traditional Balinese style and ambiance and modern amenities. The grounds are in perfect condition, constantly maintained and overflowing with beautiful shrubs and flowers. The beach is clean and there are always loungers available, as there are at the wonderful infinity pool.

The rooms are furnished with major Balinese influences. We had a private pool villa, and the garden, the private pool, the loungers and umbrella table and chairs were taken care of daily. Having afternoon tea in your private garden or while soaking in your private pool is an experience to be remembered. Food at the hotel was always delicious and fresh. The buffet breakfast was plentiful, fresh and delicious, and the setting was just exactly right - overlooking the pool and the beach. We ate twice at the restaurant which featured local specialties. We did not go to the Mediterranean restaurant as we did not come to Bali for pizza and pasta!

One of the greatest assets of this hotel is the staff. Everyone greets you, and by the second day most of them addressed you by name. The special concierge for the villa guests handled everything from ordering afternoon tea to arranging for a taxi to the airport to anything else you could imagine. They are truly customer and service oriented people, and among the friendliest hotel staff we have ever met.

We enjoyed the spaciousness of the pool villa, but after seeing the new rooms that will be unveiled shortly, anyone would be most comfortable in these as well. We were truly spoiled by the staff and the understated luxuriousness of the hotel and its surroundings, and will certainly be back the next time we have the opportunity to visit Bali.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jimkrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews