We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low-Key Luxury Balinese Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belmond Jimbaran Puri
Ranked #6 of 58 Hotels in Jimbaran
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Our family of three (including our 7-year old son) stayed at Jimbaran Puri Bali for an all-too-brief 3 nights after flying to Bali from the U.S., before moving on to the Ubud area. Having been to Bali several times before, we wanted to be very near the airport after 24 hours of travel and lots of jet-lag.

We expected a nice if expensive experience, but we were pleasantly surprised by how much we liked the place. But do know, if you stay here you are going to pay. We were ready...

We had a "beachfront" cottage which was sort of behind the restaurant (which is definitely beachfront) but still had a view off to the side of the beach. We found this location to be convenient with our son as the big pool was very near, as was the restaurant and bar. Be aware that beachfront in this case is not directly ON the beach, but rather facing it perhaps 40-50 meters or so back across a grassy area strewn with coconut palms and other trees. This still worked perfectly fine for us and the location on property was fantastic. Other cottages that aren't "beachfront" are still very convenient though with no views, scattered about back into the property and accessible via very Balinese-style pathways, planted with all sorts of tropical greenery, flowers, and hidden gems like the temple, statues, fountains, fish ponds and such.

We had a chance to take a quick look at one of the villas, which are newer walled-in compound-type things with their own private plunge pools and large gardens with lounge areas and free space galore. In the end, we were glad we went with the Cottage as the villas were a lot more money and we found ourselves spending much time at the beach and big pool anyway. For honeymooners or those who want to hole up in a very private and nice private "little house," the villas would be a great choice.

So, for the positives and negatives (not that there were any serious negatives)...

POSITIVES:
+ Convenient location for weary long-distance travelers - just south of DPS airport. Although, frankly, with the rampant and out-of-control development of South Bali, we were frustrated and taken aback by the 40-minute taxi ride required to go what could not have been more than a 10-15 km drive -- a drive that, not so long ago, used to only take 10-15 minutes. Be prepared for the crush of South Bali. Development is out of control and seemingly unchecked by reason as investors squeeze out as much profit as they can from every square meter of what's left undeveloped here! Thankfully, once you're at Jimbaran Puri, you can leave all those worries behind as it's a very low-key and quiet place.

+ Great Balinese feel. While a fairly new acquisition by Orient-Express, the property (formerly the Pansea) is 20+ years old, with nice mostly traditional architecture and a very established landscape. Mature trees, plenty of flowers, and mossy stone walls and statues everywhere. It was good to be here given so many newer places in Bali follow the more modern-minimalist style which is so en vogue around the world, but for us feels out of place in Bali.

+ Spacious Cottage room was more than enough room for the 3 of us.

+ Service very friendly and personable! This is always a key part of the Bali experience and Puri Bali does not disappoint here. They took special care of our son and we always felt well-looked after.

+ Breakfast! We stayed in 4 different places over nearly 3 weeks on Bali and found the breakfast to be our favorite. Often with "buffet" breakfasts, you don't expect much. In this case, there was a huge selection of pastries, tropical fruits, breads, etc. on top of some good Indonesian breakfast staples like nasi goreng and mie goreng. I still have dreams about the papaya pastries. Wow, were those good. They could also make you some basic things as cook-to-order which was nice. This is all included in the room rate.

+ POOL! One of the best ever. Large, inviting, set just back from the beach. Shallower area for little kids as well as a constant-depth deeper main area for swimmers.

+ Nice, even clever, design in the cottages. Sliding louvered doors could either block out light from the sliding glass entry doors, or open up to allow light in. The Balinese-style wooden lock on the front patio-facing door = charming and functional. High, soaring thatched ceilings made the big room feel even bigger. Both indoor and outdoor showers.

+ Good food overall, but aside from the included breakfast, as other reviewers have stated, it is EXPENSIVE!! We were shocked more than once on the total bill at dinner. That said, the food is very well-presented and attractive. Ingredients top-notch. They have a good chef. We found the Indonesian-focused casual restaurant (where they also serve breakfast) a little more manageable on the pocketbook than the very expensive (for Bali) beachfront seafood restaurant. Unfortunately, you are somewhat of a captive audience here so unless you want to take a very long walk down the busy main road to find a local warung, or walk down the beach to another (likely also expensive) Jimbaran resort, you will be paying the price. We wish they had a few more reasonable food options here, as we actually paid to have a taxi take us elsewhere a couple of times to avoid eating at the expensive resort options. (There are the Jimbaran seafood warungs a close walk but we didn't want to take our chances on picking the wrong place with a 7 year-old in tow).

+ Sunsets. Retiring down by the beach bar in their low-slung lounge chairs while the sun sank below the sea was a daily ritual for us. Although, of course, you get this view from anywhere in Jimbaran.

+ The "spa" (really a cluster of open-air pavillions near the beach) had some great massage therapists. But again, pretty pricey for Bali once you factor in the "plus plus" of service & tax added to the bill.

NEGATIVES:
(And again I say this with some reservation as the negatives were pretty nominal)

- The "stuck with not many dining options nearby" issue mentioned above.

- The cottages are showing their age in a few places and could use a bit of an overhaul (in the case of the very 1980s vintage-looking pinkish-toned sunken bathtub) or at least some spiffing up (some wood surfaces could use refinishing). In a less-pricey place, we would live with this. For the prices asked, you expect things to stay pretty new-looking.

- COST OF FOOD! Give us some lower-cost dinner options, please. Lunch time, not so bad but dinner was always a killer, even though the food was very good. Likewise, cocktails at the bar were very expensive (like, San Francisco or NYC expensive) though generally very tasty. To this point, it does look like a new independent restaurant is being built on the small road in to the hotel so maybe this will open the door to more options in the near future...

- Garbage in ocean and on beach. Honestly, the hotel did a great job of cleaning up its expanse of sand every morning, so it's not their fault. Sadly, Jimbaran Bay is polluted with floating garbage -- much of it plastic bags, bottles etc. that wash into the sea from the village. I understand Jimbaran is a "working fishing village" but still, it is sad to see the lack of environmental concern in so much of Bali. We got used to feeling something clinging to our legs while swimming in the ocean, "oh, another plastic bag drifting with the seaweed." But it can be pretty ugly before the well-intentioned hotel staff come around mid-morning to clean things up...for another day at least until the next tide brings more in.

SUMMARY:
We would certainly come back if and when we return to Bali! Only this time, we would stay more nights, might consider upgrading to a villa, and would figure out a way to have more dinners offsite. The staff is wonderful, the property beautiful, the cottages and villas spacious and charming. This is a small (I think about 60 units total) resort where you can feel at peace and recharge your batteries in an authentic Balinese environment! We would recommend Jimbaran Puri Bali to almost anybody -- whether you're a couple, on your honeymoon, or with family. It's a special place!

Room Tip: Cottages have plenty of space for a small family as long as you're OK with being in one (very bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank go_w0rldtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

286 - 292 of 1,118 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

Jimbaran Puri Bali is situated on a lovely stretch of beach in Bali. The rooms are very spacious and with great amenities - herbal tea delivered to your room every night before bed.
We had one night when we were kept up by noisy guests next door. After notifying guest relations about our problem, we were upgraded from a beachfront villa to a suite. The staff was incredibly gracious and the suite was stunning and quiet.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RebeccaS539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed 5 nights at the Puri Bali. This quiet hotel consists of a number of Balinese-style villas surrounded by beautiful gardens by the beach. The facilities are excellent with the swimming pool just behind the quiet beach, making it perfect for relaxation.
The food is superb. A good quality buffet breakfast, a beach-side café for lunch and two restaurants for dinner, all with views of the sea. One of the restaurants serves Indonesian food, the other international food. The prices are around 10-20 EUROs per main course (so expensive for Bali) but the food really is delicious and worth it.
The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful and really add to the enjoyment of the hotel.
The hotel is a wonderful place to relax. However, bare in mind that you need a driver to visit the interesting temples, towns/villages and scenery of the island (mainly located further north than Jimbaran). The hotel can organise this for you.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

My husband and I spent 3 nights in a garden view bungalow before heading to another villa for our wedding. A couple in our bridal party also stayed there with us. We loved it. It was perfect as a couple and a wonderful spot to chill out with friends. A great way to kick off our wedding celebrations and get on 'Bali time'. The beach front is absolutely perfect - great swimming and lots of lounges/day beds and recliners on the beach, and no touts.

We also had a beach massage (set in the hotel a bit so you are off the beach but have the relaxing sounds of the waves and the view!) well worth it at an hour for $25 (they were good).

The room was lovely- we felt like we had our own self contained home, it was huge! Charming Balinese feel to it.

While drinks and food at the hotel were on the expensive side, there are a lot of options nearby to eat - we spent 2 dinners down the beach at the seafood BBQ restaurants Jimbaran is famous for, and on our last night happened to catch the full moon party the hotel was organizing which included amazing freshly grilled on the spot food and really great traditional entertainment the entire way through. We also lit and set free lanterns off the beach, which made the experience all the more special and memorable.

The grounds of the hotel are gorgeous and only add to the tranquility.

Service was always very helpful and done with big smiles all round. Lovely staff.

Highly recommend this hotel and we wouldn't hesitate to stay there again, and for longer!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LieneDelforce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

If you are looking for a holiday beach vacation in Bali then Jimbaran Puri is the place.
After a one week visit through Java and Ubud we arrived at Jimbaran Puri to have a relaxing week in the sun.
The hotel is really located on the beach with the pool just 6 steps from the beach, with beautiful gardens around.
Although the hotel needs some renovation (external areas of the cottages and villas and its garden furniture, the bar area is really poor).... having travelled in top hotels around the world, we know what we are talking about... we did have a wonderful stay !
When we arrived we really had the feeling being pampered... thanks the absolutely marvelous staff. We remember in particular Ann, the F & B manager. She was really involved and taking care in our well being.
During our whole stay every (!!) staff member (reception, restaurant, pool, room servant, beach,...) was absolutely adorable.
But our special thanks go to the guest relation manager 'Lia' who was taking all our concerns very personal and was doing really everything to make our stay unbelievable. She was our sun from the very first day till the last one.
Thank you very much ....all of you. We had an unforgettable vacation in Jimbaran Puri !

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeanalbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

My wife and I stayed at Jimbaran Puri Bali for 4 nights as the second part of our Bali travels. Coming from Maya Ubud we were spoilt a bit, but Jimbaran Puri Bali impressed us as well. In a different way.
We booked a Garden Cottage which more than met our expectations. The room was extremely well appointed with your own terrace and small courtyard plus an outdoor shower, ideal when coming back from the beach.
Talking about the beach, that was perfect too. It sort of felt as a private beach and there are plenty of loungers to pick from. Also my wife confirmed that the massages they perform right at the beach were wonderful.
We are not really pool-people but one afternoon we decided to give it a go. The pool is huge and also very quiet with many chairs and loungers to choose from and close to the bar.
The breakfast was also in a wonderful setting just 50 meters from the sea and with an excellent choice of juices, breads and local delicatessen.
The thing we did not like was the fact that the price of food/drinks are very high at the hotel. I believe the hotel would do better by lowering their prices as their restaurants / bar area were deserted at night. I believe lowering the prices to a level perhaps still slightly above the prices of the surrounding areas would generate more money for them in the long term. I would have definitely spent more money at the hotel if the prices were more reasonable because the tables at the beach looked very tempting but were empty most of the time.
A short taxi ride from the resort you will find the most amazing barbecued seafood, which we tried 2 evenings. You can indulge on lobster, king prawns, rice, salad and drinks etc. for 40 Euros for 2 people.
All in all a great resort after coming with high expectation from Maya Ubud, and I wholeheartedly recommend this hotel and would return in the future.

Room Tip: The Garden Cottages are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ivo-Knottnerus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We booked this hotel last minute as our travel plans changed and the other resort we had booked for the rest of our stay didn't have any availability. I loved this hotel from the moment I walked in and I really wish we had stayed here for the entire holiday. It feels cosy and it has a real boutique feel to it. The room was absolutely lovely, it was huge and it felt like having your own private bungalow complete with both indoor and outdoor showers. The hotel is right on the beach and you can hear the waves crashing against the shore, which I enjoyed. The breakfast setting was lovely and the breakfast was also very nice, with a very good selection of fresh fruits, eggs, bakery and local food. We also ate in the bar at lunch time and the food was very nice, I particularly loved the Tuna tartar with Asian flavours.

If like me you don't like the huge and busy resorts, this place is definitely a good option. Also there are loads of seafood restaurants on Jimbaran bay that are only a small walk away from the hotel. I would love to come back and stay longer.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miti81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jimbaran
0.1 mi away
Kayumanis Jimbaran Private Estate & Spa
2.5 mi away
RIMBA Jimbaran BALI by AYANA
0.2 mi away
The Open House
The Open House
#7 of 58 in Jimbaran
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
2.3 mi away
AYANA Resort and Spa Bali
0.5 mi away
INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Jimbaran Puri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Jimbaran Puri

Address: Jl. Uluwatu | Yoga Perkanthi Lane, Jimbaran 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Jimbaran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Jimbaran
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Jimbaran
#6 Spa Hotel in Jimbaran
#6 Family Hotel in Jimbaran
#6 Luxury Hotel in Jimbaran
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Jimbaran
Price Range: £182 - £372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Jimbaran Puri 5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Jimbaran Puri is a luxury resort hotel in Jimbaran, Bali with a authentic, unpretentious and supremely romantic style. Located at the beachfront of Jimbaran Bay, one of the most beautiful beaches in Bali, the resort promises uninterrupted breathtaking sea views and is perfect for those looking for a private space to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Belmond Jimbaran Puri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jimbaran Puri Bali By Orient-Express Hotel Jimbaran
Puri Bali Hotel Jimbaran
Jimbaran Puri Bali Hotel
Belmond Jimbaran Puri Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing