We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly place and people to remember!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
AYANA Resort and Spa Bali
Ranked #13 of 58 Hotels in Jimbaran
Reviewed 1 August 2014

First of all, I regret not having written this review immediately following our stay in January 2014, as while the 5 star experience was wonderful, my memory of some of the specific examples of what made this holiday one to remember sill have no doubt escaped me with the passage of time! Nevertheless, I can't speak highly enough of this amazing place and its high class staff.

We are regular travellers to Bali but have previously stayed in Kuta, Tuban, Legian or Nusa Dua. On this occasion I asked my husband to surprise me with a hotel. I could ever have dreamt of what awaited me! As soon as we took the turn from the airport towards Jimbaran Bay I was intrigued...until we arrived at the grand entrance to Ayana, what became our home away from home for a week.

The hotel grounds are lusciously green and expansive. We were checked in at what appeared a very quiet and intimate check in desk overlooking lily ponds and the ocean in the distance. Not your usual hotel lobby, so where were we staying? After a prompt and friendly check in, we were greeted by a gentleman who escorted us on to a buggy (loaded with our luggage in the meantime). It was then the next part of the surprise was revealed, we had a butler service! Our butler meandered through the gardens, past the main hotel and a number of gorgeous pools and wedding chapel venues until we pulled up at a traditional Balinese gated entrance to a stand alone villa.

This just kept getting better...we walked in and had a tour inside. Spacious, lovely decor, massive four poster king bed, separate living area with couches, flat screen TV and mini bar. Humungous two roomed bathroom with double vanity, huge spa bath overlooking an outdoor water feature and outdoor shower, chaise. Separate inside shower and separate toilet. To the side of the first bathroom area, a massive walk in wardrobe with ample space for luggage, two hanging areas, multiple drawers and shelves.

Just when I thought I had seen it all, our butler opened the curtains and another part of the surprise was revealed...we were in fact staying in a cliff top oceanfront villa...we rushed outside to the hilltop and were welcomed by a breathtaking view. We also had a private plunge pool and double sized gazebo day bed...were we in heaven? Close enough for me!

So the location was clearly spectacular, but that wasn't all that made our stay one to never forget. The staff were fantastic (special mention to butler, Gus) - couldn't do enough for you. Yes, you could argue that when you're paying for a villa with a butler service that this is what you should expect. However, all the staffer encountered including our butlers were so genuinely kind and caring in everything they did, you could tell they took pride in among sure you had the best time possible, they weren't just 'doing a job'.

Some examples of the outstanding and personalised service: We had gifts left for our daughter (rubber ducky bath set and toiletries) and rose petals in a heart shape carefully placed in our bedroom one night when we returned from dinner. The staff were caring towards our daughter and made sure she had everything she needed (cot was set up in the villa prior to our arrival etc). Also, during our stay we had an issue with controlling the air conditioner thermostat and noticed some maintenance required on one of the curtain rails (loose screw, coming off wall). These concerns were dealt with promptly, courteously and without fuss or inconvenience to us (resolved while we went out).

What else? In regard to the villas, they had a really handy set up whereby you were provided with a mobile phone which could be used within the resort to call the butler at any time of day or night, whether it was to order some room service or be collected and transported in a buggy (the resort is sizeable and hilly and given we were traveling with a 10 month old, walking with lots of 'hand luggage' was not always an option, so we really appreciated this service).

The pools were beautiful - a few to choose from. Our favourite was the main two tiered infinity pool overlooking the ocean and adjoining a couple of the restaurants. It had great atmosphere and was suitable for kids, plus here was a nice hot jacuzzi to jump in and out of. Plenty of day beds and gazebos to escape the sun. There were other pools to enjoy too, including one which was for villa guests and another which was adults only, on the cliffside (amazing but we didn't use it since we had our daughter with us).

Food was impressive at all venues. We enjoyed an a la carte breakfast with other villa guests at the fine dining restaurant. Other mornings we preferred to opt for the buffet at one of the restaurants in the main part of the hotel. So much choice and all great quality! In addition to breakfast, we could not fault any of the meals we had in the variety of restaurants. There was Italian, Asian, Seafood (down beneath the hotel overlooking the bay) and much more. There were also several bars, although we never bothered to line up to get into the very popular Rock Bar (hotel guests get priority entry but even then, you really needed to line up around 4pm ahead of sunset - access was via an inclination which could carry only about 10 people at a time).

The fitness centre and spa were excellent. Good sized gym with a variety of equipment and never a shortage, even when busy in the mornings. The spa was sooo relaxing and treatments were great. That was in the spa, but there was also the world class option of having a massage (individually or in a couple) in a gazebo over the ocean or a thermo spa experience - both sounded amazing although did come with a hefty price tag so I refrained!

I am sure I will have forgotten something but no doubt by the description above, most will be convinced this is one place to definitely try! Even if you don't stay in a villa, the main hotel is lovely too. We asked to have a look at one of the hotel rooms and were very impressed with their size, amenities and standard of finish. We would not hesitate to stay in the main hotel next time (the reality being that the household budget may not always stretch to the dream of staying in a villa!). The entire resort is so well set up that we could have gone the whole week without leaving - we only did as we had arranged to meet some friends in Kuta. It is also worth mentioning that the hotel is connected to another hotel establishment called Rimba Jimbaran - guests of each hotel can use the amentities of both and there is a regular shuttle service between them.

Thank you so much Ayana for making this one of our most memorable trips. We hope to return one day soon!

Room Tip: Free wifi in villas, not sure about main hotel rooms. If the budget allows it, indulge in a cliff to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JetsettersWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,760)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,303 - 1,309 of 3,760 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

This is a pleasant resort and everything is done nicely. A few points to consider that I was not aware of prior to booking.
This is a very large and expensive resort you are away from any other influence of the bali culture. There are loads of tourist that make the resort very congested most of the time. Every thing is more expensive than any other place we went too, and you have to ask yourself why is a glass of basic wine $22 here and the same wine $5 out of the resort? Value for money?..

The room we stayed in was in the Ulawatu wing (standard room) and walked into two single beds, the manager kindly gave us a free hour massage for the mix up as we booked a king. The rock bar is a must but again loaded with tourists from 330pm to see the sunset at 6pm ish... You probably won't get a seat.

We left early, They were hospitable in this situation.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Emrich701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Visited Ayana Beach over a weekend while we were in Indonesia. Amazing place. Have much to say about this place, but it has to bee experienced. Amazing bar on the rocks aswell as our best massage experience on all times: the spa on the rocks. The service is great aswell as the accomodations.

Stayed: August 2013
Thank Jonathan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We got married at AYANA Resort in October last year and decided we would love to come back to spend part of our honeymoon. Nothing much has changed over the last 9 months, we were welcomed with their trademark frangipani lei's as well and a refreshing cup of welcome drink, which I really enjoyed.

Helen from front desk looked after us from checking-in to showing us to our room. The check-in proceedure did not take long despite the peak season. As part of the honeymoon, we were offered an ocean view room which we really appreciate, despite having booked a resort view room earlier. A complimentary "breakfast-in-bed" was also provided to us.

Our room was located on the highest level, west side of the resort which consist of the beautiful golf-course and ocean view. It also happens to be one of the few rooms in the resort with a day bed on the balcony. The room is very, very spacious which comes with generous amenities, and also a comfortable king size bed which gave us quality sleep throughout our stay, just like before.

Only downside was that housekeeping seem to have missed our room a couple of times, which resulted in us having to call in to request for a room make-up by early afternoon. Also would have been great if complimentary Wi-Fi internet was provided in all the rooms too, not just public areas and villas.

Breakfast at Padi Restaurant was something we looked forward to every morning, with the huge selection of food of different cuisines, accompanied by the traditional Balinese rindik playing in the background. We also enjoyed a couple of evenings at the famous Rock Bar, which is still as amazing as before.

We managed to 2 sessions of aquatonic spa during our stay, which is totally worth it and we really enjoyed it, especially the sunset view from the elevated pool area.

All the staff members we encountered at the resort are friendly and also very helpful, and we would like to extend our appreciation towards Anna, Helen and Puspa from front desk/reception. Being back here for 6 days have definitely brought back a lot of memories from our wedding, especially when we revisited the Asmara Gazebo and Chandra Surya. We would definitely love to come back again for a third time, perhaps on an off-peak season, as the public area and swimming pools were a little too crowded at this time of the year. Once again, thank you AYANA for yet another great hospitality!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pdra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This is truly a beautiful resort. Rooms are wonderful and service is fabulous. There are so many options for dining and bars and all are fabulous. We loved the beach pool but all pool areas are gorgeous. Rock bar at sunset is just fabulous. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I honeymooned at Ayana Resort & Spa for 3 days in the mid of July 2014 and if I hadn't already paid for another hotel in Bali, I would have certainly extended my stay here to cover the entire trip. The entire experience at Ayana fills you with the desire to never leave this place. The rooms of a hotel in this category are expected to be good but, what makes them exceptional is the service offered by the staff. Words cannot describe the service standards of the staff at Ayana. Your experience starts right from the moment you arrive, when even the security at the main entrance recognises you by your name. The food and the beverages served at the Club lounge are of an exceptional quality and Ayana has set very high standards for it's competitors. I am a health freak and cannot remember when I last devoured multiple scoops of a chocolate ice cream or Black Forest cakes in a single sitting. The food at Ayana has easily contributed to addition of several kgs to my body weight. The views from the Rock Bar have to be experienced. It deserves the hype it gets. A special thanks to Ms. Sari and Ms. Iin at the Club lounge front desk for their lovely service and help during our stay. The only sour point of my experience here was the Full day trip arranged by Ayana on our last day here. The guide (some Mr. Kom) and the driver (Mr. Penny) were amongst the worst people my wife and I have encountered all our lives. They have neither the attitude nor the mannerisms required to be guides. They did not take us to all the places promised in the tour itinerary, but instead drove the car at a snails pace throughout the trip so that they could finish the 8 hours (i.e. Full Day) without having stopped at most places on the list. Even at the places where we were stopped, it was just for 10-15 mins to take pictures. We weren't able to experience any of the places we visited. Even though private operators were charging much lesser outside, I chose to pay Ayana that extra amount expecting their exceptional service here as well, but unfortunately my decision backfired and the $116 charged by Ayana was a complete rip-off. The trip was not worth more than $40. My suggestion is not to take such trips from Ayana, but rather just enjoy their amazing property and hospitality and book a separate trip outside. Nevertheless, thanks to Ayana for a truly memorable stay. Will not only recommend this hotel to family and friends, but also will go back to Ayana whenever we return to Bali.

Room Tip: Take the Ocean facing Club rooms or the Villas for a truly memorable experience. Prefer club rooms c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Jatin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AYANARESORT, Resort Manager at AYANA Resort and Spa Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear ‘Jatin A’,

Thank you for choosing AYANA Resort and Spa Bali for your honeymoon destination. I am delighted to hear that you had a memorable experience and felt welcome throughout your stay with the caring service from our Ladies and Gentlemen.

I will pass on your special thanks to Sari and Iin along with the whole Club Lounge team, who will greatly appreciate to hear your compliments.

On behalf of the resort, I would like to apologize for the unpleasant experience of your tour around Bali. This tour was arranged by a third party operator, Hotel Extras, who have their own pricing, management and staffing separate from AYANA. I have shared your feedback with Hotel Extras management to ensure that the quality and service of their guides is aligned with the service standards that our whole team at AYANA takes such pride in delivering.

Again, thank you for the constructive feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to AYANA Resort and Spa Bali in the future.


Best Regards,

Clive Edwards
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

What an overrated experience
It's so nice to be greeted by the arrogant door people manning the list and the lift
A great waste of time to go down and have a drink with a bunch of people more interested in their cameras than the surroundings
What a boring crowd
Don't waste your time

Stayed: July 2014
10  Thank Feral23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jimbaran
0.6 mi away
RIMBA Jimbaran BALI by AYANA
6.9 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
7.5 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#19 of 148 in Seminyak
3,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Hilton Bali Resort
Hilton Bali Resort
#22 of 54 in Nusa Dua
1,979 reviews
6.6 mi away
Grand Hyatt Bali
Grand Hyatt Bali
#20 of 54 in Nusa Dua
3,859 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Villas at AYANA Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AYANA Resort and Spa Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AYANA Resort and Spa Bali

Address: Jl. Karang Mas Sejahtera | Karang Mas Estate, Jimbaran 80364, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Jimbaran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Jimbaran
#5 Family Hotel in Jimbaran
#6 Romantic Hotel in Jimbaran
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Jimbaran
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Jimbaran
#11 Spa Hotel in Jimbaran
#13 Luxury Hotel in Jimbaran
Price Range: £177 - £513 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — AYANA Resort and Spa Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning AYANA Resort and Spa, BALI is a world-class destination resort located on 90 hectares of cliff-top land perched above Jimbaran Bay, just 10 kilometers from Bali airport. AYANA’s majestic sunsets and ocean-front views are complemented by white-sand beach and shared facilities as Bali’s only integrated resort with RIMBA Jimbaran BALI. With full access to all dining and recreation at both AYANA and RIMBA and complimentary resort shuttle, guests enjoy the most extensive on-site facilities of any resort in Bali. There are 19 restaurants and bars including the famous Rock Bar; exclusive private beach; 12 swimming pools; world-class Spa with Aquatonic Seawater Therapy Pool and Spa on the Rocks treatment; golf-putting and fitness center; and complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your AYANA Resort and Spa Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayana Hotel Jimbaran
AYANA Resort And Spa Bali Jimbaran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing