We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
AYANA Resort and Spa
Ranked #13 of 57 Hotels in Jimbaran
Reviewed 26 August 2009

Although we normally avoid large resort hotels, we really loved the Ayana. Granted, we did stay in a villa, which made all the difference; had we booked into the general hotel, the visit would not have been as special. The villas are in their own area of the resort, and in addition to being very spacious, quiet, having a private plunge pool, and butler service, the delicious breakfast is served in a restaurant reserved for villa guests, so the long buffet lines that other reviewers complained about did not affect us. The service was uniformly friendly; I often find that at many hotels there is an underlying current of resentment towards guests, and I did not feel this here.
Years ago I stayed at the Four Seasons Jimbaran, and believe that the Ayana villas are a much better value than those of the FS, and I vastly prefer the Ayana's location, views, and amenities. We were perfectly happy spending a few days and nights in seclusion, away from the rest of Jimbaran (exploration of the island occurred both on previous trips to Bali and later on in this trip), and found the excellent service and setting to be deeply restorative, despite the resort's large size.
The primary complaint I have about the Ayana is the laughably, ludicrously, overpriced wine list. If management would lower prices I posit that they would quickly generate much greater overall beverage profits on higher volume; it takes a lot for my husband and me to not order wine with a nice dinner, but even we could not stomach $80US ++ for Yellow Tail. I vastly prefer wine to cocktails when dining, so I just went without, and my husband ordered the fantastic Storm beer (of course at 6x ++ the retail price).

In retrospect, I wish that we stayed at the Ayana for our entire 10-day trip, for much to our dismay, the rest of Bali has become far too crowded and overpriced, and I do not intend to return to the island for years. (Over the years I have spent many months on Bali and am friends with both expats and locals, so have a somewhat informed perspective.)

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Intrpd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,665)
There are newer reviews for AYANA Resort and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,448 - 2,454 of 3,665 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2009

What a great find in Bali, the former Ritz Carlton still offers top shelf service, facilities and location at a much better price tag (relative to the Ritz). We enjoyed exploring the pools, beach and spa and would certainly return when we visit Bali.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr_Jet_Lag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2009

My wife and I stayed here three nights in a ocean view villa. Absoultely beautiful and large- 3200sqft of indoor/outdoor areas. Larger by 1000sqft, $300 USD less per night, and much more private than the Four Seasons next door where we also stayed. Our villa was very private. Even in the plunge pool, no one can see you- except gardeners perhaps. We had a wonderfully large daybed to lounge on outside as well.

If you stay in a villa, the Ayana (Former Ritz Carlton) would be an excellent choice for a honeymoon. Here's why: Most importantly, it has the WOW factor for a honeymoon. Bali is exotic, and the villas are just awesome over your regular style hotel room. They are completely detached from another, have Balinese thatched roofs and valuted celings, huge 15x15ft bathrooms- very special for a special event. The resort and villas are worthy of how important a honeymoon is. (Bali is Much less money than Bora Bora where we honeymooned.) Our villa was extremely private because there was no villa on one side of us. Ask for an end villa.
Here's the criteria though: You have to want a very relaxing honeymoon. Just hanging out with each and enjoying the moment. The villas are so large you can just relax in many areas- there's even two TV's- but you have to want that because the biggest draw back of the resort, as many have said, and even I was skepitcal about it, was how far away from anythinig it is. The resort's driveway alone is at least a 5 minute
walk. Beyond that it is 10 minutes by car before the next hotel. We only left the property once and it was 15-20 taxi ride to a resturant on the beach. We usually like to eat all meals off resort to enjoy local tastes and save money. There were several "local" resturants/food stalls 10 minutes away- but we never saw any tourists at them and no one on Tripadvisor has mentioned them so we didn't risk it- also the taxi drivers say don't eat there you'll get Bali belly- might just be trying to take you to the places where they get a kick back instead. There is a Circle K or 7/11 type store on the main road where we got beer and water and snacks. So to make it easy, you have to mostly stay at the resort. It has several beautful resturants. We ate a Dava and Lily Pad- food average, service was fantasic at Dava- made us feel like celebrities. We even got a card signed by everyone there thanking us- nice touch.

The service was excellent all over the resort. Staff extremely friendly. Management was incredible as well. We had a slight mishap with the lighting in our villa. We went to the Villa only lobby (yes the villas have their own special check-in area) and explained to the management the issue. They resolved the situation so generously and professionally that it just amazed us. It is so refreshing to know that some businesses still actually care about their customers. So if you have any problems during your stay, instead of complaining about it later, just politely discuss it with a supervisor and I'm sure they will do whatever they can to make you happy.

Here are some other resort & villa notes I took while there in no particular order:
-Excellent four poster romantic bed with mosquito netting that closes.
-Can hear noises through thatched roof, birds, airplanes(noisey at times),kites
-Awesome plush towels but only one rod to hang one on.
-Villa shows slight signs of wear.
-Poor cleaning of mildew in shower & toilet area (discovered this is a Bali thing because the Four Seasons and the Laguna Resort both had the same problem. I guess they don't use bleach.)
-Nice plunge pool & day bed with lights.
-Inside villa ceiling is beautiful bamboo and thatch work. Villa smells really nice.
-Nothing special amenities except the large soaps. No logos
-Flowers in our tub
-Flowers all over the resort in every rest room, on top of every ledge, everywhere, even tucked into the towels at the pool. Such a nice touch.

We tried a couples spa treatment which was incredibly special. We had our own beautiful spa villa and lots of pampering. Will remember it forever.

Even though this resort is in a remote location, the value for the villas makes it so worth it. The villa is so unique with its own private plunge pool compared to your typical fancy hotel suite, that it would make an excellent honeymoon or romantic get away. I would do four nights here in a villa for romantic seclusion, and three nights at the Laguna Resort in Nusa Dua $240 USD per night for beach, resturants within walking, and day trips.

Out of nine hotels we stayed in in Bali & Thailand, this was our highlight. The villa just makes it that much better.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tadtv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2009

From the end of July to beginning of August we spend 10 amazing days at Ayana Resort & Spa in Bali. This is certainly one of the best resorts/hotels we have seen and exactly what we were looking for in terms of comfort, service, and relaxation.

The staff at Ayana is extremely friendly and always trying its best to accommodate your wishes. The location is simply beautiful, with the hotel and the villas sitting on top of a cliff with beatiful views over the ocean.

Our room, even though the lowest category you can book in Ayana (resort view), had beautiful views to the garden and partly view to the ocean and a really big balcony. The bed was very comfortable allowing an excellent sleep. Bathroom (seperate shower and bathtub) was equipped with everything you need. Room service was excellent as towels were changed even two times a day and everything from bodylotion to mouthwash was replenished, so our experience is completely different than some of those mentioned here before. One morning we had to go leave early for a daytrip and got a beautifully arranged breakfast delivered to the room right on time at 6 am in the morning - without extra charge!

We used almost all restaurants at Ayana and we were always very satisfied with the quality of food and service. One of the best restaurants is certainly Dava, where we enjoyed a great 6 course dinner. Wine prices are extremely high though - but the fresh fruit juices and great cocktails are a very good alternative. You can drink your wine at home anyway, :))

In terms of pools - all are great and offer nice surroundings and very good service. Kubu beach is a beatiful and small private beach of Ayana. Free transfer from the hotel lobby with a golf cart and somthing like 180 steps bring you closer to a real treasure of this resort. Even though waves and currents are present, you can have a refreshing dip in the ocean. And most importantly, no people bothering you by trying to sell something to you.

A special highlight for us was the "Rockbar". We have been there 4 or 5 evenings, because the great location so close to the ocean, the very friendly and funny staff and the great drinks were drawing us back again and again.

Even though there were some reconstructions at the Padi restaurant going on while we where there, this didn't bother us at all and we were rewarded by an really improved and ever so big breakfast buffet after the reconstruction was finished.

All in all, this is a great resort for a romantic holiday, a business trip (they have nice conferencing area as well) or a holiday with the whole family, as there were also a kids club and some nice pools for kids.

Only compromise you have to take is the kind of secluded location of the hotel, a short taxi trip is necessary to go to restaurants at Jimbaran beach or to Kuta / Seminak.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2009

Perfect in every way. Stayed there when it was still Ritz - the ocean front cliff villa - it was such a luxurious villa. Service impeccable - lovely views, GREAT food (espeically the sashimi in Honzen, the thai restaurant also excellent, wonderful breakfast made to order, Padi was also great) - cannot say enough good things about this resort! It also has one of the best fruit punch called 'tropical dream' - so refreshing.

Beautiful everywhere!

Seafood in Jimbaran beach (absolutely divine) only some minutes of driving away.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kizzcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2009

heavenly resort, on huge grounds, with high standards but food there is pricey.
location on top of the cliffs of jimbaran bay is beautiful but secluded, taxi ride to kuta and airport around 10usd on meter and 30min depending on traffic.

i loved the place and my stay, but was unhappy with the noises from minor renovations and corporate events while we were there. we went out a lot during the day so it didn't hurt that much, but didn't like the noises and workers around us at the resort.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joycekwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2009

Stayed here when it was Ritz Carlton, but I do not think that the rebranding of the place has changed it that much.

First, this is a BIG resort, almost 400 rooms and countless villas spread around. Several pools with fountains, waterfalls with hidden aquariums and water spitting dragons. There are bars, restaurants, 4 wedding chapels, spa, thalasso center, 2 beaches and a small golf course. This place has everything, but personality.....

Of course it is beautiful, the well manicured lawns, the organic shaped infinity pool down at the beach, the spa pavillion at the cliff. This is a great resort!

The rooms in the main building are very American with upholstered furniture and swanky ornaments. There are marble, gold and all the amenities you can expect from a 5 star resort.

But, this did not impress me at all. Far to overpriced, too big and too "perfect". You could be anywhere in the world, most likely in the States. The breakfast experience was horrible, hundreds of people eating at the same time, messy, overcrowded and noisy.

But again, this is my opinion. If you are looking for a tropical resort to spend your holiday with family and children, this is perfect! But, if you are looking for a romantic hideaway, this place is a nightmare.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VikingVagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jimbaran
0.6 mi away
RIMBA Jimbaran BALI by AYANA
7.5 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#20 of 147 in Seminyak
3,400 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#7 of 147 in Seminyak
1,557 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Bali
The Ritz-Carlton, Bali
#6 of 54 in Nusa Dua
2,050 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Villas at AYANA Resort, BALI
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AYANA Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AYANA Resort and Spa

Address: Jl. Karang Mas Sejahtera | Karang Mas Estate, Jimbaran 80364, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Jimbaran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Jimbaran
#5 Family Hotel in Jimbaran
#6 Romantic Hotel in Jimbaran
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Jimbaran
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Jimbaran
#11 Spa Hotel in Jimbaran
#13 Luxury Hotel in Jimbaran
Price Range: £193 - £402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — AYANA Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning AYANA Resort and Spa, BALI is a world-class destination resort located on 90 hectares of cliff-top land perched above Jimbaran Bay, just 10 kilometers from Bali airport. AYANA’s majestic sunsets and ocean-front views are complemented by white-sand beach and shared facilities as Bali’s only integrated resort with RIMBA Jimbaran BALI. With full access to all dining and recreation at both AYANA and RIMBA and complimentary resort shuttle, guests enjoy the most extensive on-site facilities of any resort in Bali. There are 19 restaurants and bars including the famous Rock Bar; exclusive private beach; 12 swimming pools; world-class Spa with Aquatonic Seawater Therapy Pool and Spa on the Rocks treatment; golf-putting and fitness center; and complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your AYANA Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayana Hotel Jimbaran
AYANA Resort And Spa Bali/Jimbaran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing