We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
AYANA Resort and Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$240
US$220
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Keraton Jimbaran Beach Resort(Jimbaran)(Great Value!)
US$124
US$103
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$397
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$253
US$241
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate(Jimbaran)(Great Value!)
US$163
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$917
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$363
US$288
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$275
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alindra Villa(Jimbaran)(Great Value!)
US$71
US$54
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Joya, Villa & Bungalows(Jimbaran)(Great Value!)
US$116
US$112
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,904)
Filter reviews
3,904 results
Traveller rating
2,728
716
275
92
93
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,728
716
275
92
93
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrock barayana resortthe cliffocean beach poolkubu beachclub roomdamar terraceaquatonic poolsami samidava restaurantpadi restaurantrecommend ayanaon the rocksritz carltonhotel guestsindian oceanour honeymoon
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,619 - 2,624 of 3,904 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2009

we spend 6 nights in the resort in August 2009. We had a 2 bed room villa with plunge pool. Everything in the reosrt was fabulous. Only small issue i had with the food/wine which was expensive and pretty mediocre. However, excellent service, great resort nice pools. My kids loved it. They have a small beach about 5 minutes drive by golf cart. The new Rock Bar was amazing. Built right on the rocks. The Spa is certainly the best on the whole island.
I definitely go back

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asiatraveler1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2009

Although we normally avoid large resort hotels, we really loved the Ayana. Granted, we did stay in a villa, which made all the difference; had we booked into the general hotel, the visit would not have been as special. The villas are in their own area of the resort, and in addition to being very spacious, quiet, having a private plunge pool, and butler service, the delicious breakfast is served in a restaurant reserved for villa guests, so the long buffet lines that other reviewers complained about did not affect us. The service was uniformly friendly; I often find that at many hotels there is an underlying current of resentment towards guests, and I did not feel this here.
Years ago I stayed at the Four Seasons Jimbaran, and believe that the Ayana villas are a much better value than those of the FS, and I vastly prefer the Ayana's location, views, and amenities. We were perfectly happy spending a few days and nights in seclusion, away from the rest of Jimbaran (exploration of the island occurred both on previous trips to Bali and later on in this trip), and found the excellent service and setting to be deeply restorative, despite the resort's large size.
The primary complaint I have about the Ayana is the laughably, ludicrously, overpriced wine list. If management would lower prices I posit that they would quickly generate much greater overall beverage profits on higher volume; it takes a lot for my husband and me to not order wine with a nice dinner, but even we could not stomach $80US ++ for Yellow Tail. I vastly prefer wine to cocktails when dining, so I just went without, and my husband ordered the fantastic Storm beer (of course at 6x ++ the retail price).

In retrospect, I wish that we stayed at the Ayana for our entire 10-day trip, for much to our dismay, the rest of Bali has become far too crowded and overpriced, and I do not intend to return to the island for years. (Over the years I have spent many months on Bali and am friends with both expats and locals, so have a somewhat informed perspective.)

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Intrpd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2009

What a great find in Bali, the former Ritz Carlton still offers top shelf service, facilities and location at a much better price tag (relative to the Ritz). We enjoyed exploring the pools, beach and spa and would certainly return when we visit Bali.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr_Jet_Lag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2009

My wife and I stayed here three nights in a ocean view villa. Absoultely beautiful and large- 3200sqft of indoor/outdoor areas. Larger by 1000sqft, $300 USD less per night, and much more private than the Four Seasons next door where we also stayed. Our villa was very private. Even in the plunge pool, no one can see you- except gardeners perhaps. We had a wonderfully large daybed to lounge on outside as well.

If you stay in a villa, the Ayana (Former Ritz Carlton) would be an excellent choice for a honeymoon. Here's why: Most importantly, it has the WOW factor for a honeymoon. Bali is exotic, and the villas are just awesome over your regular style hotel room. They are completely detached from another, have Balinese thatched roofs and valuted celings, huge 15x15ft bathrooms- very special for a special event. The resort and villas are worthy of how important a honeymoon is. (Bali is Much less money than Bora Bora where we honeymooned.) Our villa was extremely private because there was no villa on one side of us. Ask for an end villa.
Here's the criteria though: You have to want a very relaxing honeymoon. Just hanging out with each and enjoying the moment. The villas are so large you can just relax in many areas- there's even two TV's- but you have to want that because the biggest draw back of the resort, as many have said, and even I was skepitcal about it, was how far away from anythinig it is. The resort's driveway alone is at least a 5 minute
walk. Beyond that it is 10 minutes by car before the next hotel. We only left the property once and it was 15-20 taxi ride to a resturant on the beach. We usually like to eat all meals off resort to enjoy local tastes and save money. There were several "local" resturants/food stalls 10 minutes away- but we never saw any tourists at them and no one on Tripadvisor has mentioned them so we didn't risk it- also the taxi drivers say don't eat there you'll get Bali belly- might just be trying to take you to the places where they get a kick back instead. There is a Circle K or 7/11 type store on the main road where we got beer and water and snacks. So to make it easy, you have to mostly stay at the resort. It has several beautful resturants. We ate a Dava and Lily Pad- food average, service was fantasic at Dava- made us feel like celebrities. We even got a card signed by everyone there thanking us- nice touch.

The service was excellent all over the resort. Staff extremely friendly. Management was incredible as well. We had a slight mishap with the lighting in our villa. We went to the Villa only lobby (yes the villas have their own special check-in area) and explained to the management the issue. They resolved the situation so generously and professionally that it just amazed us. It is so refreshing to know that some businesses still actually care about their customers. So if you have any problems during your stay, instead of complaining about it later, just politely discuss it with a supervisor and I'm sure they will do whatever they can to make you happy.

Here are some other resort & villa notes I took while there in no particular order:
-Excellent four poster romantic bed with mosquito netting that closes.
-Can hear noises through thatched roof, birds, airplanes(noisey at times),kites
-Awesome plush towels but only one rod to hang one on.
-Villa shows slight signs of wear.
-Poor cleaning of mildew in shower & toilet area (discovered this is a Bali thing because the Four Seasons and the Laguna Resort both had the same problem. I guess they don't use bleach.)
-Nice plunge pool & day bed with lights.
-Inside villa ceiling is beautiful bamboo and thatch work. Villa smells really nice.
-Nothing special amenities except the large soaps. No logos
-Flowers in our tub
-Flowers all over the resort in every rest room, on top of every ledge, everywhere, even tucked into the towels at the pool. Such a nice touch.

We tried a couples spa treatment which was incredibly special. We had our own beautiful spa villa and lots of pampering. Will remember it forever.

Even though this resort is in a remote location, the value for the villas makes it so worth it. The villa is so unique with its own private plunge pool compared to your typical fancy hotel suite, that it would make an excellent honeymoon or romantic get away. I would do four nights here in a villa for romantic seclusion, and three nights at the Laguna Resort in Nusa Dua $240 USD per night for beach, resturants within walking, and day trips.

Out of nine hotels we stayed in in Bali & Thailand, this was our highlight. The villa just makes it that much better.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tadtv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2009

From the end of July to beginning of August we spend 10 amazing days at Ayana Resort & Spa in Bali. This is certainly one of the best resorts/hotels we have seen and exactly what we were looking for in terms of comfort, service, and relaxation.

The staff at Ayana is extremely friendly and always trying its best to accommodate your wishes. The location is simply beautiful, with the hotel and the villas sitting on top of a cliff with beatiful views over the ocean.

Our room, even though the lowest category you can book in Ayana (resort view), had beautiful views to the garden and partly view to the ocean and a really big balcony. The bed was very comfortable allowing an excellent sleep. Bathroom (seperate shower and bathtub) was equipped with everything you need. Room service was excellent as towels were changed even two times a day and everything from bodylotion to mouthwash was replenished, so our experience is completely different than some of those mentioned here before. One morning we had to go leave early for a daytrip and got a beautifully arranged breakfast delivered to the room right on time at 6 am in the morning - without extra charge!

We used almost all restaurants at Ayana and we were always very satisfied with the quality of food and service. One of the best restaurants is certainly Dava, where we enjoyed a great 6 course dinner. Wine prices are extremely high though - but the fresh fruit juices and great cocktails are a very good alternative. You can drink your wine at home anyway, :))

In terms of pools - all are great and offer nice surroundings and very good service. Kubu beach is a beatiful and small private beach of Ayana. Free transfer from the hotel lobby with a golf cart and somthing like 180 steps bring you closer to a real treasure of this resort. Even though waves and currents are present, you can have a refreshing dip in the ocean. And most importantly, no people bothering you by trying to sell something to you.

A special highlight for us was the "Rockbar". We have been there 4 or 5 evenings, because the great location so close to the ocean, the very friendly and funny staff and the great drinks were drawing us back again and again.

Even though there were some reconstructions at the Padi restaurant going on while we where there, this didn't bother us at all and we were rewarded by an really improved and ever so big breakfast buffet after the reconstruction was finished.

All in all, this is a great resort for a romantic holiday, a business trip (they have nice conferencing area as well) or a holiday with the whole family, as there were also a kids club and some nice pools for kids.

Only compromise you have to take is the kind of secluded location of the hotel, a short taxi trip is necessary to go to restaurants at Jimbaran beach or to Kuta / Seminak.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews