We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Villa balquisse very good!Jimbaran not so much”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BALQUISSE Heritage Hotel
Ranked #17 of 57 Hotels in Jimbaran
Certificate of Excellence
Cogolin, France
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Villa balquisse very good!Jimbaran not so much”
Reviewed 27 November 2012

After one week spend in ubud and north island, visiting temple, small village, rice field terrace, trekking with local staff from our first place we stayed, we arrived at villa balquisse. We were very impressed by the design the mixed atmosphere from Maroco and Bali. You always feel the quiet of this place around two charming swimming pool. Our room #4 was perfect, under the roof, you have got the this first light of the sun rise which wake you up, then you are ready to take a very tasty, fresh and full breakfast. The staff is discrete and very kind, regarding information or organizing activities you better to do it your self.
The bad point we noticed was the location, Jimbaran, Nusa Dua, Sanur, Kuta....too much noise, traffic, construction, even not accomplished construction. Even the beach are not not so exciting. 2 days would be enough to visit Uluwatu, Padang Padang, Balangan and then enjoyed a grilled lobster on Jimbaran beach. For those who want to have a drink on the rock bar, be aware of the dress code and the queue to enjoy the sunset.
However We really enjoy our visit of the area of canggu and seminyak, much more quiet and authentic, even if the beach are famous for surfers.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arnaud R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    92
    16
    11
    6
See reviews for
64
252
13
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

What was not to love about our stay at Villa Balquisse?! My husband and I loved everything about Villa Balquisse! We stayed there in Nov. 2012 for our last days at Bali and could not have made a better choice. Staying the last days at Villa Balquisse was a perfect end to our holiday.

First of all, big BIG applause for the interior designer because she has done a marvellous job! We stayed at one of the 'Jepun Rooms' (number 8) and we absolutely loved it. The first time we walked into the room, we were smitten! The light(ing) in the room, the furniture, the pictures on the wall, the bath room, everything was beautiful and done with so much love and an eye for detail. Every detail in the room was a pleasure to look at. Not just the rooms are decorated beautifully: the spa, the restaurant, the pools, the reception... all was gorgeous and a true treat to the eye. And when you would like to go to the beach, one of the staff members will take you there with an old timer cabrio. How great is that?!

The staff at Villa Balquisse, from the gardener to the waiters, is very professional, very friendly and accommodating. When spending time at one of the beautiful swimming pools, the staff indulges you with cold water, mint tea, some fruit or a snack, and all was complementary.

The bed and the pillows in our room were very good! Breakfast was lovely: good tasting bread, fresh baked croissants (good ones) and pains au chocolat, real butter, pancakes, yoghurt with fruit and eggs, fresh juices. The massages at the spa were wonderful.

After having spent most of our time at Bali at quit, not so touristic places, Villa Balquisse was an excellent choice for us as it is a true oasis of peace and beauty in the middle of busy Jimbaran!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaKaassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 November 2012

This was our first trip to Bali and having read our guidebook and internet reviews, we were a little apprehensive due to some of the negative comments and advice we had found. However, Bali and Villa Balquisse did not disappoint, our villa was well appointed and a real slice of sumptuous luxury.

You really have to admire the owners design skills as the whole place exudes peace and tranquillity as soon as you leave the busy road and pass through the beautiful hand carved Balinese entrance door into the well manicured gardens and pool areas.

All the staff were truly amazing, friendly and always smiling, nothing was ever too much trouble for any of them. We had several excursions during our stay and used one of the drivers from the villa who we found to be very knowledgeable and interesting when it came to local cultures and history for the places we visited.

The spa is definitely a must, not that we needed any assistance in chilling out further with a good selection and very reasonably priced.

Breakfast was always well presented and plentiful, we also dined in the restaurant on a number of occasions in the evening and the food was always very good. Other places to dine and worth noting are Balique which, is just a short walk from Villa Balquisse and the fish restaurants on Jimbaran beach (nice sunsets).

The holiday for us was two weeks of sheer relaxation and we found it difficult to leave but we are looking forward to returning to Bali and will definitely be staying at Villa Balquisse again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moorart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012 via mobile

I chose to stay in Jimbaran as I wanted to be near the airport in Bali and didn't want to be near Kuta. Jimbaran is fairly small and the main attraction is the seafood restaurants on the beach which are within walking distance fom Viilla Balquisse. The hotel is set back off a busy road and is beautiful. The whole feel of the hotel is luxury and relaxation. The room was beautifully designed and the gardens and small pools idyllic- perfect for lazing around. The thoughtfulness of the hotel in offering fruit and water mid morning and then afternoon tea mid afternoon is an impressive touch, as is the free lifts to the beach. The spa was excellent and I can recommend the Balinese massage which was totally relaxing. The restaurant was reasonably priced for lunch and more expensive for evening meals (western prices) but the food is wonderful and they serve a decent Balinese rose wine by the glass. We booked a half day trip to the Southern beaches and the price was reasonable and the service excellent- nothing was too much for the driver. The price per night at $170 is pretty steep compared to other accommodation in Bali however for me it was worth every penny and was a wonderful end to our holiday. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vic010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

The place is very nicely decorated and appointed. There is a feeling of peace and quietness. Breakfast is good and dinner is not bad. The staff was nice but not very professional: we had an hour masssage that lasted 45 minutes.... this had never happened to us before and we have massages often!
The room are very nicely decorated but a bit dark. My main complain is the aircon: it was not strong enough for the volume, on the mezzanine it was very warm. We also had mosquitoes in the room and the curtain is not making it dark enough.
It is true that access to the beach is only convenient through Intercontinental so if you mind pretending you are staying at Intercontinental, it can be a problem, we didn't mind.

Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank voyagistablog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
Reviewed 27 October 2012

We held our wedding in the Shaba in October and it really exceeded our high expectations. We rented the whole villa for 3 nights and a number of family members and friends rented rooms in the adjacent hotel 'Villa Balquisse'. This was a perfect mini-holiday with loved ones with the wedding as the main event.

The villa and its surroundings, though not situated at the beach (the beach is about a 10-15 minute walk), are original and stunning at the same time. The style is a bit Mediterranean with carefully chosen furniture and artefacts which give the villa a unique feel. It is hard to describe, the best is to experience it for yourself because even the photos on the website dont do justice to it. It has a huge garden with beautifully maintained grass, 3 spacious rooms, a courtyard with fountain, a very big living kitchen and a nice pool with plenty of space around it for sunbathing. There is no need to go to the beach for swimming. While during the day we could enjoy the pool and fresh drinks served by the staff (who are usually in the kitchen or otherwise a phone call away), at night the poolside is a perfect place to enjoy a glass of wine in a romantic atmosphere.

The wedding itself was organized with care by the hotel management (Mr Made and Mrs Wayan). A selection of options is provided to choose from while they happily fulfill special requests. The wedding decoration was magnificent for a special day and left our guests in awe, both before and after sunset. We can recommend it to anyone. We had around 70 guests which would be around the maximum number to fit in the dining room.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thijs S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
375 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012 via mobile

Beautiful place. Our room was spacious, very clean and simply pretty. Staff very friendly. Massages in the spa unforgetable. Food in the villa was good but we expected more of traditional Balinese kind.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulina_Bali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jimbaran hotels
0.7 mi away
The Open House
The Open House
#5 of 57 in Jimbaran
445 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Bali Jimbaran
0.3 mi away
Kupu Kupu Jimbaran & Bamboo Spa by L'Occitane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
RIMBA Jimbaran BALI by AYANA
0.1 mi away
INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort
0.6 mi away
Keraton Jimbaran Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BALQUISSE Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BALQUISSE Heritage Hotel

Property: BALQUISSE Heritage Hotel
Address: Jl. Uluwatu 18x, Jimbaran 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Jimbaran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Jimbaran
#7 Family Hotel in Jimbaran
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Jimbaran
#14 Spa Hotel in Jimbaran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BALQUISSE Heritage Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel set in the heart of Jimbaran and nestled in a coconut groove. BALQUISSE Heritage Hotel is a mansion dating back in the 60s. Entirely renovated over the years by its owner and interior decorator, Zohra Boukhari, BALQUISSE Heritage Hotel has this shabby-chic vibe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BALQUISSE Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Balquisse Hotel Jimbaran
Balquisse Hotel Jimbaran
BALQUISSE Heritage Hotel Bali/Jimbaran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing