We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great homestay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Surfer Cave Accommodation
Ranked #57 of 115 Speciality Lodging in Jimbaran
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A great homestay!”
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

Diana, John, Michael and Charity are very lovely people.
I ended up not learning to surf as it was too big with the full moon but I happily spent some time at the local beaches.
Diana's and Charity's food was very nice and I felt like I was at home.
John is passionate about showing you Bali but I wanted to relax after travelling so he told me jokes instead!
Michael put wifi on when we needed it and helped put on movies for us.
I was happy with £30 a day average for food, transport, accommodation and so on. Best suited to a solo traveller wanting to see the island or a large surf group maybe.
My friend and I stayed a couple of nights and John even found my friend somewhere else to stay as the frogs and geckos stopped her from sleeping.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbrandon22482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    4
    1
    0
    4
See reviews for
3
8
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

Firstly, I cannot fault John and Diana. They are running a fantastic home-stay business, excellently valued accommodation in traditional surroundings. Unfortunately, for a city girl like me, it was a bit too authentic!
My bathroom was outside, which I thought wonderful at first, but at 3am being too terrified to go for a pee for fear of what would land on you isn't my idea of a relaxing holiday!
There is also no hot water available.
Diana does all the cooking, helped by her wonderful daughter Charity. The food is fantastic, the menu is extensive, and all tastes are catered for. I could have sat at the dining table and eaten for hours on end. The kitchen area is immaculate.
I stayed for 2 nights but only achieved approx 5 hours sleep overall. In the end John found me alternative accommodation which I was disappointed about having to do, but following a 21 hour journey from London, it was much needed. It gets very noisy at night. You need to be a deep sleeper or a keen camper to sleep well and not be scared of things that go bump in the night. In terms of transportation, John and his son Mike are happy to drive you anywhere for very reasonable rates.
They are a wonderful caring family and the accommodation is beautiful, unfortunately just not the right place for me.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thonon-les-Bains, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2013

I've stayed to surfer cave accomodation 2 years ago, it's a very nice place, with all the family John, Diana, Charity and Michael, the best hosters.
Diana cook for you, one of the best typical meal from Bali, and John show you the good place to visit. The accomodation are really confortable.
It's why in 2 weeks, I'll go back to Bali for holidays, and of course, I'll stay to Surfer Cave again!!!
Thank you for everything!!!

Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Melody558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
95michael, Owner at Surfer Cave Accommodation, responded to this review, 20 April 2013
you are right, first by this opportunity would say thank you for having selected surfer cave Jimbaran as your preferred destination by chance. It was really pleasure to have you with us and you were enjoyed the hospitality and the service. Thank you very much for your valuable comments and keep coming back to stay with us after 2 years in this very near future.
by the time goes we also add other activity and service wifi and yoga is the new thing you can enjoy when you staying with us.
got your reservation already and welcome home .
regards from the endless summer island bali.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Surf, good people, great food, a place to relax and have fun. Most people who visit Bali tend to stay in Kuta, but they fail to discover the true essence of this place. The surfcave is located a few minutes away from the beaches of the south, in a place away from the streets and the sound of cars.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Berni117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2013

I was looking to feel at home. I found it.
I first plan to stay 1 week in Cave Acomodation (my cousing recomend it), but i finally stay 4 weeks.
So good vibes, nice smiles, good food, no trafic to go to the beach.
I been thouch a lot about life there. Not only with words, but with the example.

If you have any problem, Jont will solve it.
If you need a surf teacher.... as Michel (Jont son)
If you need a great dinner... Diana
If you need a violin serenata for your girlfriend... ask cherity. (daugther)

enjoy !!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gallegoferro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
95michael, Owner at Surfer Cave Accommodation, responded to this review, 20 April 2013
this is really good chance to say thank you for your kind to make our place like argentinian foot ball camp.was really deep impressive for all either us here or all guests who was stayed with us at that time you were here. your way to sing in front of veranda while couple falling love is just remind us telenovela. ( soup opera).you show us how to work while you surfing .
the other thing, thank you for your good reviews we'll keep singing when other guest who falling love sitting at the balcony.
spaghetty and cheese is always waiting for your coming back.
spicy food and chilly will also still our favorite beside cheese. see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Perfect place to stay in Bali for everyone, and even more perfect for those who never travelled Bali and Indonesia before! Staying in Surfers Cace means you are a part of probably the best family in bali + dog! They take u to the Must-Seen-Places on Bukit as well as to secret places and moreover to local places. Food is great and I really enjoyed my Nasi Goreng cooking class. And next time there will be waves at secret spot! Haha!

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MboMpenza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
95michael, Owner at Surfer Cave Accommodation, responded to this review, 5 December 2012
very happy to contribute your journey with the real balinese taste. actually we still want to teach you how to make mie goreng( fried noodle). hopefully on your next visit.
the secret point will be really work when high tide , that's gonna make you ride more than 10 sec waves . especially on oktober till middle of december. i hope that place will be keep on that nature.
so we still can call secret point.
be ready for the new others secret spot for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalmar, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Super friendly family! They will help you with everything you need. The food is really good and the rooms are cozy. Surfer Cave is located close to Balangan, Secret Point, Padang Padang, Bingin and Uluwatu, so if you are interested in surfing it`s a dream. Visited this place twice and can highly recommend it. / John

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KiteAndSurfSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jimbaran hotels
1.6 mi away
AYANA Resort and Spa
AYANA Resort and Spa
#13 of 57 in Jimbaran
3,544 reviews
3.3 mi away
Jimbaran Bay Beach Resort & Spa
2.4 mi away
INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Villas at AYANA Resort BALI
3.8 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa
Watermark Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Kedonganan
186 reviews
1.0 mi away
RIMBA Jimbaran BALI by AYANA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfer Cave Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfer Cave Accommodation

Property: Surfer Cave Accommodation
Address: Jl. Blonk Keker 168 | Balangan Beach, Jimbaran 80364, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Jimbaran
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 115 Speciality Lodging in Jimbaran
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a bali happy family who run a small accommodation with the absolute bali taste and atmoshere away from touristik area and shop but close to all best beaches in south bali also just 20 minutes away from airport,threat all our guest as our family who visit us in bali. really happy to introduce bali with the real live also food till how to make it,for you surfer we are a good option surf place to stay, based near Balangan beach, Southern Bali. Whether you are an absolute beginner or an expert looking for world-class waves, and for you traveler you maybe just travelling through Bali, we can help you have a great and memorable trip. we serve all our guest as our family.welcome . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Surfer Cave Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfer Cave Accommodation Bali/Jimbaran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing