We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service and clean rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Astari - Villa and Residence
Ranked #2 of 97 Jimbaran B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai, China
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good service and clean rooms”
Reviewed 3 February 2013

The hotel rooms are very clean and comfortable. The staff are always willing to help, and breakfast delivered to your room is a good touch.

The pool was located just feet away from our room, which was great! I did have the same grievance as a previous person with the music around the pool. However, the poor music choice and volume was just for one morning when we were there. The rest of the time it was a very quite and relaxing experience by the pool. I also believe that if you just asked the person at the desk they would just turn off or turn down the music, as they were always looking to make our stay an enjoyable.

The hotel is located a fair walk away from Jimbaran beach and most restaurants. However, they will drop you off at the beach in the morning, and a taxi back is nothing. They also provide a free shuttle to Kuta, although we never took this option, as we preferred spending our time at Jimbaran beach.

Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Astari, and would recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 351Kevin_Wright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    113
    19
    11
    5
See reviews for
40
170
16
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

This place is a 20 minute downhill walk from Jimbaran Beach which is quite do-able even in midday heat. If you’re reasonably fit then the uphill return shouldn’t be a stress (especially if you’ve spent all day at the beach).

They can arrange an airport pickup for about $15 which is probably worth it especially if you’re arriving off a long haul flight. That distance would probably only be $5-8 in an ordinary taxi but as the Astari is quite hard to find it’s worth getting a pick up on your arrival.

The pool is lovely and breakfast is good. Our only gripe was the music policy which was a loop of about five Phil Collins’ songs for two days ALL DAY and then the usual Bob Marley clichés after that. It was also very loud around the pool and outside the rooms so we had to leave one day to get away from it.

The music comes from the computer at the reception desk which has Window XP sounds turned on so along with Phil Collins’ ‘Another Day in Paradise’ you get random bell and bong sounds when the staff close a window or click on icons. The staff seem completely oblivious. (Dear Astari Manager: if you’re reading go to Start->Control Panel->Sounds & Audio Devices->Sounds and then select ‘no sounds’). A few little things like this will make the Astari one of the best places to stay in Jimbaran.

Room Tip: Ask for a room furthest away from reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DocKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Stayed at this hotel coz we're trying to find somewhere less crowded than our usual stay in bali... We loved it. I dont really like huge hotels so this was perfect. They only had abt 15 rooms and was designed w that bali feel of clean modern space but with the right amt of greens as well. The prize was awesome for the huge room we got. The hotel was relatively new so nothing tired here. Had a great bathtub (since we like to soak b4 bed ;p) and the pool was nice too. The breakfast was delivered to our room evry morning and looved the bacon and sausages. Big tv and u can even borrow a dvd player from frontdesk. Service was always quick and friendly. Took a 15mins walk down and found the famous jimbaran seafood place but they provide free shuttle if u wanna venture to kuta or nusadua. All in all... Deff will make it our 'holiday home' in Bali. Be looking forward for the spa to open as well.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelsInPairs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

I would recommend the hotel for travelers who need affordable place to stay in Jimbaran area. The location is not walking distance to eatery places, so a guest need to rent a car or motorbike. The breakfast is very good.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MademoiselleSally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Strategic location, away enough from Bali's busy traffic but not isolated. Its perfect for me who prefer a peaceful getaway. Its my 2nd time staying here for a work trip, but so far never felt stressful afterwork when I came back to the villa! Lovely people, natural water sound from the pool, satisfying meal (try nasi campur! My favourite), excellent service, clean rooms for a reasonable price. Bali should have more homy places like this :) oh, and they now have a new minibar and spa rooms, cant wait to have it ready to treat me!

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms get authentic forest view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betoota, Queensland, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

OK, so I needed a bit of quiet without going Grizzly Adams. I dig swimming too. This place is tucked away on the hill in Jimbaran - very quiet but I walked down the hill to the beach restaurants, got the driver to take me to the hipster Rock Bar (seriously cool bar) up the road, close enough to Uluwatu too! Yep, quiet but not isolated. Pool 10 steps from my front door was adequate in size & well kept.
Staff have that chilled Balinese manner, even if not all were locals. One day the chef went home crook but they ordered in traditional food from a well-attended warung nearby. Served with a smile.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rad Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 December 2012 via mobile

The villa and rooms are rather new an clean. However, the flies, ants and Mosquitos can dampen your mood. The sink is full of ants and flies are all over the living area and dining area. All they have are just the insecticide.
Should look into having coils and any gadgets to wade off such insects.
The place is rather warm. Should considering installing fans in the open area.
The staff don't seem interested to help especially after u checked out. End up carrying the luggage from the office to the car.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ErnyEryanty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jimbaran hotels
1.0 mi away
Le Meridien Bali Jimbaran
1.8 mi away
The Open House
The Open House
#5 of 57 in Jimbaran
454 reviews
0.2 mi away
Abi Bali Resort & Villa
Abi Bali Resort & Villa
#24 of 57 in Jimbaran
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
RIMBA Jimbaran BALI by AYANA
2.6 mi away
Alindra Villa
Alindra Villa
#14 of 57 in Jimbaran
318 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kupu Kupu Jimbaran & Bamboo Spa by L'Occitane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Astari - Villa and Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Astari - Villa and Residence

Property: The Astari - Villa and Residence
Address: Jl. Karang Mas Sejahtera | Kencana Selatan 1, Jimbaran 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Jimbaran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Jimbaran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Astari - Villa and Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Astari Villa and Residence Welcome to My Home away From Home, The Astari Villa & Residence is located in Jimbaran hills , 5 minutes drive to Golden white sandy of Jimbaran sunset Beach and the popular beach front seafood restaurant, only 20 minutes drive from the Ngurah Rai Airport. Nestled in a strategic spot at Jimbaran, an area at the southern part of Bali known mainly for its beaches, cuisine and cultural enchantments, the Astari is endowed with a thick tropical environment green trees swaying in the breeze, and warm smiling people. Featuring two floor Balinese blend with Nature designed Residence , have Ten large Deluxe room, Four Suites with Terrace and Balcony, four Private pool villas, Large Swimming Pool stretch in front the residence, ASRI Resto & Bar, and the LESTARI Spa. Enhance the Balinese experience with the Genuine welcome from The Astari Family member, do morning jogging along the quite street to Jimbaran beach, sunbathing on pool deck while reading books or enjoy cocktails and Beer from our Bar, enjoy the Body treatment from well trained therapist at Lestari Spa and having meal at our ASRI Resto. Explore the jewel of Jimbaran , visit Garuda Wisnu Kencana cultural park, New Kuta Golf, Jimbaran sunset BBQ and sea food restaurant, Padang-Padang beach and the Kuta lifestyle only minutes drive from The Astari. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Astari - Villa and Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Astari - Villa And Residence Bali/Jimbaran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing