We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Astari - Villa and Residence
Ranked #2 of 100 Jimbaran B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed in 2 bedroom villa for 3 days.Might be an idea place in summer/dry season but not a place for winter, as bathrooms etc are out side rain pouring in floors very wet , making bit very dangerous at night Furniture in open areas very damp and extremely dirty.
A feral cat had taken residence and was impossible to get rid of, it was incontinent of urine and other body fluids all over furniture and beds/i woke to find the cat on my bed inches away from my
face, it had been incontinent on my bed
.Food, utensils , clothing etc were all soiled by the cat , several times the cat had to be doused with water to get rid of it /but to no avail it just returned.
Management were informed of the problem , but did very little to rectify the situation, after my insistence they gave us free transport into Kuta for 1 and airport for 1
The breakfast can only be described as memorable as it was not for human consumption , I doubt if the cat would have eaten it./we dined at Jimbaran corner most days .
Not the restful 3 days planned by by travelling companion as a surprise Not the hidden paradise described by fellow travelers.I have been travelling to Bali for many years, and have stayed at some wonderful places,both budget and luxurious so I qualify to say Atari is less than budget at a luxury price .

Room Tip: Do stay there, plenty of better budget hotels
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ryano55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agung-TheAstari, Director of Sales at The Astari - Villa and Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Firstly we would like to express our sincere thanks for been with us at our home The Astari Villa & Residence. We regret to hear you have had an unhappy experience during your stay, we do apologize for this inconvenient.

We have catch the cat and return to a villager and close the access to climb the wall.

We will come back to our team and to gather do improvement on our product and service, to make us have confidence to welcome you again at our home.

It will be our valued opportunity to welcome you again near future, with all the improvements

Sincerely

Kadek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

187 - 193 of 327 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2013

We stayed at The Astari during our trip to Bali and found that everything about the hotel was excellent. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were very spacious and clean, overlooking the pool. Breakfast was great, we could choose from different breakfast sets. The atmosphere at the hotel was calm and serene.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank A'V N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

My wife and I stayed in this hotel in October, 2013 and we loved it. The room was clean and comfortable and looked almost new. It was such a welcome place to be after a long day of sightseeing. The staff is very accommodating and helpful. My wife availed herself of a massage on the premises and said it was first rate. Their shuttle to the beach at Jimbaran is a plus because it is a bit of a walk to get there. However, we enjoyed the fact that it is away from the bustle of Jimbaran and it is so peaceful. The included breakfast was just fine, perfect for our needs. Hopefully, a room will be available to us again on our next trip to Bali.

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor at the end of the hotel. It is the quietest one, I think, because n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jesse Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Great Place to stay when arriving in Bali (20 Min Drive). Roms are very nice and clean, all with pool view. Beach with lovely Fish Restaurants is close. We rented a scooter and explored the South of Bali with it's beaches and temples and had a great time.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the ground floor (and jump into the pool within seconds after waking up in the morn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ibly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

The 2 bedroom villa we stayed in was great. This is a place for families or couples looking for a private place to relax & enjoy in privacy. Plenty of restaurants & spa's around 5-10 minutes by taxi.

Pros:
-The price - we got this on 50% off from Expedia.sg
-The pool size was great, perfect for families or a group of friends who wants total privacy.
- Beds was amazing, really nice & comfortable. Pillows were great too.
- Staff was nice, friendly & always smiling. A+ for effort!


Cons:
-The furniture in the open living room needs to be cleaned as the sofa was dirty already.
-The food from the in-room dining was cheap but average taste wise - passable for quick bites.
-Slight issue was the waiting time for the food - ave wait time is 40 to 60min
-Prices for Spa were pretty steep, no - compared to other full scale spa's around Jimbaran


Overall, stay was pleasant. If not for the sofa, steep spa prices & waiting time for the order, I would have given an Excellent rating.

Room Tip: Ask for newer villas if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here with my wife and 18m baby for two nights. The place is cozy and beautiful. Rooms are clean and furnished very well. Big and homely balcony with a pool view is awesome for spending quite evenings.

Just two things I want to notice: there is no restaurant and the long distance to the beach. But we knew about it before and it was not a problem. So we used a free hotel shuttle bus by request to go in the restaurants, beach and shops.

Beach in Jimbaran is wonderful by the way.

Stayed: November 2013
1  Thank yalozhkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

What an amazing experience ! Staff were fantastic, what an asset to Astari they are - always smiling and nothing was to hard to assist you. Location was terrific. Hired a scooter and ventured around exploring Jimbaran and surroundings. The bed's where so comfortable and the rooms superb. Highly recommend this place - Will see me again & I will recommend to my friends going to Bali. Thanks for the wonderful experience

Room Tip: If you want absolute privacy then choose a private pool villa. Ask for a ground floor then you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jimbaran hotels
2.6 mi away
Alindra Villa
Alindra Villa
#15 of 60 in Jimbaran
349 reviews
1.1 mi away
RIMBA Jimbaran BALI by AYANA
1.8 mi away
The Open House
The Open House
#7 of 60 in Jimbaran
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Kupu Kupu Jimbaran & Bamboo Spa by L'Occitane
1.3 mi away
Aahh Bali Bed & Breakfast
Aahh Bali Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 100 in Jimbaran
289 reviews
1.6 mi away
Keraton Jimbaran Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Astari - Villa and Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Astari - Villa and Residence

Address: Jl. Karang Mas Sejahtera | Kencana Selatan 1, Jimbaran 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Jimbaran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Jimbaran
Price Range: £27 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Astari - Villa and Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Astari Villa and Residence Welcome to My Home away From Home, The Astari Villa & Residence is located in Jimbaran hills , 5 minutes drive to Golden white sandy of Jimbaran sunset Beach and the popular beach front seafood restaurant, only 20 minutes drive from the Ngurah Rai Airport. Nestled in a strategic spot at Jimbaran, an area at the southern part of Bali known mainly for its beaches, cuisine and cultural enchantments, the Astari is endowed with a thick tropical environment green trees swaying in the breeze, and warm smiling people. Featuring two floor Balinese blend with Nature designed Residence , have Ten large Deluxe room, Four Suites with Terrace and Balcony, four Private pool villas, Large Swimming Pool stretch in front the residence, ASRI Resto & Bar, and the LESTARI Spa. Enhance the Balinese experience with the Genuine welcome from The Astari Family member, do morning jogging along the quite street to Jimbaran beach, sunbathing on pool deck while reading books or enjoy cocktails and Beer from our Bar, enjoy the Body treatment from well trained therapist at Lestari Spa and having meal at our ASRI Resto. Explore the jewel of Jimbaran , visit Garuda Wisnu Kencana cultural park, New Kuta Golf, Jimbaran sunset BBQ and sea food restaurant, Padang-Padang beach and the Kuta lifestyle only minutes drive from The Astari. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Astari - Villa and Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Astari - Villa And Residence Bali/Jimbaran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing