We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing hidden Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Astari - Villa and Residence
Ranked #2 of 84 Jimbaran B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Amazing hidden Gem”
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

Checked in late last night, pick up from airport was flawless check-in fast and pleasant. Room is lovely, beds a super comfortable and the pool area a dream, and I haven't finished a whole day here yet. I'll follow up my review at the end of my stay, but I can only see my stay getting better.... You will be pleasantly surprise if you stay here, the best place to just relax

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Maria Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    111
    17
    11
    5
See reviews for
37
165
14
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

A bit out of the way, but a great place to stay. The rooms are comfortable and look out on the pool - the staff is polite, attentive and courteous. They can arrange airport pick up/drop off and drivers for the day; as well as recommendations for places to eat and visit.

You can order breakfast either the night before, or the morning of - where it can be enjoyed in the restaurant area, on your front deck/veranda area or in your room. (If you order the night before, don't forget to let folks know when you get up and are ready to eat!)

The Indonesian friend rice is SO tasty - don't be afraid to order dinner here if your day has been long, the chef is very good.

Room Tip: The bottom room all open up onto the pool - perfect if you love to swim in the Bali heat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leighsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

It's an excellent place considering of the affordable price. Though it is inside the lane, but it only takes about 3 minutes by car to the Muaya beach, and when you walk out you see luxurious hotels like Four Seasons or so.

The room is extremely nice, with spacious bathroom, kitchen area and lovely small balcony. Also the swimming pool is very good, you can see the flowers around the pool dropping in the water.

Stuffs are friendly and helpful, however, the service can be very SLOW. We have waited for about 30 minutes to enjoy the SPA, and it took us more than 40 minutes to get the breakfast! But the breakfast is nice, with plenty of choices.

SPA place is without air conditioner, and it can be very HOT actually.

The residence provide free shuttle car to the beach, however it is not always reliable because they only have one car. Sometimes you have to wait 1 hour or more if the car depart for airport or etc.

Last but not least, the WIFI is fast and reliable here. Feeling so grateful because wifi in Bali is not reliable all the time.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank VenaMai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

The Astari was the perfect escape for us after 4 days in the hustle and bustle of Legian/Kuta. The room was beautifully decorated and clean. It seemed, for the most part, like we were the only guests at the hotel at times because we had the pool to ourselves. It was perfect. The breakfasts were excellent and the staff were very helpful. They arranged shuttles for us going anywhere we wanted to go at a reasonable price. I would definitely come back to the Astari again.

The only recommendation I would make would be to provide guests with more information about the local area. We got a hotel shuttle to the Rock Bar at 5pm one day which meant we were far too late to get it. It might have been nice for the hotel to suggest we head there earlier. A very minor issue though.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Briony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed six nights at Astari in Nov 2013. It is a very quite, pleasant and relaxing place. We had a suite room (207) in upper floor overlooking the pool and the garden. The hotel is reasonably new and the room was very spacious, clean, modern and tastefully furnished. Bathroom was excellent with hot water with good pressure. The balcony was big enough and great place to sit in the evening. The staff was absolutely great, helpful and friendly. We had a mechanical issue with our rental car and the lady at the reception talked to the rental people (in Bahasa Indonesia) to explain the problem. There were sets of breakfast menus (I think there were three) and could be selected/ordered night before and will be served as room service or at the small restaurant at the pool. The breakfast was average.

The hotel offered a free shuttle service to specific places in Jimbaran area at specific times. It will be a good idea to have a rental car or scooter if you want to be more flexible with your trips to restaurants or beach in and around Jimbaran. Other option is getting a taxi. It takes about 15-20 minutes to/from Airport by car depending on the traffic. Hotel also provide airport pick-up/drop off at a price of USD15 (one way).

The room had a small kitchenette with a kitchen sink, small refrigerator and enough cupboards. What we missed was a microwave and some plates/cutlery.

We had a great, relaxing time there really enjoyed our stay at Astari.

Room Tip: The location of the Astari Villa and resorts marked in the TripAdvisor interactive map (Browse nearb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AusiTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 6 days in December. The room was very spacious, and it had a nice balcony which overlooked the pool. The hotel offer a shuttlebus service to Jimberan beach and Kuta. The staff were extremely helpful.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank emwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed in 2 bedroom villa for 3 days.Might be an idea place in summer/dry season but not a place for winter, as bathrooms etc are out side rain pouring in floors very wet , making bit very dangerous at night Furniture in open areas very damp and extremely dirty.
A feral cat had taken residence and was impossible to get rid of, it was incontinent of urine and other body fluids all over furniture and beds/i woke to find the cat on my bed inches away from my
face, it had been incontinent on my bed
.Food, utensils , clothing etc were all soiled by the cat , several times the cat had to be doused with water to get rid of it /but to no avail it just returned.
Management were informed of the problem , but did very little to rectify the situation, after my insistence they gave us free transport into Kuta for 1 and airport for 1
The breakfast can only be described as memorable as it was not for human consumption , I doubt if the cat would have eaten it./we dined at Jimbaran corner most days .
Not the restful 3 days planned by by travelling companion as a surprise Not the hidden paradise described by fellow travelers.I have been travelling to Bali for many years, and have stayed at some wonderful places,both budget and luxurious so I qualify to say Atari is less than budget at a luxury price .

Room Tip: Do stay there, plenty of better budget hotels
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ryano55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agung-TheAstari, Director of Sales at The Astari - Villa and Residence, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Firstly we would like to express our sincere thanks for been with us at our home The Astari Villa & Residence. We regret to hear you have had an unhappy experience during your stay, we do apologize for this inconvenient.

We have catch the cat and return to a villager and close the access to climb the wall.

We will come back to our team and to gather do improvement on our product and service, to make us have confidence to welcome you again at our home.

It will be our valued opportunity to welcome you again near future, with all the improvements

Sincerely

Kadek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jimbaran hotels
0.2 mi away
Abi Bali Resort & Villa
Abi Bali Resort & Villa
#21 of 55 in Jimbaran
386 reviews
2.6 mi away
Alindra Villa
Alindra Villa
#16 of 55 in Jimbaran
272 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kupu Kupu Jimbaran & Bamboo Spa by L'Occitane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Keraton Jimbaran Beach Resort
2.0 mi away
Jimbaran Bay Beach Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Astari - Villa and Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Astari - Villa and Residence

Property: The Astari - Villa and Residence
Address: Jl. Karang Mas Sejahtera | Kencana Selatan 1, Jimbaran 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Jimbaran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Jimbaran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Astari - Villa and Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Astari Villa and Residence Welcome to My Home away From Home, The Astari Villa & Residence is located in Jimbaran hills , 5 minutes drive to Golden white sandy of Jimbaran sunset Beach and the popular beach front seafood restaurant, only 20 minutes drive from the Ngurah Rai Airport. Nestled in a strategic spot at Jimbaran, an area at the southern part of Bali known mainly for its beaches, cuisine and cultural enchantments, the Astari is endowed with a thick tropical environment green trees swaying in the breeze, and warm smiling people. Featuring two floor Balinese blend with Nature designed Residence , have Ten large Deluxe room, Four Suites with Terrace and Balcony, four Private pool villas, Large Swimming Pool stretch in front the residence, ASRI Resto & Bar, and the LESTARI Spa. Enhance the Balinese experience with the Genuine welcome from The Astari Family member, do morning jogging along the quite street to Jimbaran beach, sunbathing on pool deck while reading books or enjoy cocktails and Beer from our Bar, enjoy the Body treatment from well trained therapist at Lestari Spa and having meal at our ASRI Resto. Explore the jewel of Jimbaran , visit Garuda Wisnu Kencana cultural park, New Kuta Golf, Jimbaran sunset BBQ and sea food restaurant, Padang-Padang beach and the Kuta lifestyle only minutes drive from The Astari. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Astari - Villa and Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Astari - Villa And Residence Bali/Jimbaran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing