We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eat here, it's wonderful”
Review of Cuca

Cuca
Ranked #2 of 252 Restaurants in Jimbaran
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$45
Cuisines: Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Cuca serves SIGNATURE cuisine made exclusively from the best and freshest local ingredients. We are a casual dining destination that tempts you with three reasons to come: tapas, cocktails, and desserts, and three spaces to experience: an interactive and exciting food bar, a relaxed and intimate dining room and a chilled out garden lounge. Choose the space that suits you best and come with an open mind and an empty stomach!
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Eat here, it's wonderful”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We went as a party of 6 for lunch and all of us loved it. And, we were a varied bunch, from a professional Australian chef, a few hard core foodies and a couple of "I don't care for this fancy crap" chaps.

We opted for the airconditioned dining room (a must during the day) and opened with a few mojitos and beers. The presentation of the cocktails surpasses any I have seen on 9 visits to Bali, including many 5 star venues.

The chef, an energetic Canadian, visits the table to give you the low down and recommendations. We largely devoured everything on the tapas list, some a few times, and a few salads (pumpkin one is to die for). We struggled to agree on dish of the day, as they were all sublime. The unrequested amuse bouche was also a delight. Thanks chef and team!

The garden setting is spectacular, and overall a wonderful way to while away an afternoon. Terrific value for the quality and sheer creativity of dishes. It even had the non foodies musing over whether it was Persian vs goats feta.

Plus, I wandered past the kitchen on a few occasions during lunch and it was IMMACULATE. Chef runs a tight team and operation, all for your dining pleasure.

Seriously, go for a meal (or several), you will not be disappointed and your senses will thank you.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Loretts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,029 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,634
    237
    97
    37
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
KL
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food,good cocktails,excellent service”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We chose Cuca as it was highly rated on TA and that we were next door at Kayumanis Jimbaran.

Started off with cocktails that are a feast to the eyes. I ordered Slush which is a watermelon cocktail topped with a yellow watermelon Popsicle and DH ordered Toyko Mojito served freshly made in a bottle. Both were tasty pre dinner cocktails but the main reason we came was for the food.

And the food did not disappoint. Expecting Tapas (traditionally served) we were presently surprise by the dishes!

We ordered the Chef Tasting Menu and would recommend sitting by the open kitchen bar if you order this! Lots of tasting dishes so pace yourself. Each dish was beautifully presented by the Chef and he patiently explained what was being served.

We later got to talking and realised all their ingredients are locally sourced and made. What we loved was the melted cheese made right here in Bali! It was simply melt in your mouth and tasted a little bit like goat cheese/feta/Brie. We love cheese and we LOVED this dish. For dessert we had a very rich chocolate dessert (among others) and the chocolate mousse was paired perfectly with very fresh mint ice cream. Again, locally produced chocolate. And it did not disappoint this chocolate snob!

Service was attentive and it was a sight to watch all the young cooks work together to bring different elements of the dishes together.

Cuca is definitely one of the best meals we have had and it was a mix of flavours, colours and kitchen entertainment that made it a night to remember!

Highly recommend. Setting is casual and sitting by the open kitchen means it can get quite hot (action and temperature). Wine list features a selection of local wines and a small list of international wines. We ordered a Riesling and it went perfect with our Chefs menu. Cocktails are also made with local alcohol and ingredients!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GillyWDy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful Restaurant & Servive and Food”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

After a recommendation went to this restaurant with its funky half molecular / modern food concept of Tapas (small portion to share food)

Liked very much the speed of which the dishes were prepared and the presentation showed the great skill of the Chefs.

Food was very tasty and the restaurant layout was nice,
You can even choose your seat at the kotchen counter and watch the chefs cooking, or if you like it quiet sit in their garden and in peace.

(Cocktails are only avarage, too sweet and only a touch of alcohol-better drink their nice Balinese Wine selection, which tasted nice)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great cuisine and cocktails”
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Intercontinental Bali so Cuca is just a short 10 min walk along Jimbaran Beach to the restaurant.
Having read the TA reviews we were keen to experience this restaurant. The restaurant is contemporary set in a large well designed garden.
On arrival, despite that there may be quite a number of tables empty, expect to be taken to the bar until a table becomes available (you may get the reason that we did that the kitchen was quite busy at the moment). We believed it was a bit of a ploy to have us purchase cocktails. BUT IT IS WORTH IT! The cocktails are fantastic and very reasonably priced. The bar is outdoors so a lovely place to sit under the stars and enjoy your pre-dinner drinks.
We only has to wait 15 minutes before being seated. We decided to choose a total of 6 dishes from the menu and this was enough to fully satisfy us. The food was extremely nice - though relatively small they were each full of flavor and well presented. The service was attentive and the staff are very personable.
All up, for a couple of cocktails, a couple of glasses of Indonesian Sauvignon Blanc (very nice actually though tasted more like a Riesling), a couple of bottle of sparkling mineral water, and the 6 dishes, came to a total of equivalent AUD$105. Which is great value for a restaurant of this high standard.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Greandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Innovative and Devine”
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

We dined here twice during a one week visit. The first visit we indulged in the chef degustation which was absolutely devine. This was so amazing that we finished off dining here on our last night. We selected our favourite meals from the degustation and were equally as delighted. If you would like to tantalise your taste buds the this dining experience is a must. I will definitely be back! Thank you to our beautiful hosts. You made us feel like we were family members visiting your home.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kristine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cuca also viewed

 

Been to Cuca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing