We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Udayana Kingfisher Eco Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$290
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$269
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$286
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate(Jimbaran)(Great Value!)
US$168
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$871
AyanaResort.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
BALQUISSE Heritage Hotel(Jimbaran)(Great Value!)
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Abi Bali Resort & Villa(Jimbaran)(Great Value!)
US$102
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$50
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$166
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Flower Bud Bungalows Balangan(Jimbaran)(Great Value!)
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Joya, Villa & Bungalows(Jimbaran)(Great Value!)
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$311
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveller rating
68
33
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
68
33
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbirds and butterfliesoutdoor showerclose to the airportpeaceful oasisearly morning birdingpangkalan bunlabuan bajorooms are nice and cleanthrough agodaown transportdenpasar airportnusa duanice swimming poolminutes from the airporta short taxi ridestayed for nightssantos
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 105 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We spent one night here after 10 days elsewhere on Bali, then 7 days on a liveaboard dive boat, before heading to the airport. If you prefer the traffic noise of the city and want a TV in your room, this is not the place for you. Very good food in an open dining room upstairs, made to order. A total of 8 rooms, all on the terrace level. Balinese outdoor shower. Efficient, quiet air conditioning. Totally comfortable bed. Set amongst a multi-specie forest. Clean pool. A taxi ride from anywhere, but only "minutes" from the airport (probably 25 to 50 minutes depending on traffic).

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moncho48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ecolodgesindonesia, Owner at Udayana Kingfisher Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2013

Dear Friends,

We wish to send you a belated thanks for your review about our Udayana Lodge property. You emphasised many of the important aspects of endeavors.

Alan Wilson,
Founder and Chairman,
ECOLODGES INDONESIA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

We had a great 5 night stay at the Kingfisher Ecolodge. It was good value for money and our family of 4 stayed in two very comfortable rooms. There was a beautiful common seating area with a full library of books and magazines where we would read in the evenings and help ourselves to beverages in the bar fridge where we'd just write down what we took. Up on on a hill it was quiet, with only the jungle sounds breaking the silence. The staff was friendly and helpful and we ate at the restaurant several times where the food was very nice. The chaos of Kuta seemed a long ways away even though it's close the way the crow flies. The traffic issues in Bali mean that Kuta takes a while to get to. Jimbaran beach was a short drive away with Santos, the friendly driver, often available to take you. If you want quiet yet close to the action, this is the place.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ecolodgesindonesia, Owner at Udayana Kingfisher Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2013

Dear Friends,

I am catching up on reviews of our Udayana Lodge and wish to thank you for your report emphasisng to us as managers the gentle peace and quiet of this place.

Alan Wilson,
Founder and Chairman,
ECOLODGES INDONESIA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

This was my second stay here and it didn't disappoint - it's a beautiful little hideaway, where you can feel the stress leaving you as you walk through the door. The owners are unobtrusive but kind and welcoming, and the staff look after you with genuine warmth. If you want television, nightclubs and direct access to the beach then this won't be for you, but if you want greenery, plenty of space and a lovely atmosphere then you should try it. There aren't many places where you can sit at breakfast and watch sunbirds feeding in the tree-tops at eye-level just a few meters away - this is one of them!

Room Tip: I stayed in the same one both times but I think they're all fine - it's only a small hotel.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eastridinglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

The ride to this lovely little lodge was a bit bumpy due to recent construction around the area but it is well worth the visit.

Located in a university campus, Udayana Eco Lodge (locals recognise this place without the "Kingfisher") is so peaceful and tranquil that I could not believe I was just 15-20 minutes away from the bustling airport and Kuta.

I was greeted by super friendly and helpful Kadek who also speaks good English, she immediately made me felt at home. All 10 rooms are on the ground floor with lovely garden view. The rooms are spacious and all are equipped with garden bath and recycle bins. There is also a little kitchen, guests can refill their bottles and make coffee or tea.

The upper floor is all common area with a large living room with cozy sofas and loads of books to read. There are a lot of nature-related books and magazines, some are even written by the founders of the lodge!

Restaurant serves very good seafood. Ask the staff for recommendation and you will not be disappointed. If you fancy cold drinks, you can help yourself at the Bar. They trust clients to record on the checklist and charge when you checkout.

Since the lodge is surrounded by natural plantation, I have seen different types of plants, birds, frogs and butterflies. There is also a nice swimming pool and a few routes around the lodge which you can walk and watch birds and butterflies. Borrow a walking stick from the office and go either early morning or late afternoon. You may also ask a professional birdwatcher to accompany you if one is available (an advantage to be staying in the university area!).

One of the highlights of my stay is to meet with one of the founders, Mr Alan Wilson. During breakfast, he will walk around and greet everyone warmly. He kindly shared with me his story and vision in setting up and expanding the eco lodges (Udayana is not the only one!). I really admire his effort in helping the locals to be benefited by the ever growing tourism whilst preserving the natural beauty of Bali.

Alan said, to him this lodge is the truly 5-star experience of Bali. I cannot agree more.

Room Tip: All rooms have nice garden view
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacklynnBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

This place is a world away from the hustle and bustle, high up and away from it all. Close to the airport so a great place to begin or end your holiday in Bali.
It can be a bit tricky to find the first time, as others have said, so if you are coming under your own steam make sure you get directions from them first.
However it is just a short taxi ride to Jimbaran centre (temple/market/beach) and ths staff are happy to call taxis for you whenever you need one.
The upstairs dining and library area is beautiful, with the hotel rooms being fairly standard but well appointed. There's a big emphasis on environmental issues such as recycling which we really welcomed. I wish all hotels had opportunities to recycle like this.
We were travelling with our 3 year old daughter and although the atmosphere was very quiet when we arrived, staff made her feel welcome, even getting out a toybox which kept her occupied! She also loved the gardens and of course the pool which is in a lovely secluded spot down the hill a bit.
Breakfasts are lovely. All meals are beautifully presented with lots of nice touches. At first we thought the fixed menu dinner sounded expensive at 150,000 Rp per head, but it was absolutely delicious and the service excellent, so it was well worth it. And much more refined than the tourist traps down on Jimbaran Bay!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Munster01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews